We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monasterboice inn

Monasterboice, Drogheda, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 76 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Most recent review
- Sep 9, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

If you want a restaurant with good irish food, this is the one. I've been there a couple of times and in each celebration date I am the first to suggest. Monasterboice Inn. Great waiters, cosy place, clean toilets, nice deserts and reasonable prices. The kids menu is not that healthy but a treat is good sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit wit us, and look forward to taking care of you and your family again soon. More

Dungannon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant situated off junction 10 on the M1 from Dublin to Newry. We stop off on the way home from rugby matches and when arriving back from our travels into Dublin airport. The service is excellent and the steaks are superb. It's definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you, we are delighted to hear we serve you well, and look forward to seeing you after the time you are passing. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Food is always top class here if you are prepared to queue on Sundays as it is always busy which has to be a good thing. Staff always friendly and attentive. Love my Sunday lunch here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review. It's always really good to hear positive feedback. Thank you. More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had the evening special menu there last week which comprises of a four course meal for a respectable price of 25€. This menu includes steak with no supplement. it is a traditional steak house and I have eaten there for over thirty years. Except for onetime only , the food has always been fantastic. The staff are also very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our €25.00 menu. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we greatly value your feedback. More

Co Down
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a very disappointing meal last year but decided to call in on way from Dublin this week. We made a booking and asked for a window seat. Unfortunately the lady that received us did not look at our request and attempted to take us into another part of the restaurant. Not a good start! Well we both ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back after 1 year. We are grateful you gave us another chance to look after you. We value your custom and your feed back, and will investigate the pepper sauce served on Friday. Once again thank you. More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Called in today with family for a quiet midweek dinner. Plenty of tables occupied so expected a high standard of food, given how remote the location has become due to motorways. Our waitress was very pleasant and accommodating, however this was unfortunately the highlight of the meal as the food itself was beyond bland. I ordered a breaded breast of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with the chicken, had you made us aware that you were unhappy, we could have changed it for you straight away. We do, in fact, roast the turkey and the lamb in the morning as it would not be possible to cook them to order. We appreciate you taking... More

Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

do not understand why people still flock to this place,the food is not great you would get better in a small cafe or takeaway very disappointing and a bit too expensive for what you get,the best thing about this place is the staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am sorry you were disappointed, if you come again please let us know, as I would be delighted to talk to you. More

Yanchep, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fantastic meal and service. Heaps of good food and really well done. I had the surf and turf - a great piece of steak cooked perfectly and some delicious prawns. The place was packed and we had to wait to get in, but this was managed brilliantly too. After some very disappointing meals in Ireland this was a great way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you like a good steak and have a good appetite then this restaurant is a must. It is located on the old N1 road which is now bypassed by a morotway but watch out for the signs. Real country eating was the way it was described to us and maybe built on on the needs of those who worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I am a big steak man and I have never been disappointed at the Monasterboice. You pay a tad more but you get a hell of a meal, no matter what you order. We always stop here on the way back from Dublin to the North, something to look forward to.... Also worth mentioning the service is excellent and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice inn also viewed

 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monasterboice inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing