We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sophie T's Vintage Teashop

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
183 Main Street | Yaxley, Peterborough, England
Website
Add hours for Sophie T's Vintage Teashop and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Post code PE7 3LD. New restaurant opened on Sept 10 2011

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 149 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 106
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Snack lunch

A trip back in time, a small but friendly tea room with a shop, memorabilia from 1940 worth a visit, but you may have to book.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
73kitten
,
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

A trip back in time, a small but friendly tea room with a shop, memorabilia from 1940 worth a visit, but you may have to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Second year we been for our birthday afternoon tea. Was not disappointed. The setting seems more quaint and the portions seemed even larger. Lots of choice of everything and the mini scones were to die for. Definitely worth a try, takes you right back to the 30s/40s when we really did know how to serve an English afternoon tea. Added... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I received a very thoughtful and inspired 40th birthday gift of a sophie T's gift voucher. I hadn't heard of the place before but now I'm so glad I have!! It was fantastic. Delicious tea with very generous servings of sandwiches and cakes and delicious scones too in the most nostalgic and evocative setting. It was made all the more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My husband & I spent a wonderful valentines day afternoon there & we were serenaded by a live pianist! Great food lovely atmosphere & the best bread pudding my husband has ever eaten.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

Afternoon teas as birthday treat. The setting is 1940s with a lot of wartime memorabilia on display. Embroidered table cloths and China cups. Great atmosphere. No rationing on the teas though. Lovely fresh sandwiches, fresh scones with lashings of jam and clotted cream and an enormous slice of cake Left well and truly stuffed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MG
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

A group of 15 attended for Christmas Afternoon Tea and seated upstairs. Expected a few Christmas decorations or festive music but nothing. Had to ask for teaspoons and more tea - one pot between six was not sufficient. Staff were not very attentive, one member needs to go on customer service training. Three members of the party were vegetarian and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynne T, Owner at Sophie T's Vintage Teashop, responded to this review

The booking was made for 16 originally and a £5 per head deposit paid in advance. The "organiser" rang 2 days before and told me that 1 of the group was called to work and therefore the final bill would have her deposit deducted! I pointed out that the deposit was non refundable. There was a discussion and as I... More 

Ramsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

A group of 12 of us went for work Xmas treat. Environment Was lovelly however Waitresses Did Not Refill Teapot when asked and didnt come to ask if all was ok or we needed anything and we were there almost 2 hours! I thought they w er e suppose to be dressed in 1940 dress? Also some staff looked miserable!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynne T, Owner at Sophie T's Vintage Teashop, responded to this review

I am not sure why you think there was not enough tea as your waitress refilled teapots several times. I sent her up to make sure you had enough tea and there were 7 large teapots that were refilled at least once for your group. In fact when we came to clear the tables there were vegetarian sandwiches left on... More 

Broadstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We had a table booked upstairs at Sophie Ts for 11 people and I have to say everything about the experience was delightful....from the booking arrangements with Lynne to the superb food, atmosphere, surroundings and service. I cannot praise your tearoom highly enough. I would recommend your teashop to anyone in the area and it was most definitely worth our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Well what a surprise, we had booked a table upstairs for afternoon tea and we had a lovely afternoon. The waitress brought us a four tier cake stand with sandwiches and cakes on which were delicious. They had a variety of teas which arrived in China teapots with knitted tea cosies, brilliant, and then what could be better than proper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Lovely place and atmosphere , great ambiance about the place, would definitely recommend if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Sophie T's Vintage Teashop also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sophie T's Vintage Teashop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 183 Main Street | Yaxley, Peterborough, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Peterborough

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

Post code PE7 3LD. New restaurant opened on Sept 10 2011

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sophie T's Vintage Teashop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?