We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luigi Malones

$$
International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Lavitts Quay, Cork, Ireland
0214278877
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Luigi Malones serves delicious food from all around the world with...
Luigi Malones serves delicious food from all around the world with authentic presentation. It is a perfect place for all your dining requirements. Enjoy our friendly atmosphere in relaxing surrounding with menu to cater for every occasion. Large parties and kids welcome!
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Large groups

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 373 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 106
    Excellent
  • 117
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 50
    Poor
  • 41
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Yummy ribs

We had a table of nine for dinner and everyone was fed on time and all enjoyed their choices immensely. I was expecting a little more Italian considering the name but chose the ribs and they didn't disappoint. Generous portions left us all full.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
Sue L
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

We had a table of nine for dinner and everyone was fed on time and all enjoyed their choices immensely. I was expecting a little more Italian considering the name but chose the ribs and they didn't disappoint. Generous portions left us all full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear Sue L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am delighted that your party of 9 all enjoyed their evening. Here at Luigis we are happy to be able to accommodate both large groups and smaller more intimate dining experiences. Our famous "BBQ baby back Ribs" is one of our signature dishes... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

Heard a lot of hype from staff at the hotel we was staying at about Luigi's, i however found it pretty standard. The food was okay, the waitress was patronizing, and when stated the glass I got my cocktail served in had a crack the whole way around she just looked at me like an idiot, surely she would of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear Nicole W, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am happy to hear that we have such a good reputation and that we came recommended by your hotel. I am less than happy to hear that you were not impressed with the service you received. My sincerest apologies that your cocktail arrived to... More 

Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

We often have lunch here on shopping expeditions. They do a great lunchtime special that includes a glass of wine, a beer or a soft drink for E9.95. Luigi's never fails on atmosphere day or night. It is a huge space but well divided to allow for all types of dining from intimate to celebration to businesse. The food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naas, Ireland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I had pizza at Luigi Malone's and I was a bit disappointed. It wasn't all bad, but it was very hard to digest and not exactly authentic. The wine too wasn't the best, certainly not for the price. The service was good, with very helpful and friendly staff despite being very busy. It was the only redeeming feature. The decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear Maria7, Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us here at Luigi Malones. I am very disappointed to read that you were not happy with your pizza. We have always had wonderful feedback on our pizzas and have worked hard to perfect our recipes. All of our ingredients are freshly home made, including our own recipe... More 

Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

love this place ..staff are always friendly and food is excellent but could do with updating the menu. lunch menu is very good value and served upto 5pm

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear Colle C, We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and standard of service. Thank you also for your suggestion of updating our menu, we appreciate all feedback and are always open to suggestions. Our lunch menu is available Monday to Friday 12-5 pm and we also run an Early... More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Nice food, though nothing out of this world, the menu could be more imaginative to be honest. However it was tasty especially the apple crumble. Piña coladas delicious. Service was ok but they forgot to check back on us when we were eating. Lots of room for improvement

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Hello Irish L, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your meal overall and appreciate your feedback on our menu. I'm also delighted you had the opportunity to taste some of our delicious cocktails! Regarding your service; I do apologize you were not checked back on during your meal, it is a... More 

cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Sadly I admit defeat - the food is bland and needs updating. Average quality, average experience. The staff,however, seem lovely and very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Miss-delilah Thank you very much for taking the time review your recent visit to Luigi's. We welcome all feedback regarding each aspect of our restaurant and I thank you for suggestion to update our menu. Thank you also, for your compliments on our staff. I do hope you will reconsider and decide to visit us again soon, Kind regards, Luigi... More 

Ballina, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I have eaten in this restaurant previously and enjoyed the food .I had no hesitation in booking a post graduation dinner there.I had booked for 5 .30p.m. The conferring ceremonies were over earlier than I expected and we arrived in Luigis at 4.00p.m.I explained the situation to the manager/waiter and he escorted our party of seven adults and a seven... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear Dermot, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Luigi Malones. I am delighted you and your party enjoyed your meal and thank you for your compliments on both the food and service. Please allow me to explain the discretionary 10% service charge. It is standard practice in most restaurants nowadays to apply... More 

cork ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

The service in Luigi Malones was good and the staff very pleasant and polite. Unfortunately the food was really bad... starters were passable but I had Steak Fajitas for main course and apart from it not being sizzling hot (as served in other restaurants) the steak I found inedible. My husband had the Baked Salmon served with mashed potatoes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear FrancesAllan Thank you for your review about your recent visit to Luigi Malones. I am delighted you found our staff courteous and friendly but disappointed you did not enjoy your meal. Our fajitas are one of our signature dishes and I'm truly saddened to hear that it was not served sizzling and also that you didn't enjoy it. Please... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

2 of our party of 3 found a hair in their food. Had to tell the waiter twice before he apologised. Didn't offer a discount or replacement. Couldn't be bothered to make a fuss about it. Good location especially if going to the Opera House but this has put me off going back. Staff uninterested.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuigiMalones, General Manager at Luigi Malones, responded to this review

Dear SilverCompass, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Luigi Malones. I am shocked to read your comments and deeply disappointed by the attitude of your waiter. Any complaint or suggestions from our customers are taken very seriously and our procedure is that any issues that may arise during service be reported to management straight... More 

Travelers who viewed Luigi Malones also viewed

 

Been to Luigi Malones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lavitts Quay, Cork, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Cork
  • Phone Number: 0214278877

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 27
  • Cuisine: International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups

Description

Luigi Malones serves delicious food from all around the world with authentic presentation. It is a perfect place for all your dining requirements. Enjoy our friendly atmosphere in relaxing surrounding with menu to cater for every occasion. Large parties and kids welcome!
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Luigi Malones staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?