We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Nairn Restaurants

Havelock House Hotel Restaurant

Crescent Road, Nairn, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 35 Restaurants in Nairn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    4
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langholm UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very average food and certainly didn't live up to the review in the local travel guide. Limited menu, overcooked main-dishes and greasy deep-fries

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent food, great service, highly recommended. After a week in Nairn this was the best pub and restaurant compared with the other horrible places and people in this town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ate here on our second night after a recommendation from a local and were a bit reluctant to go in on first impression. However, we were glad we did. Although the pub side looks a bit rough and ready, the bar staff were friendly and welcoming. The food came fairly quickly and plenty of it and very tasty. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We often call in for foods here when we are in Narin and is something we look fwd to on our visits here. But we were very disappointed in the food. Balmoral chicken was supposed to come in a whiskey pepper sauce but arrived in a white liquid that had no flavour! We asked if it was supposed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndyHavelockowner, Owner at Havelock House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your last visit with us. Your comments have been passed on to the Chef's and in future we will try harder to please. More

Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

When arriving at the havelock, we were instantly Made to feel welcome- having booked a table, it was instantly ready for us to sit down. There was a pleasant atmosphere as there was a mixture of people in the bar. When the food arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the portion sizes-they were massive! Overall it was a great evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food quality was very poor! Curry was like soup and steak pie was NOT home made was like out a tin very horrible! Floor was so dirty we had to wipe our feet on the way out! Toilets were horrible, you would rather use the woods!! Never come back worse experience ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I ordered southern fried chicken which I expected to be coated in crunchy herby breadcrumbs. Instead I received a huge plate of fish batter wish some small pieces of chicken instead. The batter was undercooked and soggy and there was not a trace of herbs or spices. The dish did not come with potatoes and chips so had to pay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

After suffering a dreadful experience at the Caledonian Bar in the high street this was recommended to me by a local. Excellent choice of food, excellent staff, very friendly locals, very fast service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a family meal here recently. Steaks were so tender, big portions, atmosphere was good and staff friendly... Will defiantly be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndyHavelockowner, Owner at Havelock House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for your comment. I'm glad you had an enjoyable time with us. More

Nairn
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went with my son for lunch and had steaks which were like rubber. The atmosphere was awful and staff did not speak to customers- they don't care. The manageress walked through the restaurant to go outside, didn't look at anyone, nor did she check that customers were happy with meals - a dreadful place but sadly in a popular... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndyHavelockowner, Owner at Havelock House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm disappointed to read your review. We apologise to you both that you didn't enjoy your experience or steaks during our busy summer period. Your comments have been noted and rectified with the staff More

Travelers who viewed Havelock House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Havelock House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing