We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Fri - Sat 9:30 am - 12:30 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 93
    Excellent
  • 50
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Amazing Staff and food

Had Sunday Lunch here today with my parents with no reservation and we loved it, found the staff extremely friendly, accomadating and nothing was too much trouble, even for my Mam been a fussy eater. Two of us had Roast Beef and it was melt in your mouth, my Mam had the Chicken Caesar Salad which... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 26, 2015
Niamh B
,
Dublin, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

Had Sunday Lunch here today with my parents with no reservation and we loved it, found the staff extremely friendly, accomadating and nothing was too much trouble, even for my Mam been a fussy eater. Two of us had Roast Beef and it was melt in your mouth, my Mam had the Chicken Caesar Salad which she said was amazing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

Staff are awful and if there's a conflict back up their staff not the customer! Food is way overpriced!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

I'm a regular in the Black Bull and I have to say I highly recommend it. Their big menu means I never tire of eating there - their steaks are some of the best I have ever had; the scampi is always tasty; the sizzlers are fun and I just love their spinach and ricotta canneloni when in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Drogheda, Co. Louth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

One barman told one of us to F Off!!!! Other bar staff and one owner made up lies about what happened!! Asked to see the CCTV footage they had and heard nothing back since - that's 2 weeks ago now!! Kitchens are manky too! Pub and restaurant need serious refurbishment!! So dated and dirty! Never going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Plainfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We asked about 4 local people where we should eat explaining that we wanted a pub atmosphere and meal for our last night in Ireland. A man with a family and a Pastor recommended the Black Bull. It was great. Only problem was that we went on a Saturday night and the wait for the dining room was 2 1/2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Oh my goodness!! Delicious food and atmosphere... myself, daughter and my mother staying in Drogheda for World irish dancing championships were advised by a local taxi driver to visit this pub for dinner as it was just down road from our hotel and he wasn't wrong food was gorgeous... my daughter had lovely juicy chicken breast, mum had the fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Lesley Thanks a mill for taking time to write your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service so much and hopefully you wont leave it so long to come back and see us again. Best of luck with the Irish Dancing. More 

Cork. Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Myself and my partner were on an easter break in Drogheda when we happened across the black Bull Bar and restaurant. I had the 14oz Fillet Steak rare with all the trimmings. What a Main Course. Cooked to perfection and you could cut the steak with a spoon it was so tender. While the Starters, and desserts were very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I recently dined in Black Bull with a friend. As a vegetarian I was offered risotto, pasta or the obligatory stir fry!!! In this day & age we have so many wonderful foods & flavours available that these options are dismal & lazy! I was so disappointed, won't be back in a hurry!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BullManager, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Hi Zsa Zsa Thanks for taking time to write your review. We always welcome guest feedback and we are just about to launch our New Light Night Seasonal A La Carte menu. We would be thrilled if you would take the time to contact us with some exciting ideas for our extensive Vegetarian section. Currently we offer a variety of... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Mun & Dads 40th anniversary. you got to give credit when it's due. Food was excellent, "Bar the fish" unfortunately that could have been better not alot taste but you can't win all the time. Staff very friendly and professional. As for the restaurant itself very clean. Would definitely recommend....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Was here with family on st patricks day ..so glad we booked a table as the restaurant was very busy..i had a superb creamy pint of Guinness whilst we waited for our table, once we got our table the service was very promt..the starters and main course were immense. .the wings were just delicious and the steak was fabulous. ..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Black Bull also viewed

 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: European
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 12:30 am
Saturday
9:30 am - 12:30 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?