We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hector's 2 Go

Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AB, Scotland
01599 530169
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fast Food
Most recent review
- Jan 9, 2013
Restaurant details
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    9
    10
    2
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had some lovely thin crust pizzas on our return visit to Hector's whilst on holiday in the area at Christmas. Cooked to perfection and brilliant value as they were running a winter promotion of buy one get one half price! Even better they threw in a free bottle of coke as we spent over £20! Just as good as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stopped in at this chippy before hitting the road home. I have never been a big fan of the traditional fish and chips but my hubby tells me his fish was yummy. I always go for the haggis or black pudding when i'm getting chip shop grub so, being in the highlands, i decided to give... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mhairi M, Owner at Hector's 2 Go, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Hector's 2 Go. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and in particular our haggis supper! All our meals are cooked fresh to order, which would explain your short delay but we think the food tastes better when it has been freshly cooked and our customers seem to agree. The chilli... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On the way home from Skye we decided to stop in for a fish supper before the 4 hour journey home to Glasgow. As I hoped, the fish was cooked freshly to order accompanied by a mountain of freshly cooked chips to soak up the lashings of vinegar and salt which compliments this classic so well. The haddock was tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The scampi and chips that I had were really nice. Everything was cooked fresh for us and the staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mhairi M, Owner at Hector's 2 Go, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We are delighted that you enjoyed our scampi and chips. We always cook our food to order to make sure it is as fresh as possible and our glad you liked this along with our friendly staff. We hope you will visit us again if you are in the area... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant chippy close to the water. We got our food and wandered down to the loch front and it was just perfect. Lovely light batter and the perfect chippy chips! Service a wee bit slow but it was very busy so can't let that be held against them. We shall be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This review is for their take-away food outlet round the corner 'Hectors 2 go'. If you must have a fish n chips or a chicken kebab then avoid this joint - My wife couldn't eat her fish as it was chewy and definitely NOT fresh, my chicken kebab was basically the worst I've EVER tasted, and we paid £11.40 for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mhairi M, Owner at Hector's 2 Go, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We are sorry that you clearly did not enjoy our food. During the peak tourist season our hard working staff serve many hundreds of customers daily and for the vast majority we get things right. However we are human, mistakes happen and on this occasion we clearly did not get... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After visiting the sister cafe last year ( The Bothy)we decided to pop in for a baguette and the hubby got fish and chips. The baguette was well filled and the bread was fresh. The fish and chips were proper good scottish grub! We haven't been let down yet! Keep up the good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Four families on our last night in the highlands decided to just go for a cheap takeaway as we had eaten out quite a bit. We ordered just about everything, with some Fish and chips, some Kebab's, the Bacon and Cheeseburgers, a Pizza, we spent a small fortune, around £65. I can't begin to describe the chips. They were white!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mhairi M, Owner at Hector's 2 Go, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As a business which does take pride in what we sell and wants all our customers to be happy with the service and food we provide we were of course very disappointed to receive your comments first on the phone and now by the review. However as you are... More

Falkirk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Not sure if the last reviewer just caught them on a bad day but I can't complain about the food or service any time I have visited Hector's 2 Go since it opened last year. I like the fact everything is cooked fresh and not left lying about like our local shop at home. Good quality food and very fair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Probably one of the worst fish and chips i've ever had. We went at Saturday lunch time at 1pm before catching our train - they had nothing ready bar what looked like last nights sausages under the hot lamp but we thought at least we'd get a nice fresh meal. What we received was the greasiest batter and worst chips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mhairi M, Owner at Hector's 2 Go, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Disappointed as we are with the feedback we appreciate your honesty as only through feedback such as yours can we ensure that we continually improve the service we offer to our customers. We dont, as policy, have food cooked and lying around in heat boxes. These storage areas on fryers... More

Travelers who viewed Hector's 2 Go also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Hector's 2 Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hector's 2 Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing