We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seagrass Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
30 South Richmond Street, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Today
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 134 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good lunch

We had the set lunch and lingered for about four hours without being rushed or made feel uncomfortable. The starter, which was carrot soup and the dessert, which was a berry tiramisu were very good. The main course was hake, which itself was perfectly fresh and well cooked, however the vegetables... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 6, 2015
dickens668
,
Dublin, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Have a meal last night in Seagrass and was slightly apprehensive having read last couple of reviews - however had no need to be. What a fabulous restaurant - decor lovely - modern , atmosphere. The food was delicious. I don't eat lamb shank - but both my friends had it - and they were still raving about it this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ninaseagrass, Owner at Seagrass Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for your very kind words. They are so much appreciated! Our lovely Amy was serving you. We hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards, Nina More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Last Saturday myself and four friends were celebrating a birthday in the Seagrass restaurant. I had heard positive things about the restaurant and so was really looking forward to the evening. Unfortunately, our experience was in no way enjoyable. The waiter was slow to approach the table and inattentive thereafter- this seemed to be the case throughout the rest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ninaseagrass, Owner at Seagrass Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for your review. All comments are very important to us so we are able to avoid such a sotuations and improve our service. It is more then obvious that we have a problem with our staff. Please let me asure you that mesures have been taken and problems are hopefully now resolved for good. Please accept... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

5 of us had the set dinner (2 courses for €30 with no option for just one course) last night and were disappointed by almost every aspect of the evening. For a start, we were sitting there a good 5 minutes without menus, at which point I got up to ask the waiter (who didn't appear at all busy while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ninaseagrass, Owner at Seagrass Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry for your bad night at Seagrass. I will deal with the matters you pointed out immediately as this is of course not acceptable. Please let me only explain that we have set menu only because we allow BRing Your Own wine and charge no corkage fee however if you... More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

What a lovely place. We dined here on the recommendation of a friend who had had a great meal in the past. The attraction was BYOB (without corkage)! We had such a beautiful and lovely meal that we returned two nights later. The menu is simple, well cooked bistro food, done to a high standard! It is such an excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ninaseagrass, Owner at Seagrass Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. They are much appreciated! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We had the set lunch and lingered for about four hours without being rushed or made feel uncomfortable. The starter, which was carrot soup and the dessert, which was a berry tiramisu were very good. The main course was hake, which itself was perfectly fresh and well cooked, however the vegetables accompanying it were a little overworked for presentation. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reigate
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We reserved the restaurant for a group dinner for over 30 people. Normally, when catering for this number of people I expect the food to be reasonable but not great. How wrong I was! The service was excellent, the pace just right and the food that came out looked and tasted wonderful. Everyone commented on how good both the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Had a lovely 3 course lunch with friends. The portions were huge and it was excellent value. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We sat chatting for nearly 4 hours and were never asked to leave or made feel uncomfortable. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ninaseagrass, Owner at Seagrass Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated! We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch at Seagrass and we hope to see you very soon again. Kind Regards, Nina More 

Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

I visited Seagrass with a friend primarily based on the web published menu and the fact that it was a bring your own wine restaurant. It was a lovely evening and we stopped off beforehand in the bar alonside (O'Connells) for a gin and tonic. Definitely would recommend this option. The restaurant was generally a disappointment. The waiter was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear customer, Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your evening at Seagrass. Please note that we are BYOW restaurant and we have only set menus for early evening or then dinner menu. As it is advertised on the website. It is also adcertised that our early evening menu is available... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

I went to Seagrass with a few colleagues from work, a table had been reserved for us a few weeks in advance, so they knew that a group of 8 people was expected. We sat down at 12:30, ordered our meals from the lunch menu and waited for what seemed an eternity for our meals to arrive. The starters arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This little gem of a restaurant serves surprising delicious food in the fine dining style (but with much bigger portions) Not a huge menu, but great special deals at such good value. Added to which you can bring your own bottles and there is no corkage charge. the restaurant offers a very good selection of wines at competitive prices. Service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Seagrass Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Seagrass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrass Restaurant

Address: 30 South Richmond Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: Irish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 30 South Richmond Street, Dublin, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seagrass Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?