We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yindees Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Malaysian, Asian fusion
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Bridge, John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
+353 56 779 4614
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wed - Thu 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Yindees Downtown brings you a unique blend of authentic Thai and...
Yindees Downtown brings you a unique blend of authentic Thai and Malayasian dishes in a modern intimate setting. Yindees Downtown Restaurant boasts a superb location right in the heart of the city. We are proud to have served the people of Kilkenny and our wonderful visitors for over 3 years. The stylish Cocktail Bar at Yindees Downtown Restaurant is perfect for a quiet drink with soothing atmosphere. If you want to enjoy a taste of Yindees Downtown Restaurant at home, we offer a convenient delivery or collection service.
read more
Good for:
Large groups

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 150 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 107
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Excellent Meal

Wednesday this week myself and 6 colleagues went out for an early bird meal in Yindees restaurant and i have to say the food and atmosphere were fabulous, the staff were really freindly & we really enjoyed our meal from start to finish. We will be back!

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 6, 2015
ANNPB
,
ANNPB
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ANNPB
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 NEW

Wednesday this week myself and 6 colleagues went out for an early bird meal in Yindees restaurant and i have to say the food and atmosphere were fabulous, the staff were really freindly & we really enjoyed our meal from start to finish. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I ate here while on a trip to kilkenny with my wife. We went in and were greeted by a friendly member of staff and shown to a table. We opted for the early bird menu and ordered our food. It seemed to be taking ages and eventually the waitress came up to us and apologised. It seems that another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Beautiful food, really friendly and quick service... enjoyed my experience from start to finish.. I have recommended yindees to many friends. Hope to go back myself soon !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards John Rowe More 

Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Had a takeaway from here last night and was extremely disappointed. This place has gone drastically downhill since I was here last. The food was soggy, grease-laden and tasteless. It was one expensive disappointment. There are countless better options in the city centre and I would recommend you avail of them...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ireland TravelMad Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments., However I am aggrieved with the comments which have been discussed with my team and are unacceptable. We here at Yindees Downtown pride ourselves with our product offering and all the positive comments and ratings suggest that we offer our restaurant and 'At Home' customers a product... More 

Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My first visit to Yindees and it won't be my last. Absolutely loved the food, atmosphere and my night out. The staff are very friendly and helpful, there's a great selection on menus and portions are generous. Starters, main course and drinks were all brought to our table with ease and the decor is lovely and very relaxing. Can't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards John Rowe More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

7 of us ate at Yindees as it was recommended to us by the staff at the Ormond Hotel (Which was lovely too) and each of us nearly licked our plates!!!! , apart from the excellent food and its tasteful presentation, we all felt a wonderful friendly atmosphere there. John the manager came and talked to us as did the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards John Rowe More 

Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Have been before and never disappointed. Here last night for a new years dinner with freinds. Restaurant was buzzing, food and service was excellent. Price was very reasonable. Would highly recommend for authentic asian thai cusuine. Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards John Rowe More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

Booked here based mainly on Trip Adviser reviews. Service was great. Staff attentive and friendly. Food was wonderful. Tiger prawns and chicken satay starters were beautiful. Pork and chicken mains were excellent. As the main courses arrived we mentioned to the waitress that we seemed to be sitting in a draft or that the air conditioning was too cold. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. However i would like to apologise for the issue with the heating it is a controlled unit and was jumping from hot to cold automatically which is unacceptable please... More 

Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend visited Yindees last week and it was so good, we came again last night; and honestly, we would eat their every week if we could. The menu was brilliant and well within our budget and the food was just amazing. Had no idea I'd like oriental food so much. The prawn crackers with the chili sauce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards John Rowe More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Me and my partner were in kilkenny for a few days and happen to stumble upon this little gem...from starter to dessert we could not fault it...decor warm and relaxing...music was not to loud witch is always a plus....the tom yam soup (hope i spelt that right) was delicious and the cod in banana leaf fantastic...definitely a great find.....and how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowe J, Manager at Yindees Downtown, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for dining with us recently and appreciated the food and service. it is always great to hear that we meet expectations of our customers. Hope to see you again in the future. it was a pleasure to meet and chat with you. Regards John Rowe More 

Travelers who viewed Yindees Downtown also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Yindees Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Bridge, John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Kilkenny  >  Kilkenny
  • Phone Number: +353 56 779 4614

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 49
  • Cuisine: Malaysian, Asian fusion

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

Yindees Downtown brings you a unique blend of authentic Thai and Malayasian dishes in a modern intimate setting. Yindees Downtown Restaurant boasts a superb location right in the heart of the city. We are proud to have served the people of Kilkenny and our wonderful visitors for over 3 years. The stylish Cocktail Bar at Yindees Downtown Restaurant is perfect for a quiet drink with soothing atmosphere. If you want to enjoy a taste of Yindees Downtown Restaurant at home, we offer a convenient delivery or collection service.
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Yindees Downtown and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Yindees Downtown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?