We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waverley Tea Room

$$
British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children
Description: Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands,...
Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking.

With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry.

Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile.

From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 255 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 110
    Excellent
  • 50
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 31
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Sunday morning headache

Been here lots of times on a Sunday morning. Last time was full of toddlers like a childrens party and again this week 10/1 just the same. Noisy children running about. So if you are meeting a friend for a catch up this is not the place. You cannot hear yourself speak. Two people were serving. I... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
karen_5592
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner took me here for a bit of lunch as he had been before years ago and remembered it being a cosy little place with good food. What we experienced was anything but cosy... We waited 10 mins before I gave up and went and grabbed menus myself - the 2 members of staff had clearly seen us several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth113
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Gareth, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am extremely disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to standard and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the lack of customer service and care that you received during your visit. I will certainly take this up with... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been here lots of times on a Sunday morning. Last time was full of toddlers like a childrens party and again this week 10/1 just the same. Noisy children running about. So if you are meeting a friend for a catch up this is not the place. You cannot hear yourself speak. Two people were serving. I was in at... More 

Helpful?
Thank karen_5592
venue_support, General Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi karen_5592, Thank you for your recent feedback, I was disappointed to read of your recent experience. We are very popular with families and I’m sorry this had a negative impact during your visit. With regards to the service received during your brunch, this is not acceptable and not our standard practise. This will be investigated and our staffing levels... More 

scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Have been visiting the tearooms for 3 years now. It's selling point for me is the soft play area, with a young child it is nice to go somewhere to eat and drink and they don't get too bored. But, the service has always been woeful, although this is the first time I've written a review. Today's visit was more... More 

Helpful?
Thank feefeefifi
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi feefeefifi I am very sorry to hear of the poor experiences you have had at the Waverley Tearoom, especially on your recent visit. What you have described is nowhere near the service that our staff should be delivering regardless of whether the venue is busy or quiet at any time. Our new management team appreciate you bringing this to... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We have visited Waverley with group of mums with young children and it was very pleasant experience for us. Great family area with soft play and highchairs, nice kids and adults menu. Welcoming and friendly staff. The only problem is that Waverley is really popular and busy most of the days but always worth trying :)

Helpful?
1 Thank MAK2511
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi MAK2511, Thank you very much for your kind review. The soft play area is always a winner with families. To reserve your table for future bookings please call us on 0845 65905903. Kind Regards, More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

Organised dinner for my sister in laws 40th birthday. Food was late to come out, some people had finished their main course before others had been served. The room was absolutely freezing to point people in our party were going up to the bar to warm up. When we asked what they could do about how cold it was we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nuala1205
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Nuala1005, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations. We do strive to deliver the highest standards of service and can only apologise for letting you down on this occasion. All feedback, good or bad, is essential for us to... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

Thanks to Matt, Scott, Claire, Logan, and Laura for making last Saturday fantastic. We were looking for a great pub to watch some rugby and chat with friends. We arrived and the soft play area for the children was still open and to be honest were a little concerned that the noise was going to ruin a great atmosphere. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank LatentLifestyle
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi LatentLifestyle, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience and I have passed your comments on to the staff working that particular day. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Management @ The Waverley Tea Room More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We recently attended a private event which was held in the downstairs area of The Waverly Tearooms (6/9/15). It could not have been a better experience; the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful without being overbearing and made sure we were very well taken care of. As part of the event there was a buffet provided, the food was absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay M
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Lyndsay M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and I am very pleased to hear about the level of service you received. I will pass your comments on to Kara, who was your server on the day, our chef and to the rest of the team. I'm glad you... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

We went here for afternoon tea. We were not offered a choice of sandwich filling or bread. There was no butter on the sandwiches or any for the scones (not everyone likes cream and jam). Overall, we were not impressed with the quality/quantity of the afternoon tea, the scones were nice though. It definitely isn't worth £8 each! The place... More 

Helpful?
Thank offwegoagain68
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi offwegoagain68 Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we are glad to hear you found our staff pleasant. However I am disappointed about your experience with the afternoon tea, this is definitely not the standard we expect our customers to receive and I will pass on your comments to our kitchen team. We hope you... More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Went for lunch today to the Waverley Tea Room. I arrived before my friend, was directed toward our reserved table and then ignored for 15 minutes- no drink order taken or menu provided. When my friend arrived we got a menu and faced lengthy wait before our drinks were brought over. The food was OK- I had goats cheese in... More 

Helpful?
Thank debbiek37
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, I am very sorry to hear of your poor experience at the Waverley Tearoom on the 16th August. What you have described is nowhere near the service that our staff should be showing constantly from when we open till we close. Despite your review, I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and the matter at hand will... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Went to Waverly Tea Room for lunch on Thursday 13th August as a treat for our kids starting back at school. We are always on the lookout for family friendly restaurants so the play area here really appealed to us. It was a rare sunny day so the terrace was busy, but we wanted to sit inside so the kids... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James_and_Mandy
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi James_and_mandy, We're very sorry to hear about your experience here on Thursday. As you were right to point out we can get very busy unexpectadly during the summer months, sometimes catching our staff off guard leaving us slightly short staffed. By speaking to the members of staff who were on this day this seems to be the case. Saying... More 

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 845 659 5903

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 32
  • Cuisine: British, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking.

With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry.

Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile.

From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waverley Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?