We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Scone Restaurants

Wheel Inn

37 Angus Road, Scone, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Scone
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family orientated bar and restaurant sited in the village of Scone, 1 mile from Perth and 2 miles from both Scone Palace and Perth Races. We have great offers for both locals and tourists alike and launched our new menu in September with more fresher, healthier dishes to choose from. Any National Trust of Scotland member or tickets holder for Scone Palace or Perth Races receive 20% off their food bill. Open from 10am, through until late 7 days a week. Food served:Monday to Thursday 12-3/5 8 Friday and Saturday 12-9 Sunday 12-8. Bar open from 11am until late 7 days per week.We have many facilities that are helpful to our customers,free parking, disabled access and toilet facilities, baby changing facilities, external play area, tables with DVD and Sky TV. We have a separate bar area with Sky Sports and 2 screens, tea/coffee and a selection of cakes served from 10am daily.Space available for private functions, birthdays, weddings, kids parties. Great offers on food where kids eat free with each dining adult eating from our main menu (Monday to Friday until 5pm) as well as our Dine Out menu where we have selected main courses from £5.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    20
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 NEW

I have had one of the best pub meals in this restaurant. The food was well cooked and well presented, they have a good varied menu. The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is any problem to them. The ambience is very nice and peaceful. After our meal we went through to the excellent bar where the prices were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 NEW

been here few times and allways good. cant complain about service staff excellent. we had starters and main courses. wife ordered crab dish and when it came first bite she could not even mouth it,the taste was terrible,but she quickliy ordered something eles and was served with that. the bit that cheesed me of is we were billed for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. I am delighted you enjoyed aspects of your visit however from your feed back I can see you were not happy with the crab linguine. I am glad we replaced it quickly and promptly for you however you should not have been charged for this dish and it should have been... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

This needs something between average and very good, particularly some of the food. We were very tired after a hard day at the office, so we reluctantly decided to go along the road to the Wheel Inn for something to eat. We were pleasantly surprised. The service was much more confident and competent than previously. Our shared veggie platter was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted the changes and improvements we have made meet with your approval and we hope to welcome you back to the Wheel Inn in the near future. Once again thank you for your commented and they will be fed back to all of our team. Kind... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Been a few times but last visit was very disappointing. The steak option litterally is only a steak not even a piece of garnish, so any salad or chips is an additional side order, a little deceiving. Why not just up the price couple of pounds and include these. Had chicken which was very under cooked (pink).I did complain about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your feedback on the steak will be passed on to our menu design team as I appreciate only paying for a steak then additional costs for sides is not to everyone's liking and you did not perceive it as value for money and I apologize for this. Regarding... More

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Went for a family meal here can not fault the food tasted amazing. But the portion sizes were very poor. The kids had more than I did felt like ordering another steak pie. Fab restaurant great for kids x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the children also had a good experience. I am sorry that the Steak Pie portion was to small. I will take note of this and look to review the portion size of this dish to avoid any further negative feedback as we always aim to deliver... More

Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We had dinner at the Wheel Inn last night and it was a mixed experience. The starters were excellent, although my partner's chicken goujons would have benefited from a salad garnish, not just 3 chicken pieces and a little pot of dip on a big plate. The problems came with the main course, I ordered the red snapper (at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy that enjoyed many aspects of your visit however we are sorry that the Red Snapper was over cooked for your liking. I am pleased we dealt with it quickly and promptly however we apologize that it resulted in you and your partner eating separately. Your... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Went here for a quick lunch whilst shopping in scone. Food was ok as far as frozen food goes. Presentation was quirky which the kids loved. Staff were great. Maybe abit overpriced for lunch would be my only real critisism.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Also thank you for your comments on the menu. We offer a blend of fresh and a few frozen dishes on the menu however we do try to sell towards the fresher dishes we offer. We will feed your feedback back... More

Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Arrived for dinner and felt very welcomed. The staff were great, they checked up on us and were very attentive to our needs. The food was average, but we enjoyed ourselves still.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the friendly service from our team during your visit. I am sorry that the food perhaps wasn't as good as it could have been. To allow us to improve our offer can you advise what dishes you had? Any more details would be great... More

Dereham, Norfolk
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Looks a decent place from outside, but ... Called just after 7pm to be told that one chef hadn't turned up and a party of 17 had just come in - 45 mins minimum wait. I was hungry so left to find somewhere else. There were no other food places open that evening in Scone so had to go back.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent. Firstly I would like to apologize for not being able to serve you promptly when you arrived at 7pm. The team rightly advised you of the possible delay, due to being down 50% of our kitchen team, as we appreciate not all customers are happy to wait and I understand that you... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

as we live not far from the wheel inn its handy for us food is good prices ok new menu out will have to try soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheelinn, Manager at Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Thanks you for your recent kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoy the Wheel Inn. We have a new menu that we will be launching so please keep an eye out on our facebook page for details of the launch. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Innes Wishart More

Travelers who viewed Wheel Inn also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheel Inn

Address: 37 Angus Road, Scone, Scotland
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Scone
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing