We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seagrass

#651 of 1,947 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
30 South Richmond St, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Today
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 120 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 59
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Very Good lunch

I met a friend today at the Seagrass Restaurant in Portobello today. I had a chicken main course which was delicious and really filled me up. Nice staff and good food left me happy and ready to face the rest of the day. I would recommend Seagrass for lunch or for an evening meal.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
Brian S
,
Dublin, Ireland
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

I met a friend today at the Seagrass Restaurant in Portobello today. I had a chicken main course which was delicious and really filled me up. Nice staff and good food left me happy and ready to face the rest of the day. I would recommend Seagrass for lunch or for an evening meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

Lovely food but most of all the staff were wonderful so kind and helpful. What more could you ask for. Quality of food was great too;

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Amazing food, quality service, well priced. So good I had to blog about the entire experience, start to finish! Read here: https://alittlebitofb.wordpress.com/2015/02/20/seagrass-restaurant-dublin-2/ So impressed, would recommend a thousand times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I have just been for dinner and I can highly recommended. the starters were so good,the main course "lamb" was delicious and the desert too. one of the best restaurants I've tried in Ireland. ill come back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dublin,ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Two starters and two mains - one of each was acceptable,one of each was not. We didn't have a reservation and hadn't heard any opinions about Seagrass but it looked busy so we decided to give it a try. The cajun chowder was good; however it's not a difficult dish to prepare. The other starter was a shocker - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015 via mobile

I found this restaurant by chance... It was close to my hotel, but what a gem. Really good food at a reasonable price. Nice and personal service and cosy atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your very kind words! They are much aprreciate it! We hope to see you soon again. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Just finished a really great meal in the Seagrass restaurant. I had provisionally reserved an area for my birthday in April but wanted to try it out before then and I have to say was pleasantly surprised especially given the poor reviews the restaurant had received recently. I had the lamb, my partner had the fish and we couldn't fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your very kind words, they are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you in April. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Tiny portions, rude serving staff and 72 euro with bring your own wine...not going back again. We left a ten euro tip even though it was undeserved and waitress still didn't say a word.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

I am terribly sorry to hear about your bad experience at Seagrass. As we care about our customers and their feedback very much I would like to ofer you and your friend dinner on the house if you are willing to give us another chance? We are trying to improve our services so I would like to also thank you... More 

Dublin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Myself and four friends went to Seagrass at the height of the Christmas party season, and Seagrass was full of them, however, we also attended several other restaurants around the same time, and no others served the terrible pre-prepared muck that we got at Seagrass. It was the equivalent of a microwave ready meal, with mushy risotto for a starter,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedbeck. Christmas period is one of the busiest time of the year and as much as we try our best to please every single customer it does happen that we do not manage to do so. Our risottos are quiet popular and I have never heard before that they are mushy. Our risottos are... More 

Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Went here for Christmas party with work. As a vegetarian I found the 3 course menu disappointing, the two starters and the only main course all had cheese as an ingredient. I went for the starter of goats cheese salad which was 2 balls of cheese with little else followed by a small portion of blue chesse gnocchi served in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear customer, I am very sorry about your bad experience at Seagrass. We are usualy very flexible and ready to accommodate any special food alergies or vegetarians and vegans. We had many vegetarian customers over Christmas for who we prepared and extra options in advance if we were noted, but even on the night If you would have noted your... More 

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 30 South Richmond St, Dublin, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seagrass staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?