We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant

#170 of 1,941 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$
Irish, Chowder, Chicken Wings
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 607 4010
Website
Add hours for The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A Traditional Irish Pub situated on the Quays, serving the best of Irish...
A Traditional Irish Pub situated on the Quays, serving the best of Irish food. Upstairs room has beautiful decor and nice views of the Liffey and Ha Penny bridge. Description Bar & Restaurant - Serving Traditional IRISH food. Bar Opening Hours - 9am - 12.30Am - Mon /Thursday Friday/Saturday 9am-230am Sun 10 /1230am Restaurant Opening Hours - 9am-10.30Pm 7 days
read more
Good for:
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients
Dining on a budget
Breakfast/Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Reservations
Late Night
Dessert

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 460 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 246
    Excellent
  • 150
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Set us up for the Day

Hotel breakfast was just ok. 2x mornings we ate here instead. Fantastic old building, worth a visit just to see the spiral staircase. Late full Irish Breakfast, hot, tasty, friendly staff. But you can't beat a pint of Guiness with your breakfast. Will return.

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
MartinCawley
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

Hotel breakfast was just ok. 2x mornings we ate here instead. Fantastic old building, worth a visit just to see the spiral staircase. Late full Irish Breakfast, hot, tasty, friendly staff. But you can't beat a pint of Guiness with your breakfast. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Great to hear you enjoyed the famous Merchants Arch Irish Breakfast! Call back and see us again next time your in town! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW

Saw this bar after leaving a lock on Ha'penny Bridge. Clean and tidy inside with live music at lunch time. Excellent menu and food we ordered was lovely. My only gripe was that I ordered a large glass of house dry white wine. A tiny 125ml glass was delivered. I didn't query it as just thought I had been misheard.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
scarroll31, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. Most glasses of wine are pretty much the same measure in the area, with the only difference is the glass might be bigger! We'd love to see you back in with us again real soon! More 

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 NEW

I went to The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant with a group of 20 people from work. We had a great time and everybody was satisfied with the food and service. We also had a drink at the bar before dinner and everything was organized really well. Musicians playing that night were really amazing, especially a really talented young lady,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review. Great to hear you and your friends had a good time with us! Please call back and see us again real soon! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

After sampling "the black stuff" in pretty much every pub around temple bar during a half-term get away with friends we always found ourselves here. The atmosphere is second to none and the service pretty much instant. Yes the ale is a couple of quid dearer then your local back home but your in Dublin suck it up. A live... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for taking time to review us. We will let the band and staff know about your comments! Please call back and see us next time you are in town! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

After visiting this restaurant last year on a trip to Dublin and having a fabulous meal we decided to book a meal there for Valentines as a treat. The last review I left for this place was glowing with praise but unfortunately our visit this time leads me to leave a review to the contrary. We made the reservation months... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. As you know the day you visited us it was one of the biggest rugby matches of the year and we were wall to wall with rugby fans from Ireland and France. Also we had very large bookings in upstairs and downstairs all evening. We do apologise that our service was not up to... More 

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

My wife and I had a lovely meal here on our recent visit to Dublin with the portions very large and had we known this we might not have had a starter

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal! We will tell the staff and thanks for the review! More 

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Great Pub located at the edge of the na'penny bridge serving a good arrange of food .... The service was great even though it was very packed and the food was excellent at a fair price and good portions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the food! We'd love to see you again real soon. More 

Kilmarnock
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

If one star comes up for this excuse of a bar its because I could not carry on with ZERO . Four of us had the misfortune of choosing this bar to pop into for drinks on a Friday night . Poor bar staff who refused to listen , a manager who was worse !!! Needless to say if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Excellent food drink n music. Not much room and got bashed around sitting at our table. We had chowder and brie starter followed by lamb hor pot beaf n ale pie and fush n chips. Beautiful. Hats off to the waitresses having to figjt through the saturday night crowds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. We do get busy on Saturdays and we also have a restaurant upstairs on the top floor with a good atmosephere complemented live music over looking the famous Ha'penny bridge. Please call back in and see us again real soon! More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

My husband & I chanced upon this bar/restaurant as we were looking for somewhere to 'brunch'.....fabulous. Great range of food, from 'light bites' to hearty fodder. All home-made. I had a club sandwich & home-made chips, Tim had smoked salmon (huge portion) & as he wasn't sure if that would be enough ordered a 'light bite' portion of fish &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the kind review! We will tell all the staff and musicians about your comments. Dont forget to call back in and see us the next time you are in town! More 

Travelers who viewed The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 1 607 4010

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 17
  • Cuisine: Irish, Chowder, Chicken Wings

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget

Description

A Traditional Irish Pub situated on the Quays, serving the best of Irish food. Upstairs room has beautiful decor and nice views of the Liffey and Ha Penny bridge. Description Bar & Restaurant - Serving Traditional IRISH food. Bar Opening Hours - 9am - 12.30Am - Mon /Thursday Friday/Saturday 9am-230am Sun 10 /1230am Restaurant Opening Hours - 9am-10.30Pm 7 days

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?