We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside Inn

Coffee Shop, European, Vegetarian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
A77 - Glasgow to Stranrear Road, Ayr, Scotland
Website
Add hours for The Riverside Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 24 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Horrible

Stopped for a break from driving. I ordered baked potato & chicken curry, the curry was bought in, not made on the premises, and not just stone cold - but chilled. I don't eat cold curry for anyone, and it certainly wasn't Coronation Chicken which is meant to be cold. I won't be back.

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 18, 2012
DivingFrog
,
Glasgow
via mobile
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maybole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

CLOSED for redevopment Purchased by Simkin iNN's Notice says opening in Autumn but no signs of life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very unpleasant inside needs a good refurb. Food was ok but overpriced. The service was ok not great. Staff were very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AYR UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having been fans of The Riverside Inn for many years before Simpsinns took over and dine at their Hollybush Inn regularly, we were looking forward to a nice relaxing Christmas Day meal, with good food. Unfortunately this was not so. The melon was so hard it was inedible, the soup very tasty, but served less than tepid, the beef, 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gill_campbell, General Manager at The Riverside Inn, responded to this review

Further to your recent visit to the Riverside on Christmas Day can I firstly apologise for the disappointing experience you had especially on a special family celebration day. Feedback on the day was generally very good, not only from the Riverside but also from our other restaurants where the same menu was being served with the food being supplied by... More 

Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a break from driving. I ordered baked potato & chicken curry, the curry was bought in, not made on the premises, and not just stone cold - but chilled. I don't eat cold curry for anyone, and it certainly wasn't Coronation Chicken which is meant to be cold. I won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Poppity ping poor show...microwave is the tools best friend in this establishment .... the only fresh substance is the tainted manure from the adjacent fields..all in all a poor dining experience as with all the ramshackled simpsinns barns

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gill_campbell, Guest Relations Manager at The Riverside Inn, responded to this review

As a privately owned company we always welcome feedback relating to our product as we have a passion to deliver good food and service in all of our restaurants in Ayrshire. However I do feel that your derogatory comments regarding our team have no merit as they are against individuals rather than the business and your experience. With a growing... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Whilst travelling from Ayr towards Maybole we stopped for lunch on impulse and were pleasantly surprised with the ambience, food and service so we decided to revisit for dinner. There was a comprehensive menu on offer with tow or three specials including Venison Sausage and Monkfish. We enjoyed two excellent 2 course meals with a lovely homemade Lemon Meringue Pie,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have dined at many other of their establishments decor at Riverside not to my taste appears quite tired and dull, service fine. Kids ordered cheesy garlic bread, no sign of any cheese, from lite bite menu mushrooms cold, beef and ale pie interesting presentation, fish and chips ok but people who had been before said portion sizes were smaller this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ayr Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visited this restaurant following its re-opening with new owners after it had closed down. We were booked for 7 pm but had to sit and wait until a table was available. We eventually sat down and ordered a bottle of wine the wrong bottle came and had to be replaced. One of us ordered the special Liver and Ayrshire Bacon,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
turnberry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Went as a foursome - food somewhere between basic pub grub and restaurant standard. Other persons food ok but not special. Mine on menu as sea bass on champ - but tiny bit of fish on plain mash - very disappointed. Surroundings rather tired and some tables cramped. Staff and service good. Prices a bit high for what you get.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Visited on 18th September. Food was mediocre and "CREAMY MASH" was definately powdered potato. On asking the waitress about this she assured us this was not the case as the potatoes were "made" every morning. We always enjoyed visiting this restaurant in the past and this was the first time since the takeover but we were very disappointed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Inn also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: A77 - Glasgow to Stranrear Road, Ayr, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Ayrshire  >  South Ayrshire  >  Ayr

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Coffee Shop, European, Vegetarian

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Riverside Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?