We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory Harvester

St Oswalds Road, Gloucester GL1 2SR, England
01452 523022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 249 restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: At The Priory Harvester in Gloucester food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Gloucester, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Hempstead, Longford and Longlevens, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

31% Recommend
    6
    15
    18
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

liked that i got my drink for free as my steak was a little pink and the service was very good. food was lush

Was this review helpful? Yes
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

took my son here for a birthday treat - wish I hadn't bothered , meal was awful , , should have walked out at the unwelcoming greeting , food then took ages , order was wrong, corn on the cob and chips completely inedible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Attending with my family at a really busy time. Not enough staff working and took ages for our order to be taken, ages to get our food and finally took ages for our bill to come. The waitress often said she would be with us in a minute but did not return typically for over 10 minutes. When my food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went to this pub on a Friday afternoon, it was very quiet and the staff were lovely. We chose food that was a £9.99 deal, it was a main meal refillable drinks and an ice-cream, extremely good value and very tasty. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The "Harvester" does not pretend to offer 'Cordon bleu', but it does try to offer something basic. but this was inexcusable. We met up with friends there: some of us only wanted small portions, so we ordered some of the Starters to arrive at the same time as the main meal - so we could eat together. Obviously too difficult,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Priory Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right. More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Awful service from the start of the visit. Had to wait approx. 15 minutes to receive our soft drinks to our table. Waitress wasn't in a hurry and didn't approach table quickly. Waited approx. 40 minutes for food to arrive. To cap it all over charged on the set deals. So beware. We were overcharged on our dinners. A complete... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Priory Harvester, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went as a family group. Ok it was the day after mothering sunday but it was not good. Things were chosen only to be told minutes later it was unavailable. We were not happy. The food was not piping hot and steer clear of the crumble. Shame as we have had a good meal here. For now i will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Priory Harvester, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We ate here on 08/03/2014 at 5pm, we were in for about 3hrs. The waiter Matt was dead friendly and made suggestions on the order when asked. Starters, main course and dessert all arrived in time at just right intervals, didn't wait too long for drinks etc.. and Matt kept checking on us without being over intrusive. We all had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Priory Harvester, responded to this review

May we thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally. More

cheltenham
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The food is borderline again, but better than a lot of chains, although that doesn't mean it's good. The salad bar is OK if it's fresh and untouched by umpteen serving spoons. Value is better than most chains. I only eat here due to location when hungry and only when my wife shops (about once a month...thank goodness), otherwise it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Priory Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Priory Harvester. More

Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Good selection, great meal deals with unlimited salad and drinks, unhurried calm atmosphere, friendly helpful staff. Easy to park, good central city location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Priory Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. More

Travelers who viewed The Priory Harvester also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Priory Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing