We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wheel Inn

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
37 Angus Road | Perth, Scone PH2 6RA, Scotland
+44 1738 551518
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1...
A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1 mile from Perth and 2 miles from both Scone Palace and Perth Races. We have great offers for both locals and tourists alike and launched our new menu in September with more fresher, healthier dishes to choose from. Any National Trust of Scotland member or tickets holder for Scone Palace or Perth Races receive 20% off their food bill. Open from 10am, through until late 7 days a week. Food served:Monday to Thursday 12-3/5 8 Friday and Saturday 12-9 Sunday 12-8. Bar open from 11am until late 7 days per week.We have many facilities that are helpful to our customers,free parking, disabled access and toilet facilities, baby changing facilities, external play area, tables with DVD and Sky TV. We have a separate bar area with Sky Sports and 2 screens, tea/coffee and a selection of cakes served from 10am daily.Space available for private functions, birthdays, weddings, kids parties. Great offers on food where kids eat free with each dining adult eating from our main menu (Monday to Friday until 5pm) as well as our Dine Out menu where we have selected main courses from £5.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 125 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 35
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Still improving, still room for improvement

The wheel inn seems to get better each time we visit, which is encouraging as it is only a few minutes walk for us. Service was initially very good, but as more customers arrived - lunchtime Bank Holiday Easter Monday - the few staff on duty soon came under pressure. It was the same an earlier... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 24, 2015
3xGrandit
,
Perth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 NEW

The wheel inn seems to get better each time we visit, which is encouraging as it is only a few minutes walk for us. Service was initially very good, but as more customers arrived - lunchtime Bank Holiday Easter Monday - the few staff on duty soon came under pressure. It was the same an earlier holiday when the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

I visited here with my friend and her partner and daughter on 21/04/2015 at approximately 7 pm and we thought we would sit outside as it was a lovely evening and the little one could play on the climbing frame. We asked for menus and we were greeted by VERY RUDE staff at the bar. We asked if we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your visit. As the manager of the Wheel Inn I find the service you received simply unacceptable. We deliver warm, friendly and helpful service and from your comments it is clear you received none of that and all I can do at this point is apologize. I will contact you directly on your feedback.... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Popped in here recently and have to say, value for money indeed. Great service by staff, menu was as you would expect, burger great and kids menu spot on. Absolutely a great place for a meal, especially with family, very kid friendly with a play park outside , fenced in for security. Good selection of drinks, tables clean, venue clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. Always nice to receive a review that covers all aspects of our business. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and found it value for money. Thanks for the feedback on the staff and you are correct with what you say, fast friends service is the least you should expect. Thanks once again for... More 

Guildtown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Just dropped in to the Wheel Inn for a quick and convenient meal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was good value for money and it struck me that their deals for children would attract a lot of families. Big restaurant with plenty of space and good choices on the menu. There is an outdoor play area for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards Innes Wishart Manager More 

Balbeggie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Went along on Sunday for their Family Day. Service was excellent and although the food took a while we were advised of this prior to ordering. Waiting was expected as it was very busy. Food on arrival was excellent and the service was friendly, helpful and efficient. We had the Pork Loin and a Sirlion Steak which were good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the delay you experience during your visit on Family Day and thank you for your understanding on this matter. As you know it was an exceptionally busy day but we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The food is average and plain.The Sevice is Rubbish.The food takes so long.The children's play area Is Terrible.Stay Away

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback. From your comments it is clear you did not enjoy your visit. We would be grateful if you could provide us with some information on your visit such as when you were in, time, dishes you had as well as any problems with the service. Any information would be grateful. You can contact me... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

A varied menu - a bit of US, British, Italian - nicely cooked, and sensible portions - a comfortable bar with good furniture (enough table space for all the plates) not crowded together and they took the dog too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us. Your custom is appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate any feedback either positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you again in the near future (with or without your dog) Once again thank you Regards Innes Wishart More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had come for a meal for Mother's Day, and we were extremely disappointed starters were bad chicken tempura 3 TINY bits of chicken with more than double the batter which was dripping with grease (£5.50), mushroom very poor flavour and the texture of tinned mushrooms on dry bread. mains, the chips were burned and very crispy, dessert a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent visit. We are very disappointed that you were unhappy with the quality of the food you received. Had you made us aware you were unhappy when we completed a check back we would have been more than happy to replace any dishes that were not... More 

Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I came here for lunch with my children and friend. The service was a bit of a shambles but the food was good. Okay for the price and the £1 kids deal is really good. It's a shame they took the indoor kids area away as we could really use one out this side of Perth. I will definitely return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of the food however we are concerned about your comments on the service aspect and we will contact you directly to request some more information. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Came here with family for a birthday celebration ( there was 14 of us!) we were seated promptly and our request for balloons and birthday banners was all set up for us!! service was efficient, the staff were fantastic ( putting up with us lot!) and food was on point! we were extremely happy that we never got rushed (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards Innes Wishart More 

Travelers who viewed Wheel Inn also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 37 Angus Road | Perth, Scone PH2 6RA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Scone
  • Phone Number: +44 1738 551518

Description

A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1 mile from Perth and 2 miles from both Scone Palace and Perth Races. We have great offers for both locals and tourists alike and launched our new menu in September with more fresher, healthier dishes to choose from. Any National Trust of Scotland member or tickets holder for Scone Palace or Perth Races receive 20% off their food bill. Open from 10am, through until late 7 days a week. Food served:Monday to Thursday 12-3/5 8 Friday and Saturday 12-9 Sunday 12-8. Bar open from 11am until late 7 days per week.We have many facilities that are helpful to our customers,free parking, disabled access and toilet facilities, baby changing facilities, external play area, tables with DVD and Sky TV. We have a separate bar area with Sky Sports and 2 screens, tea/coffee and a selection of cakes served from 10am daily.Space available for private functions, birthdays, weddings, kids parties. Great offers on food where kids eat free with each dining adult eating from our main menu (Monday to Friday until 5pm) as well as our Dine Out menu where we have selected main courses from £5.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wheel Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?