We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant

#139 of 346 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1st Floor National Aquarium | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
091580131
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 86 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Delicious

Consistently great service and delicious food. Well worth a visit if you fancy a nice chinese meal. Takeaway options too. Nearby parking is plentiful and if the weather obliges, the prom is on the doorstep for a pre/post dinner stroll!

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 20, 2015
Angeld62
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Large groups
  • Special occasions
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Consistently great service and delicious food. Well worth a visit if you fancy a nice chinese meal. Takeaway options too. Nearby parking is plentiful and if the weather obliges, the prom is on the doorstep for a pre/post dinner stroll!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

This is great food take out or eat in! Delicious Chinese food and service is great bit slow but worth it! If family or group goes it is a bit slow then again it is a evening for relaxation and the view of the prom and sea.......... It has all, service etc close to all in Salthill

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

A very pleasant chinese restaurant with a lovely view of Galway Bay. Although very busy we still managed to get a table without booking. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our meal was very enjoyable and tasty and the service was fast and efficient. An all-round nice experience but would suggest booking in advance as it appears to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Had been here for a dinner when staying at Salthill. The restaurant has good ambience and nice views of the sea. However, I didn't find the food very impressive. I had veg spring rolls with chow mein. Both were very bland and I was left looking for taste. The spring rolls were very close to the frozen ones found in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Was here just this evening with my mother and as always the service and the meal was lovely. My mother had a chicken curry which was creamy and mild with friend rice. I had the gluten free fried rice with crispy chicken (also gluten free) which was fantastic. A great spot and an extensive menu. Well done Royal Villa. Keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi IrishBracken, Thanks for taking the time to review and for the kind words. Glad to hear you has such a good meal, we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend went to galway for the weekend! We decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner. This Chinese had aload of awards placed outside the door so we thought this place most be good so we popped in! What a bad decision for a few reasons; 1) The food is totally overpriced-20€ for beef curry!!it wasn't even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi amlz14, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. To be honest I'm very surprised by some of your comments. We would not consider ourselves expensive and have yet to have anyone else say this to us. We charge 20 for a beef dish as we are using top quality rib eye beef that is... More 

Galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

Tonight I got a takeaway from the royal villa as I had heard good things about it. To say I'm disappointed would be an understatement. The spring rolls burst with grease in my mouth, the meat sung was tasteless except for the chewy tubed piece of some animal that I didn't recognise and that shouldn't have been in it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Niamh421, Thanks for taking the time to review and let us know about your experience. I'm sorry to hear you were so disappointed and I must say its very surprising as we provide dozens of takeaways every night and we have regulars who come back every week or sometimes multiple times a week for takeaways. I'm very confused by... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

The place had been done up since my last visit. Both the decor and the menu had changed, which was nice to see. The service was excellent, the food was very nice and the mid-week menu was good value. No complaints at all :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Bakespeare, Thanks for your review and your kind words. Its always nice when people take note of the changes we make to keep both the venue and the experience fresh and interesting. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

After been here in November 2014 decided to choose a takeaway this time,the quality of the food was horrendous,tasteless ,flavourless, Asked if possible to have a salt&schilli chicken they said yes,was I got was a crumbed chicken served with veg and a salad,it was tasteless and soggy chicken,most of the takeaway was binned,very dissatisfied as for takeaway it's quite expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castletownbere, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Lovely staff, nice food, beautiful decor. We went here on recommendation of a taxi driver who said it was the best Chinese in Galway, and I must say it was all very nice, no complaints would recommend it to anyone. Suitable for family's, couples, and for bringing young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JnarF, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi MarieOD93, Thanks for your review and lovely comments. Its nice to hear we were recommended and even better to hear you were happy with the recommendation. We look forward to having you dine with us again in the future when you're in Galway. More 

Travelers who viewed Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant

Address: 1st Floor National Aquarium | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number: 091580131
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
Open Hours:
Sunday 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 28 - 43
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1st Floor National Aquarium | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
  • Phone Number: 091580131

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 28 - 43
  • Cuisine: Chinese

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?