We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel

Village Street, PA76 6SJ, Scotland
01681 700334
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Scottish
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    40
    27
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
va
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The soup of the day was superb, the menu has meat and fish, but the chef seem to excel at using fresh vegetables grown in their own gardens just up from the hotel. Aubergines, parsnips, carrots, cauliflower are allowed to shine either as an accompaniment, soup du jour, or as the focus of some of the dishes. The fish (haddock)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It is always lovely to hear our guests appreciating the food and creativity behind it. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Delicious food. Perhaps a little expensive. Both food and drink cost as much as central London restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Hayley, and I am glad that you were so impressed with the food. More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were attracted by the hotel's large organic garden which borders the walk from the harbour to the Abbey but found the food to be nothing special. The Cullen Skink was quite tasty but the rest of the meal was not memorable. The view is good and the gardens are nice but the food is average

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a response. Without knowing what else you had it is difficult for us to improve. Everything is homemade including the bread, mayonnaise, fresh cooked ham and home cured gravalax to name but a few things. I hope that you gave some immediate feedback to the manager in charge. We are disappointed that you... More

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a perfect day in Iona, one of the most beautiful places we have ever been, we were looking forward to dinner at the Argyll Hotel. Sadly, it was indescribably horrible. The service was awful; we waited ages with no one taking a drinks order and after a reasonable starter, ages more while no one cleared our plates (had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Manager at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, We are sorry you had a disappointing meal with us. As I explained on the night your experience was not a true representation of what we do. At the time we were unaware the pork was over salted but as soon as it was bought to our attention we removed the dish from the menu and dealt with... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We Arrived on Iona around 1.45 pm, after a short walk decided to have a light lunch, stopped at Argyll hotel, they could only offer us soup of the day Cullen Skink at that time, we decided to have the soup, we were disappointed, the bowl was small, a little to much salt and the haddock was sitting on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate your taking time to write a review. Our soup is made in small batches so I must apologise that it did not come up to your expectations and our high standards on this occasion. I hope you gave us immediate feedback on this. The view is definitely wonderful on sunny days, and I am glad that the service... More

PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We decided that we would enjoy tea once during our trip and chose the Argyll Hotel. I was a wee bit disappointed that they did not have "high" tea with little sandwiches and all, but what we did have was delicious. I thought we would have scones and tea cake, but the waiter kindly suggested that just the scones might... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annie, you're right about the scones - you don't need cake with them as well! I'm pleased that you enjoyed the afternoon and our hospitality so much. More

Nelson, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The standard of food was a real surprise. Everything was delicious and had had a lot of thought and effort put into it. The wine list was also very good and the raspberry gin ans prosecco cocktail was to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that we were able to surpass your expectations. I do hope that you didn't die for the cocktails - I'd far rather that they were to live for! More

richmond, tx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice menu with interesting food combinations. Knowledgeable and pleasant staff able to answer our questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments. More

Los Angeles
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you are visiting the Isle for the day, this a great place for lunch. If you are spending the night, they serve an excellent dinner menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time to try dinner. More

Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Friendly but inattentive service. Very poor food. Soups were bland and watery. Sandwiches were not tasty . Langoustines were miniscule: three were supposed to be "a serving", pitifully small for the ridiculous price. Suggest bringing a packed lunch to Iona and enjoying it on your hike around the Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kacenka I am sorry that your experience of our food and service was so poor. I can only apologise for the service and trust that you spoke to the manager at the time about your complaint. More

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel also viewed

Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
 

Been to Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at The Argyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing