We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waverley Tea Room

$$
Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands...
Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking. With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry. Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile. From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 248 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 108
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
The only cafe with soft play in Glasgow

The food is overpriced (and unfortunately not of great quality) and the service is not great....but if you have a child, this place is heaven! You can seat in their comfy sofas and lock your kids in the soft play area, while you sip your coffe! I always go with my 3yo son and he loves it!

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 13, 2015
Elena s
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

We went here for afternoon tea. We were not offered a choice of sandwich filling or bread. There was no butter on the sandwiches or any for the scones (not everyone likes cream and jam). Overall, we were not impressed with the quality/quantity of the afternoon tea, the scones were nice though. It definitely isn't worth £8 each! The place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Went for lunch today to the Waverley Tea Room. I arrived before my friend, was directed toward our reserved table and then ignored for 15 minutes- no drink order taken or menu provided. When my friend arrived we got a menu and faced lengthy wait before our drinks were brought over. The food was OK- I had goats cheese in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Went to Waverly Tea Room for lunch on Thursday 13th August as a treat for our kids starting back at school. We are always on the lookout for family friendly restaurants so the play area here really appealed to us. It was a rare sunny day so the terrace was busy, but we wanted to sit inside so the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi James_and_mandy, We're very sorry to hear about your experience here on Thursday. As you were right to point out we can get very busy unexpectadly during the summer months, sometimes catching our staff off guard leaving us slightly short staffed. By speaking to the members of staff who were on this day this seems to be the case. Saying... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The food is overpriced (and unfortunately not of great quality) and the service is not great....but if you have a child, this place is heaven! You can seat in their comfy sofas and lock your kids in the soft play area, while you sip your coffe! I always go with my 3yo son and he loves it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Elena S, We're very glad you enjoy our soft play area, as do most of the mums in the area, grabbing a relaxing coffee for £1 while the wee ones are kept occupied definitely goes down a treat! We always strive to give the best quality of service so i'm corncerned with your comments regarding this and will definitely... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

I bought an experience from www.giftideasscotland.co.uk for afternoon tea for two with prosecco for my wife as a present. We went to this Tea Room and ordered the Afternoon Tea, When it came we were both disappointed with the standard of the sandwiches as there was very little variety. There was only cheese and tomato and some kind of slimy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

We've been here several times and at different times of the day and night. The worst time to go is when the "mothers who lunch" go and as they chat and drink, their screaming kids run riot. APART from that, the food here is very good as is the service, BUT you have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Robert, We're glad our staff looked after you so well and enjoyed your meal so much :) As we know, the soft play area can be a bit noisey at times no matter how much ourselves and the mummies try and quieten down the wee ones! If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet next time... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Usually people going out for a meal in our fair city will head downtown, or to the ever popular merchant city or the shabby chic west end ... but on this Sunday, like denizens of old, we headed for the less salubrious eateries of the south side. Walking towards the strip we stumbled across The Waverley Tea Room the outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Fartravellers, What can we say... Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write us this brilliant review! We think you've summed up the feel of the Tearooms perfectly and successfully let others know that you don't always have to hop over the river to find yourself a great evening. Let us first of all... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Visited The Waverley Tea Room last night with my wife - we popped in about 6pm for some food and drinks (we picked up a 30% off food deal beforehand). It was very quiet when we arrived so we were able to choose where to sit - we were in the bar area rather than the conservatory. There's a variety... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Derek, We're glad you had such a pleasant experience at the Waverley Tearooms and enjoyed our menu so much. Our fish and chips are definitely a firm favourite among our regular customers our staff so we're glad you agree! Getting a deal always makes your dinner taste better! Next time your in, ask our staff about signing up to... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Had a nice time in the tearooms with my other half after a long walk around the local area. Hadn't been in the Tearooms for some time but decided to go and try it again since it had incorporated Ketchup (of which my GF was a big fan). We had the 2 for 1 burgers, not as much selection as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Iain W, We are happy you enjoyed your evening with us and even managed to find something off of our menu for yourself a self confessed fussy eater :) Our kitchen team are now aware of the issue with the salty chips and have already sorted that in time for your next visit to us. Glad to see you... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

had a great day on Saturday. Staff have been so helpful on lead up and on day of the shower. Food was beautiful will definitely be back for lunch. Thank you for all your help x

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, General Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi RyanR2005, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we're glad your Babyshower went so well! We're glad the chef in the party liked our food so much too! Don't forget to pick up your Locals Card and get 20% off your lunch on your next visit :) Staff and management are in agreement that it was a... More 

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

 
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 845 659 5903

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 34
  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Description

Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking. With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry. Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile. From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waverley Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?