We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant

$
British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
103 High Street | PH33, Fort William Ph33 6dg, Scotland
+(44)01397 702295
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 531 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 110
    Excellent
  • 153
    Very good
  • 105
    Average
  • 75
    Poor
  • 88
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Nice wee bar

This was a nice wee bar with good prices and nice drink selection and the pool table was also good would definitely go bk

3 of 5 starsReviewed January 2, 2016
James B
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We popped in for lunch here and a few drinks , plenty of variety with beer etc , we enjoyed the steak baguette and chips , very tasty and reasonably priced at £11.98 for 2

Helpful?
Thank bigcol15
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a nice review, Im glad you enjoyed your lunch, we also now provide a selected range of drinks for only £1.00 extra with any baguette, baked potato or sandwich. Please visit again soon. All the best. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in here for a pint before a meal and the clientele wanted me to run for a tetanus booster. The lady who served behind the bar was pleasant, but was too engrossed in conversation with a lad where she was not looking after anything else. The young guys took over the lounge area, three had their feet on tables;... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back sir, Im sorry to hear that you left feeling like you needed a tetanus booster. The senior gentlemen you are referring to are local loyal patrons who cause no harm to anyone. That aside im disapointed that the lady who served you was acting in this way although she was pleasant. I can't agree... More 

Falkirk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here to warm up on a frosty Saturday lunch time. Nice decor. Comfy sink-into me couches. Love it. Stove with roaring fire and so we slowly warmed up. Friendly, helpful staff. TV if you want to watch the footy. Hot chocolate was our choice. Made with skimmed milk. Yes!! Minimising the fat content.... c'mon you know it makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay R
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank You for visiting us, we are very happy you enjoyed your expereince at the Ben Nevis. We look forward to welcoming you again. I must agree the hot chocolate is pretty amazing here haha and of course the food to. Take care. More 

Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

11 of us visited for food. Initially all seemed good then after ordering drinks some had to be headed back due to dirty glasses (lipstick on rims) our starters they arrived 1 hour later we had combos but no side plates, no dips quality okay. 50 minutes later mains start to appear steak and chicken freezing cold ( no exaggeration)... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PoserChic
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, as this will ensure the future improvement of the service we provide at the Ben Nevis. I am very happy that the last time you visited us you thought we did excellent. I'm not so happy that this time around you left thinking the complete opposite. I... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

This was a nice wee bar with good prices and nice drink selection and the pool table was also good would definitely go bk

Helpful?
1 Thank James B
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to welcoming you again. Best Wishes. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Had the mussels, which were OK. My husband was not pleased with the overcooked salmon, though. Loved the interior. Were lucky enough to get the seats right next to the stove in comfy armchairs. Nice and quiet this time of year.

Helpful?
Thank Carita B
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

We are glad you appreciate our cosy interior, i'm sorry you were not happy with the salmon, if you had raised this issue with us at the time, we would have been more than happy to replace your meal. Hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes. More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Was overall good service and the food was fine. The best thing was the view from the table over the loch.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you the view is lovely. See you again soon. More 

Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

Well compared to my last visit, which was terrible, This time it was absolutely fantastic , I just can't praise it enough the whole meal from start to finish was Delicious!!!! Well done Ben Nevis bar and restaurant;our meal was outstanding and we will definitely be back , I have told so many people just how delicious our meal was.

Helpful?
Thank sha2869
BenNevisBar, General Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

The barmaid/waitress looked like she didn't know how to smile and had no manners. The menu looked good but when the food came we would of been better just eating the menu. Frozen fish frozen peas and frozen chips and very over priced. If you are looking to eat in fort william avoid this place. We should of realised it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank m0aningminny
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us, your feedback is appreciated. Thank You. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

Visited Ben Nevis and having done a good morning walking decided to eat. Chose the pub as it looked welcoming from the outside and appeared better than the small amount of others close by. Our very first experience of a Scottish pub. Disappointed!! The staff were pleasant and we felt welcomed however this is where the enjoyment ended. Ordered a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mackem123456
BenNevisBar, Manager at Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank You for your feedback. Im sorry we didn't get it right for you this time. All of our meals are cooked to order to ensure the best quality possible and our chicken comes in fresh not frozen. We have recently been awarded a certificate of excellence from cask marque which we are very proud of. As you are a... More 

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 103 High Street | PH33, Fort William Ph33 6dg, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William
  • Phone Number: +(44)01397 702295

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?