We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wheel Inn

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
37 Angus Road, Scone PH2 6RA, Scotland
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1...
A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1 mile from Perth and 2 miles from both Scone Palace and Perth Races. We have great offers for both locals and tourists alike and launched our new menu in September with more fresher, healthier dishes to choose from. Any National Trust of Scotland member or tickets holder for Scone Palace or Perth Races receive 20% off their food bill. Open from 10am, through until late 7 days a week. Food served:Monday to Thursday 12-3/5 8 Friday and Saturday 12-9 Sunday 12-8. Bar open from 11am until late 7 days per week.We have many facilities that are helpful to our customers,free parking, disabled access and toilet facilities, baby changing facilities, external play area, tables with DVD and Sky TV. We have a separate bar area with Sky Sports and 2 screens, tea/coffee and a selection of cakes served from 10am daily.Space available for private functions, birthdays, weddings, kids parties. Great offers on food where kids eat free with each dining adult eating from our main menu (Monday to Friday until 5pm) as well as our Dine Out menu where we have selected main courses from £5.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 119 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good food, relaxed atmosphere

A varied menu - a bit of US, British, Italian - nicely cooked, and sensible portions - a comfortable bar with good furniture (enough table space for all the plates) not crowded together and they took the dog too!

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 21, 2015
B A E B
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

A varied menu - a bit of US, British, Italian - nicely cooked, and sensible portions - a comfortable bar with good furniture (enough table space for all the plates) not crowded together and they took the dog too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us. Your custom is appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate any feedback either positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you again in the near future (with or without your dog) Once again thank you Regards Innes Wishart More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had come for a meal for Mother's Day, and we were extremely disappointed starters were bad chicken tempura 3 TINY bits of chicken with more than double the batter which was dripping with grease (£5.50), mushroom very poor flavour and the texture of tinned mushrooms on dry bread. mains, the chips were burned and very crispy, dessert a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent visit. We are very disappointed that you were unhappy with the quality of the food you received. Had you made us aware you were unhappy when we completed a check back we would have been more than happy to replace any dishes that were not... More 

Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I came here for lunch with my children and friend. The service was a bit of a shambles but the food was good. Okay for the price and the £1 kids deal is really good. It's a shame they took the indoor kids area away as we could really use one out this side of Perth. I will definitely return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of the food however we are concerned about your comments on the service aspect and we will contact you directly to request some more information. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Came here with family for a birthday celebration ( there was 14 of us!) we were seated promptly and our request for balloons and birthday banners was all set up for us!! service was efficient, the staff were fantastic ( putting up with us lot!) and food was on point! we were extremely happy that we never got rushed (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards Innes Wishart More 

Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Went out for a family meal..ordered chicken with plain new potatoes and got mash and roast..wait about 15 mins to be asked if we wanted any desserts..when we said yes we were asked if we wanted time to decide..service was slow and ataff were standing about talking

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry for the error with your potato's. This was simply down to human error from your server who misunderstood your request to change a dish and I believe we were able to rectify this promptly for you?. I would like to apologize that you found the... More 

Abernethy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Great menu and venue - The Wheel Inn, Scone! The staff were amazing, too. This unpretentious Inn really looks after its customers. We were told about it by our son, whose eight year old son ate a tasty first course and his favourite pudding for ONLY ONE POUND when his Dad took him there after football training one Sunday lunchtime... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us on Sunday and in particular the quality of the food. We have a new head chef as part of our team and its great to read such positive feedback on the food as well as our offers. Thanks again for coming and I will be sure to pass on your feedback... More 

Perth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We ate here for a family birthday celebration last week and all eight of us had a good experience the waitress was helpful.friendly and attentive, There were options for children and pensioners and all meals were served reasonably quickly. All the food was hot and plates were cleared so all in all it was good food and good value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. We are delighted you found the food and service to your liking. We have tried to improve the food as well as the service recently and have a new head chef in place which has helped improve the food quality. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The Wheel Inn seems to improve slightly with each visit. On St Valentine's evening, service was efficient and friendly. The food is at the upper end of the multiples, most of the standard dishes are well cooked and presented - except the steak pie which persists in being stew with a biscuit on top. In contrast, the fruit crumble was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again and experiencing the improvements we are trying to implement. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and will take on board the feedback you have given (Steak Pie) and pass it on to our menu design team. Once again thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the near... More 

Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Had a lovely lunch here today. Service was fab. Meal was delicious and well presented. The mushroom and goats cheese burger is one to try

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. We are delighted you enjoyed both the food and the service. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Innes Wishart More 

Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We like coming to the Wheel Inn now and again to get out of town and it's also family friendly which is a bonus. We've never been blown away by the food but it seems to really have gone down hill. In reality, it's not that hard to make nice pub food so how they get it so wrong is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your visit. I am delighted you found the service on your visit to a high standard however I am disappointed that some of your meals were not to the standard expected. Had we been made aware at the time we would have been more than happy to replace any dishes that were not to... More 

Travelers who viewed Wheel Inn also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 37 Angus Road, Scone PH2 6RA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Scone

Description

A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1 mile from Perth and 2 miles from both Scone Palace and Perth Races. We have great offers for both locals and tourists alike and launched our new menu in September with more fresher, healthier dishes to choose from. Any National Trust of Scotland member or tickets holder for Scone Palace or Perth Races receive 20% off their food bill. Open from 10am, through until late 7 days a week. Food served:Monday to Thursday 12-3/5 8 Friday and Saturday 12-9 Sunday 12-8. Bar open from 11am until late 7 days per week.We have many facilities that are helpful to our customers,free parking, disabled access and toilet facilities, baby changing facilities, external play area, tables with DVD and Sky TV. We have a separate bar area with Sky Sports and 2 screens, tea/coffee and a selection of cakes served from 10am daily.Space available for private functions, birthdays, weddings, kids parties. Great offers on food where kids eat free with each dining adult eating from our main menu (Monday to Friday until 5pm) as well as our Dine Out menu where we have selected main courses from £5.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wheel Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?