We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
183 Main Street | Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LD, England
447768351227
Website
Improve this listing
Sunday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Special occasions
Description: Post code PE7 3LD. New restaurant opened on Sept 10 2011 Specialise in...
Post code PE7 3LD. New restaurant opened on Sept 10 2011 Specialise in homemade cakes and scones Afternoon Tea Large groups catered for in our function room
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 180 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 123
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Afternoon tea

Excellent. Lovely atmosphere, excellent cakes and sandwiches. Free top up for your tea. A Birtthday treat, but we shall most definitely go back for another visit.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
Deeann G
,
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent. Lovely atmosphere, excellent cakes and sandwiches. Free top up for your tea. A Birtthday treat, but we shall most definitely go back for another visit.

Helpful?
Thank Deeann G
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visted Sophie's vintage T rooms it's got wonderful food ,cakes out of this world ,service was great also for sale are slendid knitted item's.wonderful memorabilia

Helpful?
Thank derwen4
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

After previously having had good experiences at Sophie T’s, it’s with disappointment that I have to say that the service we received recently was below that expected. Although the younger members of staff were pleasant, one lady would benefit from customer service training. We were a group booking of 9 adults and 5 children there for a special occasion but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbear1977
Lynne T, Owner at Sophie T's Vintage Teashop, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a poor experience with us. It would seem I took my eye off the ball as I was dealing with another situation that had unexpectedly arisen. I was not made aware of any problems and I trust my staff to do their usual good job. I was made aware that you asked for the deposit... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

I made an error with my booking today with 2 extra people coming. I continuously apologised and asked if i could have 2 chairs to add to table (we said we didn't mind squishing as it was my error and that 2 ppl were quite happy just having tea as i appreciate not catering for added ppl) i also suggested... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank Piera M
Lynne T, Owner at Sophie T's Vintage Teashop, responded to this review

I do not reply with excuses I reply with facts. These are the facts... 16th September 07.33am A table was requested for 6 people on 17th October at 2pm. 30th September 07.01am The number of guests increased to 8. You were asked not to increase the numbers anymore as there would not be a table available as we were fully... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

Staff are rude, and not accommodating at all: everything was too much trouble and no warm welcome. food was stale, Had better at dobbies cafe!

Helpful?
5 Thank Sofia B
Lynne T, Owner at Sophie T's Vintage Teashop, responded to this review

I believe this to be an untruthful review due to the fact that your party left in a hurry without being seated and did not eat or drink anything. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

Popped in on a busy afternoon with no booking and yet we were found a little space upstairs. Delicious food as ever and have recommended this amazing place to many friends. Will book my Mums 75th tea party there this week for January and already looking forward to it.

Helpful?
Thank Clare2568
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Great little tea shop with a pianist taking you back to the 40's! Good food, friendly service and great staff. If you want to make sure of getting a table it's probably best to book as this is really a popular little place. If only it opened Sunday's!! Must have cash on you, they don't take cards!

Helpful?
Thank Adventurouseaters
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

After reading some good reviews about this teashop,i emailed them to ask if they do gift vouchers for a present. I Found the reply pretty rude especially with the exclamation marks after cash only! I understand they may get lots of email requests, as do i. But manners cost nothing!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank jen p
Lynne T, Owner at Sophie T's Vintage Teashop, responded to this review

As is correctly stated we receive many emails asking the same questions and all are answered. This is our standard reply when asked about gift vouchers ........ "Vouchers are available from the shop and can be collected Tuesday to Saturday 9.00-4.30. They are made out for a value or for an item(s) from our menu. Vouchers are valid for six... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

A little off the beaten track in a village just south of Peterborough but well worth the journey. 1940's themed decor adds atmosphere but friendly and cheery service contributes even more. Good value sandwiches and drinks with afternoon teas proving popular and for good reason. All in all a relaxing and memorable visit and one I look forward to repeating... More 

Helpful?
Thank gingergeezer
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Great value and an interesting experience. Complete with old-timer music on the piano. Very reasonably priced cream tea. i'd say one is enough for two people (if you have an extra pot of tea!:-)

Helpful?
Thank 623dad

Travelers who viewed Sophie T's Vintage Teashop also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sophie T's Vintage Teashop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 183 Main Street | Yaxley, Peterborough PE7 3LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Peterborough
  • Phone Number: 447768351227

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Cafe, European, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

Post code PE7 3LD. New restaurant opened on Sept 10 2011 Specialise in homemade cakes and scones Afternoon Tea Large groups catered for in our function room
Open Hours
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sophie T's Vintage Teashop and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Halifax, United Kingdom
wisbech. England, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sophie T's Vintage Teashop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?