We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
04198371396
Website
Today
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Fri - Sat 9:30 am - 12:30 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 204 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 100
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Nice experience

This pub/restaurant has been newly renovated. Had a very nice lunch with visiting relatives from England recently. Very enjoyable. Lovely ambience and great service. Had the day two course special excellent value.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 20, 2015
777Drogheda
,
Drogheda
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Lovely staff and menu Food is beautiful, Great atmosphere Buzzing Family welcoming Love the new menus

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

Just been to this restaurant for lunch. We had 4 people with us. I ordered a soup and Sandwich combo and I can't complain it was nice. One person had thai chicken curry with noodles and it was cold on arrival at the table so had to be sent back to be reheated. The other two dinners were also slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drogheda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

This pub/restaurant has been newly renovated. Had a very nice lunch with visiting relatives from England recently. Very enjoyable. Lovely ambience and great service. Had the day two course special excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Very nice staff, premises etc, menu good too. Had the thai fish cakes as starter... They were over cooked... won't order again... also had fish n chips.... very nice... The pea's that accompanied however were very watery... my wife had bbq ribs which were delish. ... overall a mixed bag where the positives outweighed the negatives with room for improvement.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Bazman Glad you enjoyed your recent visit to us. I have passed back your comments to our Head Chef as we always apprieciate guest feedback. Im glad the positives out weight the negatives and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Niamh More 

Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Reluctantly visited the bull on Saturday night as over the last few times there we had been disappointed with the quality of the food. To our delight we must say the bull is definitely back to its best. Service and food were excellent. The recently decorated bar area is also a wonderful improvement. Will be looking forward to our next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent review. We are delighted that you like our Newly refurbed Itzabar and A La Carte menu. We look forward to seeing you again shortly. Niamh More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

we needed a quick lunch one day so we popped into the black bull. We have a quick and speedy service followed by some lovely food including some great deserts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you Ellen for taking time to write your recent review and it has been greatly received. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Niamh More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

the lunch is very good value even though all of us didn't have the special owing to the lack of choice. They should charge a little more and have at least another choice for mains. The service was awful but it could have been owinng to the installation of a new system. Although I have had bad service there another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Kath Thank you for your recent review. We have had a new POS system installed recently, and did encounter a few teething problems in our first few days, so apologies for any disruptions to our service on the day you visited us. We regards to our lunch time two course special, it is designed to deliver quick service to... More 

2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Dispointed with handling of bill over charge.order seafood thai red curry.waites took the order came back said it was not on today, there seamed to be two different menu's on.the one in the restaurant and the one in the kitchen? very over rated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Michael I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and if you would like to call me directly to discuss your issues further. Telephone 041-9837139. I look forward to hearing from you. Niamh More 

Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Four adults, 1child sorry teenager 13 on the day! Family birthday lunch. The bar area has been decorated recently, very nice, but, dining section is the same, pleasant, but very hollow sound which makes it every noisy! Food disappointing. Veg soup smelled disgusting, don't know how you could mess up veg soup! The prawn cocktail was basic. I had 'Fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Tammy Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy it. I am surprised that none of our dishes were to your liking and I would be grateful if you could please call me directly on 041-9837139 to discuss the issues you had in further detail. Look forward to hearing from you.... More 

Meath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I took my parents to the Black Bill Inn on Sunday 28th June 2015. I had heard great things, so decided it would be a nice treat. We were shown to our table in the lounge and given our menus. It took a while for the dinner to be served, but the food was lovely. However our plates were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Elf79 Thanks for taking time to write your review. Our booking policy is to allow two hours for a table turn to ensure that our guests don`t feel rushed. I am sorry that you felt that you were not tended to more promptly. We do appreciate customer feedback and take onboard your comments, again thank you for taking time... More 

Travelers who viewed Black Bull also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number: 04198371396
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday 9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday 9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday 9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday 9:30 am - 12:30 am
Saturday 9:30 am - 12:30 am
Cuisine: European, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: 04198371396

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: European, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 12:30 am
Saturday
9:30 am - 12:30 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?