We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 310 Swindon Restaurants

Pig on the Hill

Devizes Road, Swindon SN1 4BH, England
01793 979226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 310 Restaurants in Swindon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Pig On The Hill is a Diverse property that really can cater for all palates and all occasions.We offer a fine Lunch and A la Carte menu, with Sharing boards and platters for the sociable diner, along side a special offer Table d'Hote menu at £9.95 for a 2 course lunch. Sundays are a speciality for us and booking is advisable.We have a large function room that can hold up to 80 people and is suitable for any personal or business event.We also serve Hog Roasts & BBQ's in our large Beer garden throughout the summer.We serve Fine Ales, Wines and Ciders as only the very best will do.Try our venue for yourself and see why we have won a certificate of excellence for 2012 & 2013 consecutively.Please enjoy!
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    20
    11
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Really good pub food! Had their burger with bacon and pulled pork twice, not normally a burger fan but v v tasty! Could do with bigger range of starters on menu though. Recently had Sunday lunch here, also very tasty. Good pub food in lively atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
swindon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were passing the pig on the hill when we remembered that we had had a very good sandwich there a few months ago, expensive but good. We chose two sandwiches which came to something over £14 which although we thought was expensive, we imagined would be good. Within a couple of minutes the chief came out to explain that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel O, Owner at Pig on the Hill, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I must admit we are a little bemused and frustrated by your comments. When you arrived at The Pig On The Hill we had stopped serving our lunch menu but when asked our chef happily took your lunch order after explaining that at that point in time we would... More

ponthir
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lively busy pub with really lovely staff. Food is typical pub grub and ok, Friday night a little noisy but there is a separate eating area. I would visit again :-) Good value for money !

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arranged a very last minute party here, after a bad weather forecast was set to ruin the BBQ we had arranged at a local park. We had family and friends travelling some distance to come and it was very stressful trying to organise something else at such short notice - we should have known better than to gamble on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel O, Owner at Pig on the Hill, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for the kind words in your review. We are very glad that we could offer some help and make your event a success. Our team are always willing to help and we certainly hope to see you all again soon many thanks More

Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Friday night was clearly busy but we had heard it was good food so decided to give it a go. Unbeknown to us the chef had gone home sick.... We had a shared starter on a grazing board with some olives and humus. The olives were the size of peas and the humus was fairly tasteless and portion size was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel O, Owner at Pig on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit, firstly i would like to apologise for your experience not meeting our usual standard. Having investigated your comments, i can confirm we did have a team member go home on the day in question but i would like to assure you that we would not and should not use that as... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stopped at the Pig on The Hill for lunch on a hot Saturday. I was on crutches as I had broken my leg and they were really healpful asking if I needed a stool for my bad leg. They also checked to see if we were ok a couple of times which was not intrusive but welcoming. The meals were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our first visit for a Sunday Lunch, I must say fairly disappointing for the price. The service from our main waitress left something to be desired. We asked for pigs wrapped in blankets for my Grandson to go with his Pork dish, we were told they were only served with the Chicken !! Odd and not customer friendly in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel O, Owner at Pig on the Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As this was your first visit, it certainly is a shame that we didn't give you the WOW factor we strive for. So please accept our apologies for not reaching that expectation. Having investigated the comments in your review we have decided to make some changes to our Sunday... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First time eating at the Pig on the Hill, Old Town, Swindon, quite an experience, all good.... Out with friends we had the most mouth watering rare beef salad others had tuna starter, we had mains of Sirloin, duck and pasta. Oh those three time cooked chips amazing....the deserts were eaten in silence always a good sign. Will be returning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Pig on the Hill is in Swindon's old town, which is reassuring, as I always thought the planners there knocked anything vaguely ancient down. We slumped into this pub on a very hot day having driven from London. The lounge was refreshingly cool and not particularly busy at the time. I ordered a 'starter' involving beetroot, basil and garlic,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Called in with friends Saturday early evening. Has obviously had some money spent on it at some point to do the inside up, but quite clearly started to slip. The staff that served us were friendly, one chap clearly on his first day, so no immediate concerns. Disappointingly however, all three of us winced and returned our first ale choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel O, Owner at Pig on the Hill, responded to this review

Apologies for the delay in responding to your review. Thank you for giving us your feedback. from investigating the review below we can only apologise if you did not enjoy your experience with us. Regarding our decor, we underwent a repaint on january of this year and do work very hard to keep on top of maintenance for our customers,... More

Travelers who viewed Pig on the Hill also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Pig on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Pig on the Hill?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing