We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 311 Peterborough Restaurants

The Cherry House Restaurant

125 Church Street, Werrington, Peterborough PE4 6QF, England
+44 1733 571721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 311 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: French, British
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    30
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

After living in the village of Werrington on the outskirts of Peterborough, Cambridgeshire some years ago. We decided to re-visit the Cherry House restaurant. Yes it is now under new ownership and has been recently refurbished. Although we found car parking restricted, the layout of the building inside was attractive with square stone columns here and there supporting the wooden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This restaurant has been one of the best in the area for many years, since the refurbishment a couple of months ago the atmosphere has improved tremendously and is now in keeping with the first class food. It is an ideal place for a family meal or a romantic evening. Great choice on menu (changed every 2 weeks) great service,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "steve e" for your review. It's really good to know that regular diners and new customers alike are telling us how the new decor lives up to what we do our best to achieve in the kitchen and in our service. We agree wholeheartedly that the refurbishment has made The Cherry House feel much warmer and more welcoming.... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Another excellent meal at The Cherry House. The new Refurbishment & new menu are even better then in the past. Service excellent, food delicious, wine to die for!! What more can you say. Well worth a visit. Still the best value for money in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "asset5" for your latest review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. The refurbishment has been a major success and it is also good to hear that our diners are noticing the smaller tweaks we have introduced too. We look forward to you joining us again soon. More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

After living in the village of Werrington on the outskirts of Peterborough, Cambridgeshire some years ago. We decided to re-visit the Cherry House restaurant. Yes it is now under new ownership and has been recently refurbished. Although we found car parking restricted, the layout of the building inside was attractive with square stone columns here and there supporting the wooden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "Bernard M" for your very kind review, it is greatly appreciated. Delighted you enjoyed your time at The Cherry House and hope it will not be long before you return. If we could just clarify for other customers, the "new ownership" at The Cherry House (Andrew Corrick, Chef Patron) has actually been in situ for twenty years. Thank... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We visited celebrating our anniversary and really enjoyed our dinner. Good choice on the menu. Really enjoyed my creme brulee. Good service. Will come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "mark d" for your comments - we are very pleased your enjoyed your celebration at The Cherry House and to hear that you will be returning. More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We went for Sunday lunch. Perfect lunch. Food amazing. Staff friendly. Quite expensive. This is more for a lovely treat. As it's very expensive to eat here even at Christmas. It's a lovey atmosphere. Nice place for a special treat

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you 2187045Yvonne007" for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return in the near future. More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

After much hype, was expecting excellent service and food. Unfortunately, got neither. we were a group of seven and did not even get a "hello?!" Had to ask for wine menu, not shown to table, had to ask for menu, had to ask for our order to be taken...felt utterly ignored. Asked for more sauce (original tasted good, but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry that not all your party enjoyed their evening at The Cherry House. The reason you were not shown to your table before you made your way into our dining rooms, was that your party of seven was still two people light. As you point out, we agreed that the second serving of shellfish sauce had not been... More

Oundle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We ate at the Cherry House on Sunday for a birthday celebration and from the moment we stepped through the door it was wonderful. Andrew and his staff were attentive for the whole time we were there. There was 9 of us in our party and we all had a wonderful time. Food and wine were excellent . Well done... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "Margaret B" for your nice comments. We are delighted you all enjoyed your visit and that you chose The Cherry House for your celebration. Hope to see you again soon. More

Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We celebrated a family 60th wedding anniversary for Sunday lunch. The staff were very welcoming from the beginning and throughout the service was excellent. Food was typical Sunday roast but was good quality and good value. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars was I thought it was a poor effort for cheese and biscuits, everything thing else was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "Jamie O" for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and have noted your comments. More

Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The Cherry House has held a lofty reputation for many years, and when we ate there recently, it certainly didn't disappoint. The set menu is just under £27, and for this you get three courses. There are supplements for various specials, but I certainly found the standard offerings more than adequate. The setting is very pleasant, and the service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cherryhouse125, Owner at The Cherry House Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you "WHDavies" for this review and your kind comments. We hope you visit The Cherry House again in the near future. More

Travelers who viewed The Cherry House Restaurant also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cherry House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing