We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 St Johns Place, Perth PH1 5SZ, Scotland
+44 1738 626673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 173 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open from 9am-Late 7 days, Summers is Family owned and serves Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, High Tea and Pre Theatre. We pride ourselves on offering hearty Scottish fare in comfortable surroundings with efficent and friendly service.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    52
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Nice surroundings. Great coffee and best home made pancakes any where. Very pleasant and highly efficient staff. Go here at least once a week. In an area of restaurants and cafes by far the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

Helen p, Thanks for your great review of Summers, I have shared it with all the team, who look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Alec More 

Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I'm sorry but poor service let you down badly. We may have taken staff by surprise by four of us trying to join our two friends - your staff had been advised though. We could easily have fitted around their table for four, two becomes six - what an opportunity to get some more business. We were met with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We were on our way home after a visit to The Kelpies and as time was wearing on we were struggling to think of a place to stop for High Tea. I consulted Google and this place came up. I must admit I was a bit apprehensive when we walked in as there were only a couple of diners if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

Arbroathlassie_12, Thanks for your review of Summers, We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Perth. Regards, Alec More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Good british fare at reasonable prices. Have some good offers. Good service. Decor etc makes it feel more like a cafe than a restaurant. Could do with a bit of a facelift

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Speedy service, food very good, plenty of it. Very relaxing and comfortable. Have been quite a few times and always enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stopped in here before a concert. We were taken in by the 2 steak dinners for 19.95 and really wished we had kept walking. Mussel starter was average and partner complained that batter on gougons was too thick ('like you get on a sausage supper" she said). Steak dinner though the real low point. I asked for rare and closer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

Brian C, It is unusual for us to receive a review which is so negative, our 'Steak Saturday' offer has been a very popular one and I would wish you to assure you that the steaks used are of a very good quality. It is dissapointing that you did not feel able to speak to the staff on shift during... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Went for lunch and we were not enamoured by the choice on the lunch menu or the kids choices! We had a sandwich in the end which for the price, nearly £6 came with no chips or crisps! The sandwich was also ruined by the taste of too much cheap butter, disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

Walkeralyt, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Our lunch menu is vast and it is suprising you struggled to find something that you wished, if you had spoken to the staff regarding this I would have happily cooked you something more to your taste. I have taken on board your feedback regarding pricing, and will look... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

My husband and I had lunch at this restaurant today and it doesn't seem to be the same place described by previous reviewers. The pictures online are flattering and definitely don't show the filthy net curtain hanging up at the back. The decor has been done on an economy budget. The chandelier above the bar was hanging by its wires... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

janbro21, The team at Summers were dissapointed to read your review, I understand that the decor may not suit all tastes, in regards to the food, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your soup, the feedback regarding the coffee is most unusual but I will look into why this happened. We serve open sandwiches and it is true that some... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Two starving Scots, Nikki on holiday from Western Australia, and her Grandad - me! (Nikki worked here under a previous owner.) Being canny Scots, we opted for the 2-for-1 offer on a baked tattie. WOW! What a plateful! And not lacking in taste. Grandad (middle name 'Gannet') polished off the lot, but Nikki was stuck. Excellent coffee and fast, impeccable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

Jimmy S, Thanks for the feedback pertaining to your recent visit, Your advice regarding the sign has been acted upon and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Alec Summers More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I visited this amazing place sun morning for breakfast after being turned away from elsewhere. Myself , my partner and 2 children were starving and not left dissapointed. The adults had 2 massive cooked breakfasts and everything on the plate was very fresh and high quality produce we ate every bit . The kids didnt want breakfast so had toasties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review

catriona m, Thanks for your wonderful review of Summers, it is excellent to read your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Regards, Alec Summers More 

Travelers who viewed Summers also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Summers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summers

Address: 16 St Johns Place, Perth PH1 5SZ, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1738 626673
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Perth
Average Prices: USD 8 - 28
Cuisine: Scottish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Summers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?