We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

Certificate of Excellence
Seafood, British, Grill, Pub, Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
70-71, Huntly St | Inverness-Shire, Inverness IV3 5JN, Scotland
+44 1463 233870
Add hours for The Waterfront and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 384 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 204
    Excellent
  • 124
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good pub food and Scottish folk entertainment

My husband and I ate here on a Thursday night, having been told that the food is good and the entertainment is worth the visit. We walked down to book at about 4pm and the staff were accomodating to fit us in, even though they were filling up. This is a busy pub, but the food was good. We... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 3, 2015
suedev1
,
Sydney, Australia
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 NEW

My husband and I ate here on a Thursday night, having been told that the food is good and the entertainment is worth the visit. We walked down to book at about 4pm and the staff were accomodating to fit us in, even though they were filling up. This is a busy pub, but the food was good. We shared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 NEW

Ate here last night - fair enough we hadn't booked and were in a bit of a rush but nonetheless it was pretty rubbish! My mussels were very small (smallest Mussels I have ever seen). And the sauce was cold! 3 minute crab cakes way overpriced! My main of Jacobite chicken took the biscuit! cold bland mash, bland chicken, mushy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 NEW

We called here purely by chance, not much to look at but the food was tasty. People were arriving after later and having to wait for tables

Was this review helpful? Yes
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

We ate @ The Waterfront twice this week while visiting beautiful Scotland. The place was packed . Our food was very tasty and reasonably priced. £42 for main course and pudding for two with one alcoholic drink each. Recommend booking in advance !

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 NEW

Great service and decent pub style food at a good price as you would typically expect from such an establishment. Well worth a visit if that's what you're after. Note: They have a a few onice tables overlooking the river so worth booking beforehand to reserve one of these.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

Will never ever go back and certainly won't be recommending it. Over priced steak burnt quite literally black with nothing but fat and grizzle going all the way through it for a sirloin steak completely unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWaterfront_12, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your meal. Your table should have been checked back on by the waiting staff and had you let them know that you were not happy they would quite easily have replaced your meal to.your satisfaction. We hope you will... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

A great pub/restaurant on the waterfront. Good menu choices. Just down the road from a great BB that we reviewed called the Dalmore. Steak and Ale Pie was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

First of all I live locally. I am not a tourist, a visitor or a passer-through... and I have reviewed this place before. Visited tonight... it was busy being the peak of the Scottish Tourist season so I will review it accordingly. The place was very busy... but the service was swift. Main courses were OK and one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheWaterfront_12, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you had to wait for your drinks. Two of our staff members on the night were relatively new and incorrectly advised you that someone else would have to take your drinks order and omitted to give you our daily specials desserts along with our main dessert... More 

Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

What a brilliant restaurant! Have lived in Inverness for four years and this is our first visit, it certainly wont be our last. The restaurant is slightly off the beaten track but certainly worth the extra walk. Booked in advance and thank goodness we did! Absolutely full with people coming in and out all night looking for tables! We visited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salzburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

A quaint place, small and cosy, the staff very helpful and quick. The food was excellent and large in portions. Do make a reservation in advance, they are always full. Vegetarian food is prepared as well in a nice fashion. The steaks we had were very large and cooked to order.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 70-71, Huntly St | Inverness-Shire, Inverness IV3 5JN, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1463 233870
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
Cuisine: Seafood, British, Grill, Pub, Scottish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 70-71, Huntly St | Inverness-Shire, Inverness IV3 5JN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 233870

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, British, Grill, Pub, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Waterfront and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?