We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Harbour Restaurant

Quay Street, Donegal Town 0000, Ireland
074 97 21702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $36
Cuisines: Irish, Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, The Harbour is an Award Winning Restaurant and Recent Winner of Best Casual Dining Restaurant in County Donegal, at The Irish Restaurant Awards.Specialising in the Freshest Donegal Seafood, Top Quality Irish Steak from our local butcher and Hand-Made Pizza straight from the oven and much more. The menu features many gluten free dishes.The Harbour is very popular with local people and visitors. Fully Licensed Bar. Chef Owners Jo Roarty and Debbie O'Reilly look forward to welcoming you to The Harbour.Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2102 and 2013
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    163
    66
    25
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

Dropped in this evening on spec, enjoyed the 3 course early bird menu which was very good value. The food was very good and plenty of it. The pizza was great. The staff were very good and friendly to our 3 year old. Good value, friendly staff, nice setting and good food. Would eat here again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

The Harbour is a go to for many locals, as it does everything well. It has a cosy dinning area downstairs, with a larger room suitable for larger groups or family get togethers. It also has a cosy wee bar tucked away upstairs, with Guinness on tap. The staff are very friendly and its great for kids too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Chewie192, Thank you very much for all your lovely compliments, they are very much appreciated by all the team and are delighted that you took the time to review us .Hope to see you again soon ... Regards Jo Debbie & all the Team More

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

The King Prawn appetizer was deliciously decadent with loads of garlic, butter and cheese gratin over the freshest of prawns. The only problem with the dish was that I shared it with my husband who doesn't always share fairly! We both ordered fish specials-the hake for me and the crumbed cod for my husband. They were both cooked to perfection.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi EllenWall Thank you very much for taking the time to give us an excellent review , we are delighted that you both enjoyed your evening with us and it was a pleasure meeting you both , I am so relieved that you and Dave came to an amicable resolution regarding the sticky toffee situation ..... We look forward to... More

Donegal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

We've been here a few times as people always talk about how good it is but I have to say I am never dazzled! Food is always good with out a doubt but it's quite pricey and service is really slow, takes ages to get food that is bar grub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear DonegalMaddie , While we welcome all reviews regardless of content , I myself am rather disappointed that of all the restaurants in Donegal or indeed Ireland we are the only one that you have ever chosen to review and then to give us a rather negative one , which asks the question are there personal reasons for doing so... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

Was having a nice road-trip to donegal from newtownards as had a day at toddsleap and visited here for dinner it was brilliant inside decorated lovely loved the lights behind sheer white curtains and wine bottles round the top upstairs food was stunning lovely steak and jackdaniels sauce staff couldn't be any better so polite and friendly only dissapointment was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited this restaurant with our Canadian relatives while touring Donegal. The restauramt was busy and had a lively stmosphere - always a good sign. Our relatives had the fish and chips, which they both praised as being delicious. My wife had the cod and mussels dish which they market as one of their signature dishes. It didn't disappoint, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear sandylindsay, Thank you very much for your recent 5 star review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your seafood with us. Our fish and chips are very popular, as indeed are our other seafood dishes. We endeavour to offer top quality meals with good value to the customer. We are very happy that you experienced those with us... More

Leicester, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This restaurant had come highly recommended. Service and ambience good but good was average. The steak was poor quality and the spicy steak noodles really rather poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ansteytraveller1, Thank you for your recent review which we welcome, good or bad. Firstly, we are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Secondly, we are also disappointed that you did not mention these issues to your server, when they checked your table or when paying at the cashier desk. We would have... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A lovely wee eaterie with simple but very tasty food. Don't expect cordon bleu, but don't expect to home hungry or disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear arthurpatrick, Thank you sincerely for your recent favourable review. We appreciate your kind comments about our tasty food. We are best known for our affordable casual dining with friendly service, for which we recently won an award for! Sincere thanks again. Kind Regards Jo, Debbie & Team More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Two of us totally different fish dishes and both were excellent. Cod, which was huge, and a haddock/salmon dish which was wonderful. Lovely place to eat and we will certainly go back there when visiting Donegal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tracy T, Thank you so much for your recent review and very kind words. Our chefs will be delighted to receive such high praise. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind Regards Jo, Debbie & Team More

Neptune, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We got to the restaurant late--probably close to 9:00--and there were seven of us. The wait staff was so gracious. They put together a bunch of tables so we could sit together. We ordered lots of food--which was delicious--and talked and laughed for nearly two hours. We never felt rushed or unwelcome. Thank you Harbour Restaurant. We will be sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DebbieOReilly, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Elaine Y, Thank you so much for your recent wonderful review. It means the world to us when people, like yourself take the time out to post about their experience. It was our pleasure to look after you and your group, delighted that you enjoyed and had a relaxing time. Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip!... More

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing