We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gavin's Bistro

22 - 30 County Place | New County Hotel, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
01738 623355
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 170 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $5 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Gavin’s Bistro & Bar...Superb bistro dining in Perth. Scottish Food Pub of the Year, Gavin’s Bistro Bar perfectly compliments our Opus One Restaurant, presenting fresh and local options at more affordable prices and in an informal setting. From tasty light bites to three-course meals, Gavin’s Bistro offers fresh and bright surroundings within which to eat, drink and socialise. With two courses from just £9.95, eating out at Gavin’s is within anyone’s price range and an extra ‘specials’ board is also on offer, giving a flavour of the type of tantalising cuisine on offer in our award-winning Opus One Restaurant. Coffee with friends? A wide choice of Brodie’s coffees, Cappuccino, latte, etc, delicious home-made scones or muffins are available. Also pre-dinner nibbles, such as bread and olives, or an ever-changing choice of fresh sandwiches ... either way, Gavin’s Bistro and the adjoining Cafe 22 can satisfy the full spectrum of appetites.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Gavin’s Bistro & Bar...Superb bistro dining in Perth. Scottish Food Pub of the Year, Gavin’s Bistro Bar perfectly compliments our Opus One Restaurant, presenting fresh and local options at more affordable prices and in an informal setting. From tasty light bites to three-course meals, Gavin’s Bistro offers fresh and bright surroundings within which to eat, drink and socialise. With two courses from just £9.95, eating out at Gavin’s is within anyone’s price range and an extra ‘specials’ board is also on offer, giving a flavour of the type of tantalising cuisine on offer in our award-winning Opus One Restaurant. Coffee with friends? A wide choice of Brodie’s coffees, Cappuccino, latte, etc, delicious home-made scones or muffins are available. Also pre-dinner nibbles, such as bread and olives, or an ever-changing choice of fresh sandwiches ... either way, Gavin’s Bistro and the adjoining Cafe 22 can satisfy the full spectrum of appetites.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We ate here whilst staying at the New County Hotel,the menu was very good. I can recommend the Haggis,neeps & tatties as a starter and the beef casserole as a main dish. All served in reasonable time and very tasty.We would eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

I am Delighted you enjoyed your evening meal in Gavin’s Bistro and your comments will be passed to the whole team. I hope it’s not too long before you are able to visit us again. Simon Operations Manager More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were staying at the hotel, and had a lovely evening meal. The menu has the usual burgers, fish and chips, but i had the pork loin on mashed potato and black pudding. My wife had the salmon, and we both enjoyed them very much. The meals were served by a very nice young man, who kept asking if everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on your recent visit. Feedback from our guests is important as we are continually trying to improve our customer service.We were delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and fond the level of service very good from all the staff. We look forward to seeing you back at The New... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Title says it all really, shockingly slow service, expensive and not particularly nice, never cleared the main course crockery and was never asked if I wanted anything else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post the review. I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that you contact me directly either by e mail or phone to discuss in details for the (shocking ) service... More

UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Despite being warned (very nicely) that I might have to wait a bit, as I had no reservation, the service was impressively swift, and the food delicious! Great pate, excellent local pork and leek sausages, accompanied by a lovely glass of Chilean Merlot. Full marks to the Scotrail employee at Perth Station who recommended it, and full marks to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, the remarks about the food and service are very highly appreciated.I absolutely delighted the staff looked after you so well. I look forward to welcoming you back to Gavin’s Bistro in the future or Maybe next time trying our Opus One restaurant. Simon Operations Manager More

paisley-scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The food was excellent and affordable with specials available. Great pleasant service. A good variety of food was on offer. The Bistro was clean and had a feel good factor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, I really appreciate all the remarks about the food you had in Gavin's Bistro, I hope it is not too long before your next visit. Simon Operations Manager More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

So disappointing to be served a malt whisky in what looked like a bathroom tumbler. Service was lacking customer focus, more interested in cleaning up than serving customer. Bar manager dropped change into my hand without comment or even looking at me and acknowledging me. Stayed for one drink and left. Bar looked dated a tired with dirty ceiling and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We got a meal through a hotel deal, and we enjoyed it enough to go back the following evening. The bistro was bright and clean, the menu really suited us (not wanting something as fancy as Opus) and the waiting staff lovely and helpful. The steaks were really nice and cooked as we wanted (slight changes were not a problem),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments that you have given our Bistro and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us as we always pride ourselves on going the extra mile for the customers. I have passed on your comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future Simon Operations Manager More

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Went in here after looking for somewhere different to eat in perth area that was convenient for traveling. All looked promising. Menu is good (slightly upmarket pub grub) and the place is advertised well and promises much. What was to happen inside was simply bizarre... Went in at 7pm on Saturday night (12th April) and it as pretty much dead.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this situation to my attention. Although it is always nice to hear praise about our service when our efforts meet or go beyond the guests expectations, it is just as important for us to know when we do not deliver to our guests expectations. We are always very busy on Saturday nights with bookings for Bar/Bistro... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Chose this bistro instead of the 'fine dining' Opus restaurant. We were directed to our table and had to wait some time for cutlery and menus. Starters of smoked salmon and prawns and haggis, neeps and tatties. They were good without being outstanding. Good sized portions. Mains of fish and chips were very disappointing. The batter was too thick and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

See my review of the Opus One restaurant at the same hotel. The same applies here. We'd eat there again certainly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Gavin's Bistro also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Gavin's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gavin's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing