We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
+44 (0)1463 226200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 190 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $58 - $59
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    76
    45
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 NEW

Enjoyed our meal here immensely. Had the belly pork starter and lamb rump main - both were excellent and perfectly cooked. Good atmosphere. Service was attentive and the manager a great host. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely disgusted by this dining experience. Booked 6 weeks in advance for a special occasion given a table stuck in a corner had to be asked to be asked to be moved. Asked for our bottle of prosecco to be replaced. After having an acceptable meal ended up being verbally abused by who I can only presume to be the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Norman M, Owner at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Disgusted & disappointed by the behaviour of this group. Shortly after being seated 1 of the party came to me emotionally stating her displeasure at her table to which I immediately arranged to move them, unfortunately we did mix up the prosecco doing this once I became aware of this I furnished them with a new bottle free of charge.... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Great food but hugely disappointed with rude kitchen staff and a manager who clearly doesn't care how his employees behave! So much for customer service!!! Never had to pay £200 to be patronised before and most certainly will not be doing so again - I advise you to do the same and go to our 2nd dining choice, the mustard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Norman M, Owner at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Disgusted & disappointed by the behaviour of this group. Shortly after being seated 1 of the party came to me emotionally stating her displeasure at her table to which I immediately arranged to move them, unfortunately we did mix up the prosecco doing this once I became aware of this I furnished them with a new bottle free of charge.... More

Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent meal here while on a weekend break to Inverness. Although it was very busy the service was efficient and friendly. Can highly recommend this restaurant but would advise you to book.😃

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

A lovely place with very friendly staff & absolutely superb food. We all had different starters, mains & desserts & every one was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

i had a great meal here - went for their specials on both the starter and the main course - and loved it. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere. I'd thoroughly recommend going here for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I've been here plenty of times and have always loved the food but now after years of going the menu has barley changed! Last time I was in I felt very rushed as if the table was needed for someone else so couldn't enjoy my meal or relax! Going down hill!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
inverness
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Heard so many good things about this restaurant having never been before but very disappointed. Food and drink is overpriced (didn't even know Magners did 330ml bottles and certainly not at £3.75 each !!). Food reasonable but certainly not worth the extortionate price we paid. Won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Looks a tiny place, then opens out into several interesting, spacious and very tastefully decorated spaces. Baby and wheelchair friendly...totally accessible, which is amazing for an old building. Car park just opposite which is very handy. Staff very pleasant, efficient and attentive without that cloying approach...just quietly looking to see if all's well. Service excellent....food delicious, unusual but also local...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Nice atmosphere. The food was really good made with fresh products. We had ravioli with truffle, cod and steak. The service was professional. Prices affordable. We would like to return and taste other dishes in the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe 1

Address: 75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 (0)1463 226200
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
Average Prices: USD 58 - 59

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing