We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,807 Glasgow Restaurants

The Waverley Tea Room

18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #460 of 1,807 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $11 - $35
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking. With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry. Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile. From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    35
    25
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 NEW

Went on a Wednesday night for dinner. Found the staff so friendly and the food was great. Nice atmosphere about the place and would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

We booked a private party for our boys 3rd birthday party. We had the whole soft play area to ourselves from 10-12 which meant all the wee ones had a ball! The staff were really accommodating and were happy to arrange bacon rolls for the adults which were washed down with lots of teas and coffees. Included in the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Pretty good, all round. The soft play was a decent distraction for the small fry, and the grub was great - a well-priced Sunday roast all round. Kids portions really decent, just as well as my two love beef&yorkies. Staff a bit chaotic, 4 attempts to order a drink of water, no clue as to whether tables were pre-booked or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely awful service, and we were the only table in the place! Had to ask for menus, order drinks at the bar, after seating ourselves and no one approaching us for 15 mins. with two children and heavily pregnant I would have thought table service would have been appropriate. Were given menus, then had to go to bar to ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Amy, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am extremely disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to standard and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the lack of customer service and care that you received during your visit. I will certainly take this up with... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Found the food and the vibe average to poor. Lots of noise from the area with kids which should be better screened. The breakfast I had was very average with what felt like pretty basic ingredient - again nothing special Would not rush back - been to other G1 venues so surprised by this

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, Thank you for your review, getting feedback allows us to see areas of the business that may need improvement. I was disappointed to read your comments about our brunch. I would appreciate if you could email us at tearooms@g1group.com to discuss your comments further. Look forward to hearing from you. Many Thanks, Team Waverley More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I usually only visit the Waverly Tea Rooms for a late night drink with friends after we have finished in other pubs in the area and always enjoy it even if it is a little on the expensive side but the last 6 months have been terribly inconsistent in terms of opening hours, we usually go on a Thursday evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experiences at The Waverley Tearooms. I am pleased you found the staff great and enjoy an evening with us however, I am disappointed to read that you find our opening hours inconsistent. As per our website, our opening times are; 11am-12pm Sunday -Thursday 11am-2am Friday... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Ordered 2 pints. Quite clear from the smell of the beer that the draft lines had not been cleaned in some time. Bar tender refuted this however that smell can only be attributed to unclean draft lines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm sorry that you did not find the pints you ordered to be of a good standard and that you felt the lines needed cleaned. Our in house procedure is that we clean our lines on a weekly basis. Following your review, we will look in to... More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Was in the Southside on business and was looking for somewhere to have lunch. We ended up choosing the Waverley Tea Rooms. We both had soup and a sandwich with Cajun fries and onion rings to share. My fiancé had a BLT sandwich and I had a steak melt. We both agreed they were delicious!! Loved the huge onion rings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, We're glad you had such a great lunch with us. Hopefully the cocktails will make it even better next time! Thanks Team Waverley More

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Was visiting family in Glasgow and had the best night out on Wednesday food was fab I had the carbonara which was very tasty and our waiter George was attentive and professional. The atmospher was friendly and will definitely will go again when in Glasgow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Lesile, We're delighted to hear that you had such a great time! We even more delighted that our waiter George was on Top form, as usual, and provided you guys with such a great service! Hopefully we'll see you soon. Thanks Team Waverley More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

After a lot of searching for a venue that suited our tastes and plans, we found the Waverley tea room and got in touch. We received a lovely reply from the manager and decided to have our wedding reception here! We made plans with the help of the team there - and our day was brilliant. I’m vegan and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Wow, what can I say...thank you for leaving us such a brilliant review! Reading your review definitely brightened up our day here :) Thank you again for choosing to spend your wedding with us at The Tearooms, it was an absolute pleasure to look after you and your guests on your special day and you were the most... More

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Tea Room

Address: 18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 845 659 5903
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Average Prices: USD 11 - 35
Cuisine: Contemporary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing