We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pierhead Takeaway

$$
Fish & Chips, Pizza, British, Turkish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Station Square, Fort William, Scotland
+44 1397 704666
Add hours for Pierhead Takeaway and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 13 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
shame its not open for dinner

we found this takeaway on a walk about on our first day but it was closed until 4pm however we called again on the next evening and was by no way disappointed i was a little dubious on what to expect having read a disappointing review by someone who obvs has no idea on how a takeaway should look... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 11, 2015
sarah w
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

we found this takeaway on a walk about on our first day but it was closed until 4pm however we called again on the next evening and was by no way disappointed i was a little dubious on what to expect having read a disappointing review by someone who obvs has no idea on how a takeaway should look. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westerlo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

excellent choice for fish & chips on the go! not the fastest service but everything was tasty and good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Had kebab meat n chips. Chilli sauce was real nice Not too dear £12 for a meal for 3 people. Worth a try

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Really bad experience. Place is filthy. Not very good food safety practices either. Food was awful and it wasn't cheap. Avoid!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which I read with concern. The Pierhead and it's staff have recently been assessed in our annual environmental health check where we received high scores in all areas so I am sorry you feel the way you do. Our food is priced very competitively for the town. Fort William is very much a tourist destination,... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am a local resident and regular visitor to Pierhead, the reason I keep coming back is for the incredibly tasty pizza which is very well priced compared to other take aways. The dough is soft and I would be surprised if it wasn't made in-store! Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review Andrew. We love to hear feedback from our regular customers as well as those passing through the town. Our pizza dough is in fact made freshly in store daily as well as our homemade pizza and chilli sauces. We have recently employed a new member of staff and she is proving to be a big... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I was so looking forward to a tasty chippy after completing a big mountain bike event and came here - waited quite a while but the thought it would be worth it. It wasn't. Very disappointing. Thick batter, dry over cooked fish and dry over cooked chips that had the texture of cardboard. I was so hungry but ended up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for our take away and are sorry to hear how unhappy you were with your food. My husband and I were away at the time of your visit but are informed that we had an issue with our freshly cut fries supplier. For a few days we purchased from an... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went here on way home from a walk and social eve in the town. Nice pizza ( a little less jalapeños next time was a bit too many) other wise excellent. Also offered info on a good taxi service and made arrangements for me brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. Sorry about the jalapeños. We love spicy food and forget that others may not like their pizzas so hot. Please pop by again soon and make sure you tell us not to be so heavy handed :) We live and work in a tourist town so are happy to help our customers, where possible,... More 

Fort William, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Eat here last month I ordered 2 meals one was fish and chips which was fine but also ordered a kebab which was stone cold pita bread was burnt..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to hear that your order was not to the standard that we would expect all of our food to leave the shop. However, if you had returned to shop or called to speak to the manager at the time, we would have been happy to rectify the situation.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My local chip shop !! Wouldn't go anywhere else !! Food is delicious!! Staff are all friendly too!! 100% recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a positive review. We aim to please, and hope to see you back in the shop soon. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The pizzas are incredible and excellent value for money. Kebabs are great too. Quick , friendly and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah S, Staff at Pierhead Takeaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear such a nice review. Though we cook all food to order we aim to do this quickly and well, ensuring every customer leaves happy. Come back soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Pierhead Takeaway also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Pierhead Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Station Square, Fort William, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William
  • Phone Number: +44 1397 704666

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 15
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Pizza, British, Turkish

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pierhead Takeaway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?