We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khublai Khans

26 Candelriggs, Glasgow, Scotland (Merchant City)
0141 552 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #317 of 1,761 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $30 - $41
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Merchant City
Description: In the 13th Century, it was the custom for the Marauding Warriors of the great Khans', who ruled Mongolia, to cook their food on their up turned shields over a camp fire. In this way they would prepare slivers of meat cut with the sword edge, with a combination or vegetables, aromatic oils, herbs and spices.With these ancient traditions in mind, we bring you one of the world's least known, but most original dining experiences- The Mongolian Feast.Create your own dishes of food by filling your bowls from a selection of beautifully fresh vegetables on a base of rice, beansprouts, noodles or tofu. Add your choice of meats or seafood including such novelties as venison, wild boar, water buffalo, llama, zebra, kangaroo, octopus & camel.Finally, complement your selection with a combination of sauces, oils, herbs and spices before taking your bowl over to the huge open barbeque. You are then free to either return to your seat and have your creation served to your table, or to stay and watch the Grill Chefs do their thing.If you need some ideas, there are recipe suggestions on your placemats and at the cold cabinets. You may repeat the experience as often as any tight fitting clothing you may be wearing will allow.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    89
    45
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

There was a great atmosphere in the restaurant. The staff were nice and the service was good. I enjoyed the novel way of dinning choosing from rice, noodles, selection of veg, exotic meats and fish. Putting your selection into a bowl then making and adding your sauce to be stir fried by a chief. Being able to return and try... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much foir taking the time to review the restaurant. We are really pleased you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again. Kind regards Andrew More

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

This is a great idea. The restaurant has meats from around the world (kangaroo, zebra, horse etc) and if you choose the barbecue then you collect an empty dish, fill it with the meat, vegetables and spices of your choice, and it will be cooked just for you in minutes. It's great fun to create your own combinations, and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Carole Thanks very much for your your kind words, it really helps to give the team a boost! We're all delighted you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again in KKs. Thanks again. Kind regards Andrew More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We live in the area and tend to avoid Khublai Khans, since we had a pretty dismal experience a few years ago. However, a Big Deal for lunch on 5pm came up and we decided to give it another go. We were pleasantly surprised with our experience this time around! Staff were friendly and attentive, the soup starter was tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking the time to share your recent experience, we value all feedback. Firstly, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit this time! As for serving rice to the table, we did this when we first opened but customers preferred to have it mixed in with their other ingredients to make a more authentic stir-fry. Like... More

Falkirk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This is one of my favourite places to eat in Glasgow. The food is fresh and it's exciting as you can create your own dish, or you can follow the displayed recipes for flavouring. The staff are pleasant, helpful and nothing a problem. Cant wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi The Craigs Thanks very much for your kind comments, they really gave us all a lift when we read them. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again Kind regards Andrew More

scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited this restaurant for a friends birthday , we loved the food and the options to create your own dish. Fab

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal at the restaurant and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere different to eat then Khublai Khan is the place for you. Overall we enjoyed ourselves at the Khublai Khan and would recommend it for a night out. Staff were very good if you are celebrating something let the staff know and they will dress you up in Mongolian costume and let you sit in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking the time to review KKs. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've been away on business for a while but came back at the time of the Commonwealth Games. It's been refurbished and looks fantastic inside. It's my favourite restaurant in Glasgow without a shadow of a doubt. In the space of 5 weeks I've been back 3 times since I've been back home and 3 nights ago for a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi David Thanks very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the restaurant, much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had a lovely lunch with my husband today. The goats cheese salad starter is to be recommended (I think it must be new on the menu since last time or I would have had it before now!). First visit since the refurbishment and the ingredients are now in lovely chill unit things. very professional indeed. Staff helpful and friendly as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Karen Thanks very much for your kind comments, you've made our day! You are quite correct that the Goat's Cheese starter is a new addition and is proving very popular. Hope to welcome you back to KKs soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Johnstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Visited since refurbishment and was always one of my fav restaurants but was left disappointed they have removed the crushed nuts from the ingredients I was gutted I love them and always put them in my bowl of ingredients. I had to ask the manager why and he said due to allergies but sure if it's my bowl and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Maxine Thanks very much for taking the time to write in. Due to customer feedback, we decided some months ago, to remove the chopped nuts from our herbs and spices options. Due to the nature of the restaurant we could not guarantee that there would be no cross-contamination e.g. nuts could be dropped in another herb/spice container. Also, due... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant, staff were friendly and attentive and the presentation of the food was perfect! Will definitely be back and would recommend a visit :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to write in, much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and hope to see back at KKs soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khublai Khans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing