We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Havelock House Hotel Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Crescent Road, Nairn, Scotland
Add hours for Havelock House Hotel Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 54 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Nice food, grotty decor.

We were recommended to eat here by a colleague , and at 1st glance nearly didn't. We gave it a go. We were greeted by a friendly lady behind the bar, drinks given a left to chose our meals. They were doing a steak special, which I ordered (£9.95) and my friend ordered a chilli. Was asked if I... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 20, 2015
pauljbManchester
,
manchester
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were recommended to eat here by a colleague , and at 1st glance nearly didn't. We gave it a go. We were greeted by a friendly lady behind the bar, drinks given a left to chose our meals. They were doing a steak special, which I ordered (£9.95) and my friend ordered a chilli. Was asked if I wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brummy in Brum UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I visited here whilst I was on holiday in Cawdor. We were looking for a dog friendly pub so that the whole extended family could go out for a meal. There was 8 people in our party age ranging from 12 to 79. We all have very enjoyable meals. The service was also very good. I would have no hesitation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Langholm UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very average food and certainly didn't live up to the review in the local travel guide. Limited menu, overcooked main-dishes and greasy deep-fries

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ate here on our second night after a recommendation from a local and were a bit reluctant to go in on first impression. However, we were glad we did. Although the pub side looks a bit rough and ready, the bar staff were friendly and welcoming. The food came fairly quickly and plenty of it and very tasty. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We often call in for foods here when we are in Narin and is something we look fwd to on our visits here. But we were very disappointed in the food. Balmoral chicken was supposed to come in a whiskey pepper sauce but arrived in a white liquid that had no flavour! We asked if it was supposed to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndyHavelockowner, Owner at Havelock House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your last visit with us. Your comments have been passed on to the Chef's and in future we will try harder to please. More 

Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When arriving at the havelock, we were instantly Made to feel welcome- having booked a table, it was instantly ready for us to sit down. There was a pleasant atmosphere as there was a mixture of people in the bar. When the food arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the portion sizes-they were massive! Overall it was a great evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food quality was very poor! Curry was like soup and steak pie was NOT home made was like out a tin very horrible! Floor was so dirty we had to wipe our feet on the way out! Toilets were horrible, you would rather use the woods!! Never come back worse experience ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I ordered southern fried chicken which I expected to be coated in crunchy herby breadcrumbs. Instead I received a huge plate of fish batter wish some small pieces of chicken instead. The batter was undercooked and soggy and there was not a trace of herbs or spices. The dish did not come with potatoes and chips so had to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

After suffering a dreadful experience at the Caledonian Bar in the high street this was recommended to me by a local. Excellent choice of food, excellent staff, very friendly locals, very fast service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a family meal here recently. Steaks were so tender, big portions, atmosphere was good and staff friendly... Will defiantly be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndyHavelockowner, Owner at Havelock House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for your comment. I'm glad you had an enjoyable time with us. More 

Travelers who viewed Havelock House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Havelock House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crescent Road, Nairn, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Nairn

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Havelock House Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?