We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gavin's Bistro

22 - 30 County Place | New County Hotel, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
01738 623355
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 170 restaurants in Perth
Price range: $5 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Gavin’s Bistro & Bar...Superb bistro dining in Perth. Scottish Food Pub of the Year, Gavin’s Bistro Bar perfectly compliments our Opus One Restaurant, presenting fresh and local options at more affordable prices and in an informal setting. From tasty light bites to three-course meals, Gavin’s Bistro offers fresh and bright surroundings within which to eat, drink and socialise. With two courses from just £9.95, eating out at Gavin’s is within anyone’s price range and an extra ‘specials’ board is also on offer, giving a flavour of the type of tantalising cuisine on offer in our award-winning Opus One Restaurant. Coffee with friends? A wide choice of Brodie’s coffees, Cappuccino, latte, etc, delicious home-made scones or muffins are available. Also pre-dinner nibbles, such as bread and olives, or an ever-changing choice of fresh sandwiches ... either way, Gavin’s Bistro and the adjoining Cafe 22 can satisfy the full spectrum of appetites.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Gavin’s Bistro & Bar...Superb bistro dining in Perth. Scottish Food Pub of the Year, Gavin’s Bistro Bar perfectly compliments our Opus One Restaurant, presenting fresh and local options at more affordable prices and in an informal setting. From tasty light bites to three-course meals, Gavin’s Bistro offers fresh and bright surroundings within which to eat, drink and socialise. With two courses from just £9.95, eating out at Gavin’s is within anyone’s price range and an extra ‘specials’ board is also on offer, giving a flavour of the type of tantalising cuisine on offer in our award-winning Opus One Restaurant. Coffee with friends? A wide choice of Brodie’s coffees, Cappuccino, latte, etc, delicious home-made scones or muffins are available. Also pre-dinner nibbles, such as bread and olives, or an ever-changing choice of fresh sandwiches ... either way, Gavin’s Bistro and the adjoining Cafe 22 can satisfy the full spectrum of appetites.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    21
    9
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Despite being warned (very nicely) that I might have to wait a bit, as I had no reservation, the service was impressively swift, and the food delicious! Great pate, excellent local pork and leek sausages, accompanied by a lovely glass of Chilean Merlot. Full marks to the Scotrail employee at Perth Station who recommended it, and full marks to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, the remarks about the food and service are very highly appreciated.I absolutely delighted the staff looked after you so well. I look forward to welcoming you back to Gavin’s Bistro in the future or Maybe next time trying our Opus One restaurant. Simon Operations Manager More

paisley-scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The food was excellent and affordable with specials available. Great pleasant service. A good variety of food was on offer. The Bistro was clean and had a feel good factor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, I really appreciate all the remarks about the food you had in Gavin's Bistro, I hope it is not too long before your next visit. Simon Operations Manager More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

So disappointing to be served a malt whisky in what looked like a bathroom tumbler. Service was lacking customer focus, more interested in cleaning up than serving customer. Bar manager dropped change into my hand without comment or even looking at me and acknowledging me. Stayed for one drink and left. Bar looked dated a tired with dirty ceiling and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We got a meal through a hotel deal, and we enjoyed it enough to go back the following evening. The bistro was bright and clean, the menu really suited us (not wanting something as fancy as Opus) and the waiting staff lovely and helpful. The steaks were really nice and cooked as we wanted (slight changes were not a problem),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments that you have given our Bistro and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us as we always pride ourselves on going the extra mile for the customers. I have passed on your comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future Simon Operations Manager More

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Went in here after looking for somewhere different to eat in perth area that was convenient for traveling. All looked promising. Menu is good (slightly upmarket pub grub) and the place is advertised well and promises much. What was to happen inside was simply bizarre... Went in at 7pm on Saturday night (12th April) and it as pretty much dead.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Operations M, Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this situation to my attention. Although it is always nice to hear praise about our service when our efforts meet or go beyond the guests expectations, it is just as important for us to know when we do not deliver to our guests expectations. We are always very busy on Saturday nights with bookings for Bar/Bistro... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Chose this bistro instead of the 'fine dining' Opus restaurant. We were directed to our table and had to wait some time for cutlery and menus. Starters of smoked salmon and prawns and haggis, neeps and tatties. They were good without being outstanding. Good sized portions. Mains of fish and chips were very disappointing. The batter was too thick and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

See my review of the Opus One restaurant at the same hotel. The same applies here. We'd eat there again certainly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a great lunch at Gavin's Bistro with friends from USA. The food was first class as was the service. The dining room was quiet but that was a bonus as we did a lot of talking and catching up. Haven't tried the main restaurant yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post such a review. We are grateful for all the feedback provided and value your views.I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Jalal & New County Team More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We attempted to attend Gavin's Bistro on two consecutive nights and was extremely disappointed by both attempts. The first night we arrived and he took ages to look up from the bar and to even ask us what we wanted. There were empty tables and apparently a couple waiting and that there would be a twenty minute wait. We therefore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Gavin's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing trip advisor for your review.  Though it is always nice to hear praises about our food and service and when our efforts in guest service meet or go beyond a guest’s expectations, it is just as important for us to know when we have not. I Imuch appreciate you bringing this incident to my attention. Our... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We went in at about 7pm and restaurant was almost empty. Asked by waiter if we had a reservation which we had not, but commented as it empty was it a problem - he would have to ask chef, we were told we had to order straight away as they were fully booked, which we did. 30 minutes later it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Gavin's Bistro also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross

Been to Gavin's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gavin's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing