We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crannog Seafood Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Town Pier, Fort William PH33 6DB, Scotland
+44 1397 705589
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Stunning loch views, freshly caught local seafood and a glass of wine in a...
Stunning loch views, freshly caught local seafood and a glass of wine in a warm and cosy atmosphere - it's the perfect recipe for relaxing after you've had an enjoyable day exploring the Highlands. If you enjoy the finer things in life, you'll love Crannog.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 885 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 484
    Excellent
  • 243
    Very good
  • 108
    Average
  • 34
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Any closer to the water and your feet would be wet!

We chose this restaurant for our dinner when overnighting in Fort William. On a chill winter's night it was cosy and welcoming. The food also lived up to our expectations, from the reviews we had read. We were pleasantly surprised to see the restaurant filling with eager eaters on a week night in... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
AussiesBallarat
,
Ballarat, Australia
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

885 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

We chose this restaurant for our dinner when overnighting in Fort William. On a chill winter's night it was cosy and welcoming. The food also lived up to our expectations, from the reviews we had read. We were pleasantly surprised to see the restaurant filling with eager eaters on a week night in winter in a smallish town, so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

Really lovely atmosphere. Warm welcome. Lots of choice on "specials board" A bit pricey. Food very good, it came well within 20 mins advised on menu. Only complaint was the dish I ordered was described as halibut served on a spinach and smoked haddock risotto. This was no risotto! Definitely not arborio rice, more long grain. Disappointed as the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great little place on a stunning seafront location. The menu was extensive with a great range of fresh seafood. Service from our friendly waiter was faultless didn't wait long at all for our meal leaving full and happy x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Delighted and suitably stuffed with a fabulous meal at this restaurant. We were greeted with a warm welcome and the service was excellent. Our waitress could not have been more helpful. Fish cakes from the specials and two types of smoked salmon were picked as the starters. We were very impressed. Light

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swinhoe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were tempted in on a very wet afternoon by their lunchtime 2 or 3 course special. Our food quickly arrived and both the cullen skink and flaked salmon pate starters were lovely. Plenty of meaty flakes of fish in both. Chef prepared a mid sized moules marrinere as they had ran out of the mussel and clam dish on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We ordered the (huge) seafood platter, and it did not dissapoint. The mussels arrived in off the boat whilst we were eating our starters, so it doesn't get fresher than that. Great service, lovely atmosphere, fantastic food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Bad service l never have in my life ..blond short hair waitress always stand in the counter very rude attitude and not friendly come to our table told my friend turn off the phone when he use it ..she say is not fun also disturb to next table..we know how to respect to people also we are working in 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrannogFortWilliam, Marketing Coordinator at Crannog Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Crannog Restaurant. We’re sorry that you feel disappointed by the service received. We try to ensure that the use of mobile devices is kept to a minimum whilst dining at Crannog because we take a lot of care in choosing the right music and lighting to create the perfect... More 

Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We really enjoyed the good food, the excellent view and the service. It´s right next to where the Crannog cruise trips start, so it was perfect for a lunch after at trip on the fjord. Wish to come back for dinner one time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenwell Point, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Our party of eight intrepid trans-Scotland walkers enjoyed a very fine night at the Crannog Restaurant, which is magnificently located right on the water at Fort William. The restaurant is located in a delightful but quirky old building. There are lovely water views, and our party enjoyed the spectacle of the various boats which sailed past. We all agreed that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

On a visit to the Fort to see the family took them all here for lunch. It was a good choice the food is wholesome and the 2 or 3 course lunch menu are a reasonable price. Also the views over the loch are really good and the decor reasonable, the chairs could be more comfortable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Crannog Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Crannog Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Town Pier, Fort William PH33 6DB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William
  • Phone Number: +44 1397 705589

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 39 - 49
  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Stunning loch views, freshly caught local seafood and a glass of wine in a warm and cosy atmosphere - it's the perfect recipe for relaxing after you've had an enjoyable day exploring the Highlands. If you enjoy the finer things in life, you'll love Crannog.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crannog Seafood Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?