We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant

#132 of 333 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1st Floor National Aquarium | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
091580131
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 80 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Relaxed atmosphere

Lovely staff, nice food, beautiful decor. We went here on recommendation of a taxi driver who said it was the best Chinese in Galway, and I must say it was all very nice, no complaints would recommend it to anyone. Suitable for family's, couples, and for bringing young children.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 21, 2015
MarieOD93
,
Castletownbere, Ireland
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend went to galway for the weekend! We decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner. This Chinese had aload of awards placed outside the door so we thought this place most be good so we popped in! What a bad decision for a few reasons; 1) The food is totally overpriced-20€ for beef curry!!it wasn't even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi amlz14, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. To be honest I'm very surprised by some of your comments. We would not consider ourselves expensive and have yet to have anyone else say this to us. We charge 20 for a beef dish as we are using top quality rib eye beef that is... More 

Galway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

Tonight I got a takeaway from the royal villa as I had heard good things about it. To say I'm disappointed would be an understatement. The spring rolls burst with grease in my mouth, the meat sung was tasteless except for the chewy tubed piece of some animal that I didn't recognise and that shouldn't have been in it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Niamh421, Thanks for taking the time to review and let us know about your experience. I'm sorry to hear you were so disappointed and I must say its very surprising as we provide dozens of takeaways every night and we have regulars who come back every week or sometimes multiple times a week for takeaways. I'm very confused by... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

The place had been done up since my last visit. Both the decor and the menu had changed, which was nice to see. The service was excellent, the food was very nice and the mid-week menu was good value. No complaints at all :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Bakespeare, Thanks for your review and your kind words. Its always nice when people take note of the changes we make to keep both the venue and the experience fresh and interesting. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

After been here in November 2014 decided to choose a takeaway this time,the quality of the food was horrendous,tasteless ,flavourless, Asked if possible to have a salt&schilli chicken they said yes,was I got was a crumbed chicken served with veg and a salad,it was tasteless and soggy chicken,most of the takeaway was binned,very dissatisfied as for takeaway it's quite expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castletownbere, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Lovely staff, nice food, beautiful decor. We went here on recommendation of a taxi driver who said it was the best Chinese in Galway, and I must say it was all very nice, no complaints would recommend it to anyone. Suitable for family's, couples, and for bringing young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi MarieOD93, Thanks for your review and lovely comments. Its nice to hear we were recommended and even better to hear you were happy with the recommendation. We look forward to having you dine with us again in the future when you're in Galway. More 

County Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Super food & extra polite staff. Highly recommend this restaurant. Well woth a visit if staying in the salthill area

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Lollymas, Thanks for the lovely review, always good to hear from satisfied customers. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We went on an 8 day holiday to Ireland this year. We've found that the ethnic food outside of the US is way better for some reason. We decided to try Royal Villa one night for dinner and it was probably the best chinese we have had in a LONG time. We shared the spring rolls and fried mushrooms -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Aocwagner, Thanks for taking the time to review, glad you had such a good time with us and I'm delighted we were able to make your trip to Galway even better. More 

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Went with my girlfriend on a Saturday night. Very nicely decorated place. Service was very good. We were a bit disappointed with the food however. For starter I had the satay skewers. Quite a small portion and very bland. Was expecting more of a peanut flavour but tasted more like a generic curry. Had the duck with noodles for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Their house special curry is so good. and their noodles are the best I've ever had. Cantonese duck is really good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

This family have been the backbone of Chinese food in Galway for thirty years. Had a quick dinner here last week. I had the Ribs to start and the house special curry .. All washed down with a New Zealand beer.. My night cost me less than €30.. Well done . Good Prices and location .. And the location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1st Floor National Aquarium | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
  • Phone Number: 091580131

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 28 - 43
  • Cuisine: Chinese

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?