We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hare And Hounds

Burton Leonard, Harrogate HG3 3SG, England
01765 677355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 346 Restaurants in Harrogate
Dining options: Reservations
7 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    23
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Had lunch here one Saturday. The Hare and Hounds is in a picturesque village to the north of Harrogate. Not surprisingly given its name the decor is that of a hunting inn. It has a well set out area at the back for eating outdoors - too cold the day we visited unfortunately. The food was very good - we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stopped here for lunch and to meet some friends on the way up to Ripon races. Very friendly staff, good choice of well kept beers and we all thoroughly enjoyed eating in the garden. It looks like a great venue for a long and slow winters Sunday lunch. The Nidderdale roast beef served cold as part of their salad of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Travelling Mat Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. In the winter we do have the log stove burning and it is a great place to have a Sunday roast! Hope you had a fruitful day at the races. We look forward to seeing you back at the pub soon... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visited on Saturday 9th of August 2014, for an evening meal, whilst staying on the Caravan Club Site at Scotton, due to all other pubs been fully booked. And WOW what a discovery. The staff were excellent, the food was out of this world, and this was combined with a lovely cosy atmosphere. Would certainly make a return visit if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Ianandtracy2013 I am so pleased you managed to find us and had such an enjoyable meal on Saturday night. Thank you for your review and comments and I look forward to seeing you again. Regards Jon More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Visited on a Thursday night with some close friends for a leaving do and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better. Staff were very friendly and knowledgable. Had a good range of beverages and an extensive menu which made decisions very difficult! Typically I went for the whitebait starter with tartare sauce and a dressed salad which was perfect. I then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Hirsty26 I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to us. Thank you for the very kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Jon More

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's been a month or so since I first visited the Hare & Hounds. I was so impressed on the first visit, that I felt I had to return, just to see if I could be so wonderfully impressed again. This time we took a couple of friends, both vegetarians, to see if they agreed. And not one of us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Bigneilly, so pleased that you had a return visit to the pub and the steak and ale pie did not disappoint. I look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Jon More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Group of four adults, we visited the pub on Wednesday evening. Busy already at 7.15pm was a good sign and we were not disappointed. Very good pint of Timothy Taylor's Landlord was followed by a tasty bowl of mushroom soup. My main of veggie parcels was also a delight and the bill was very reasonable too. We wil be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Stuart H, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us on Wednesday night and enjoyed the food and drinks on offer. Don't forget that Wednesday is also our steak night (two steaks and a bottle of house wine for only £30.00). I look forward to welcoming you back to the pub. Regards Jon More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Been here many many times, my favourite local pub serving excellent, fresh food. large amount of tables out the back for when it's sunny and great all year round. A must visit if in the area during the Tour De Yorkshire!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Aoife O, thank you for your review and I am very pleased that you like the beer garden area. Regards Jon More

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My, where do I start? The pub itself is a lovely old building that has clearly been lovingly cared for and well maintained over the years. The bar offers a splendid array of drinks that would have most tipplers feel that they were in Heaven. The staff are well drilled in looking after their customers. They make you feel welcome,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear BigNeilly, thank you for your kind comments. The steak and ale suet pudding is all made on the premises and cooked from fresh when you order it - worth the wait! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Jon More

Etwall, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stopped off at the Hare and Hounds whilst on a family walk on a sunny bank holiday. We recieved a warm welcome from the landlord and staff and enjoyed a well kept pint of blacksheep and really nice sandwiches and chunky chips. I would recommend a visit if you're passing. For beer lovers in addition to the black sheep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Pete, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and made the most of our recently refurbished beer garden (and some warm weather as well). Regards Jon Shaw More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went here with a party of 8 for an evening meal. Food was delicious and the staff and landlord were very friendly. Timothy Taylor landlord was a nice pint too. We will definitely be visiting here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon S, Owner at The Hare And Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Mark C, I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Hare and Hounds. I Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Jon More

Travelers who viewed The Hare And Hounds also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Brearton, Harrogate
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hare And Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hare And Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing