We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,847 Dublin Restaurants

Saba

26-28 Clarendon Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 679 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #270 of 1,847 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Saba, which means "happy meeting place" in Thai, serves authentic Thai and Vietnamese cuisine at reasonable prices in a setting described as "colonial meets contemporary". Saba is renowned for our delicious food, fantastic atmosphere and award winning cocktails that will tantalise your tastebuds. Saba is an award winning Thai and Vietnamese Eatery on Clarendon Street, in Dublin's city centre just off the main shopping area, Grafton Street. It is surrounded by fantastic pubs and clubs to start and end your night. We look forward to welcoming you on your visit. Sanook![Enjoy!]
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    174
    77
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 NEW

I had a midweek dinner here with friends recently. We all choose form the set menu which is excellent value at €24. There was a great selection but I think the portions were far too big, especially the starters. I normally would never struggle to finish starters but I was pretty full after and really couldn't enjoy my main course... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

What can I say, it was properly good food. The service was a little abrupt and sometimes a bout rushed bu they were very very busy, we popped in on the off chance without booking and managed to squeeze us in so that may be the reason. Despite all of this the food was fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We were kind of pubbed out, so we decided on Thai when we walked by SABA and smelled the food. It was crowded and we didn't have reservations, but the host quickly fit us in. We thought that the menu was limited, but we asked the server to make our food really, really spicy with fresh cut chilies. That can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

In Saba back in February I ordered a main course to be informed five minutes later that it was no longer available, this happened to me a total of four times that night! The manager was so embarrassed she gave me a €50 free voucher. My wife and I recently returned and had a pleasant meal. The service was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

As a crowd of girls hitting the town we dropped in here to see if we could get a table at short notice. Thankfully they accomodated us with a great table. We had a mixed platter to start with and then we all had our mains. The food was fabulous. My only problem I had with this restaurant was seeing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Saba, responded to this review

Dear Caedan, We are delighted that we could accommodate you at such short notice and that the food was fabulous and the price too. I will speak to the DJ regarding the level of volume. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your five star review. Many thanks, Paul. More

Greystones, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We were going to see The Borstal boy in the "The Gaiety" Saba is so near the theatre you can sit down for a couple of hours before the show starts, We had a two coarse meal and a bottle of their New Zealand white wine, I had the grilled beef to start, my friend had fried noodles with prawns... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Saba, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you received good food, service, atmosphere and value. Great news. We are delighted also that you will be back to us soon. Many thanks, Paul. More

Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I loved the food, we both had noodle dishes and they were scrumptious. The restaurant was extremely busy and loud, I could hardly hear myself think, I felt like a sardine in a tin sandwiched between packed tables. I spent the whole time shouting at my friend!. I do prefer a quieter atmosphere so I'm not sure I will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Saba, responded to this review

Dear Moley, Many thanks for your review. Thank you fro the four stars. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the service. The atmosphere can be lively, especially on the weekends and therefore can be louder than a week night. You are right, wine is is not cheap in Ireland due to the fact that we have the... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Busy Friday evening and we headed in without a reservation. The place was buzzing but we got a high table for two against the back wall beside the bar. Our waitress was Rachel and she was great. We ordered our main courses from the Wok, a chicken dish and a vegetable one. Slight hick up on the wine as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Saba, responded to this review

Dear PaperbackPaul, Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to read you finished with 'a satisfied smile'! Delighted that Rachel took such good care of you and that you 'have never been disappointed by Saba'. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Paul. More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We got take out from here and the chicken in the dishes was dry. I guess some chicken IS dry, but we were disappointed anyway! This place came recommended and there were tons of people in the cool restaurant itself. Alas, not a favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Saba, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you fro your review. I am sorry that your chicken was dry. It shouldn't have been, so I don't know what happened to be honest. Apologies if you were disappointed, I see you are writing from California, however please drop it the next time you are in Dublin and give us an opportunity to rectify the situation.... More

Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Went here with group of friends for drinks on Tuesday night. Sat at the bar & ordered wine & cocktails. Lizzie looked after us very very well from start to finish. She is brilliant at her job. Other staff member are nice & friendly too. Place is trendy & cool. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Saba, responded to this review

Dear Jade, Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Saba and that Lizzie and the team took good care of you. I have passed on your comments and they are delighted. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks, Paul. More

Travelers who viewed Saba also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saba

Address: 26-28 Clarendon Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number: +353 1 679 2000
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
Average Prices: USD 11 - 30
Cuisine: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, cuisine.name.191

Do you own or manage Saba?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing