We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
30 South Richmond St, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #691 of 1,916 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    14
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

Just finished a really great meal in the Seagrass restaurant. I had provisionally reserved an area for my birthday in April but wanted to try it out before then and I have to say was pleasantly surprised especially given the poor reviews the restaurant had received recently. I had the lamb, my partner had the fish and we couldn't fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your very kind words, they are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you in April. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Tiny portions, rude serving staff and 72 euro with bring your own wine...not going back again. We left a ten euro tip even though it was undeserved and waitress still didn't say a word.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

I am terribly sorry to hear about your bad experience at Seagrass. As we care about our customers and their feedback very much I would like to ofer you and your friend dinner on the house if you are willing to give us another chance? We are trying to improve our services so I would like to also thank you... More 

Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Myself and four friends went to Seagrass at the height of the Christmas party season, and Seagrass was full of them, however, we also attended several other restaurants around the same time, and no others served the terrible pre-prepared muck that we got at Seagrass. It was the equivalent of a microwave ready meal, with mushy risotto for a starter,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedbeck. Christmas period is one of the busiest time of the year and as much as we try our best to please every single customer it does happen that we do not manage to do so. Our risottos are quiet popular and I have never heard before that they are mushy. Our risottos are... More 

Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Went here for Christmas party with work. As a vegetarian I found the 3 course menu disappointing, the two starters and the only main course all had cheese as an ingredient. I went for the starter of goats cheese salad which was 2 balls of cheese with little else followed by a small portion of blue chesse gnocchi served in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear customer, I am very sorry about your bad experience at Seagrass. We are usualy very flexible and ready to accommodate any special food alergies or vegetarians and vegans. We had many vegetarian customers over Christmas for who we prepared and extra options in advance if we were noted, but even on the night If you would have noted your... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I visited here with work colleagues last night. The food was ok, a bit minimalist, but tasty, however from start to finish we were treated badly by the waitress serving our table. On arriving, instead of being greeted, we were abruptly asked "who are you", followed by "wait there", when she figured out that we had a booking we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. We are trying to improve our services and we appriciate any comments which may help to do so. Christmas period is the busiest time of the year and all our customers are informed in advance of our 2 sittings and leaving time. Therefore it is very iportant that our customers arrive on time... More 

Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Ate here tonight with friends.Lovely staff and huge bonus you can bring your own wine but food a total let down.Firstly it was served on stone cold plates.A complete No No in my books.We sent back to get food transferred to warm plates.I ordered my steak medium to well done and had to send it back twice to get it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your bad experience at Seagrass. I would be greatful if you could give us another chance and accept dinner on the house? We cook everything to order and all our ingredeants, fish & meat are fresh. We are certainly trying ro keep high standards not lower... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We ate here recently for dinner and were so impressed by the standard. The taste and presentation were excellent and the restaurant has the added bonus of a bring your own wine policy. We went for the two courses for €27 set menu which I think was excellent value for money as it was top class. My only suggestion would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I always wanted to try the Seagrass rest and a family gathering gave me the chance. We were sitting downstairs and place was a bit noisy and a bit too warm, now the food I have to admit was good but not super, there were 9 of us at the table and all had his own starter, I had fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Seagrass do a great value set menu, and even allow you to BYO without corkage once you are having at least 2 courses, which really makes the meal affordable. The food is lovely, mostly classic dishes with an unusual twist. The staff are friendly and the setting relaxed. Definitiely one to try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Popped in last night for dinner and had a wonderful meal. 2 courses for €21, 3 for €25, and BYOB, can't fault the place. Excellent food, excellent service. The chicken liver paté starter was particularly delicious, and all portion sizes were generous. Looking forward to a return visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrass

Address: 30 South Richmond St, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: Irish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seagrass staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?