We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peploe's

#247 of 1,833 Restaurants in Dublin
#269 of 2,018 Places to Eat in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
South City Centre
French, Irish, International, European
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
16 St Stephen's Green | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
(01) 676 3144
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Peploe's is chic, sophisticated and probably the bubbliest restaurant in...
Peploe's is chic, sophisticated and probably the bubbliest restaurant in Dublin. Great food and ambience is the order of the day at Peploe's Wine Bistro. We all work very hard making sure that we have the best service, great food and really buzzy atmosphere! Our produce is sources from the best Irish and European suppliers of fresh fish and meat.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 586 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 270
    Excellent
  • 184
    Very good
  • 85
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Nice Intimate Restaurant

Good restaurant, great service; pasta dish was 5 star; steak was less than average - tough and dry. Hotel called ahead regarding girlfriend's birthday and they prepared nice desert with candle and

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2015
tste
,
San Miguel
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

Really nice atmosphere. Good food with an emphasis on steak. Good wine list with very decent house wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

We booked this highly recommended restaurant on our last night in Dublin after a great golf and art vacation. The restaurant was buzzing...and they offered us a table on the side by the kitchen outside the main room...near the kitchen. We did not come to eat...we came for fine dining not away from the dining room. They gave us no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Miguel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Good restaurant, great service; pasta dish was 5 star; steak was less than average - tough and dry. Hotel called ahead regarding girlfriend's birthday and they prepared nice desert with candle and

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

I can highly recommend Peploe’s for a pre-theatre meal. There are a number of restaurants in the vicinity that offer slightly cheaper pre-theatre / early bird menus but none that I found offered as wide a choice (representing great value at €25.50 for two courses). Food is excellently presented from a reasonably broad and interesting menu. This is a lively... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

After a gruelling afternoon of shopping in Dublin we were guided to Peploe's for an early bird dinner. An inspired choice. The restaurant is situated in a basement of a terraced property overlooking St Stephen's Green opposite the art railing where many artists display and sell their often excellent work. Modern but comfortable styling, great service and a creative menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peploes_Wine_Bistro, Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review

Dear 1957Steve Many thanks for taking the time to write and share this review. We very much appreciate your kind words on our food and delighted that you enjoyed the rest after obvious fun in the shops!! The building we live in actually dates from the 1760’s and is classic Georgian Dublin. It was a rather ambitious project embarked upon... More 

Lake District,Cumbria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

It's a good thing we booked because the restaurant was packed.We booked for 8.30pm but arrived 15mins early.The maitre D said we could wait at the bar until our table was ready in the larger part of the restaurant or sit on a table closer to the bar,a good choice as it was very noisy in the larger area due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peploes_Wine_Bistro, Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review

Dear Scouserjat Thank you for this detailed and measured review, absolutely delighted you chose Peploe’s for your farewell dinner and that we delivered an experience you enjoyed and even better felt compelled to write about. Each and every review here is valuable to us in terms of feedback and testimony that we are doing the best we can at our... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We had dinner here on Saturday night and it was delicious. From the moment we walked in the staff were so friendly and there is a lovely atmosphere in there, very busy and relaxed but intimate at the same time. We both loved our mains, I had lamb and my BF had steak, both cooked to perfection and just so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peploes_Wine_Bistro, Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review

Dear IrishGirl1 First of all, thank you for choosing Peploe’s to celebrate your special occasion Delighted you enjoyed your evening with us, very grateful that you took the time to write this review afterwards. Hopefully we will welcome you to Peploe’s again for more celebrations with good food and wine Take care Regards Frederic Pelanne General Manager More 

Bray, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

7 of us ate here last night. First impressions were good, the restaurant was busy and we were ordering off the set menu, €29.50 for 3 courses. 6 different starters were ordered and I tasted some of the others. Starters were presented well and were all very good. I ordered the London Broil and that was delicious also. The consensus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peploes_Wine_Bistro, Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review

Dear The_Poacher992002 Many thanks for this fair and measured review. Delighted to hear that all of your party of 7 enjoyed their meal with us. Your feedback is valuable and very much aprecateid Apologies that you were kept waiting between courses, we do try to get the balance right of keeping the service brisk but not obtrusive, on occasion we... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Spent the evening recently at Peploes with important business clients. It started off badly- waiting over 10 minutes to be approached for a drink. The service was sloppy- the waitress poured wine into water glasses and vice versa on more than one occasion! Knowledge of wines were poor. The food was just ok not up to the standards of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peploes_Wine_Bistro, Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review

Dear Princesssun So disappointed to read this review here, we did check with staff on the night you visited but have no record of any complaints made. Very sorry that your evening that was so important, with clients, was not a better one whilst dining at Peploe’s. However if I could just highlight it is difficult for management to address... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Booked a table for 5 people on Friday evening, entertaining important clients. Squashed into very busy dining room, left waiting a long time on menu and when we chose to have a beer were told that they have only 1 bottle of beer in the restaurant! Asked for recommendation of wine, waitress knew next to nothing, ended up topping up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peploes_Wine_Bistro, Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review

Dear Paul s So disappointed to read this review, have to assume that you were part of the party referred to in an earlier review by Princessun. Our deepest apologies that the evening with us was not a success, again if I can reiterate as with my previous reply that had the Manager on Duty known there were any issues... More 

Travelers who viewed Peploe's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Peploe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 16 St Stephen's Green | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighborhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: (01) 676 3144

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 27 - 54
  • Cuisine: French, Irish, International, European

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients

Description

Peploe's is chic, sophisticated and probably the bubbliest restaurant in Dublin. Great food and ambience is the order of the day at Peploe's Wine Bistro. We all work very hard making sure that we have the best service, great food and really buzzy atmosphere! Our produce is sources from the best Irish and European suppliers of fresh fish and meat.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peploe's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?