We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khublai Khans

26 Candelriggs, Glasgow, Scotland (Merchant City)
0141 552 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $30 - $41
Cuisines: Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Merchant City
Description: In the 13th Century, it was the custom for the Marauding Warriors of the great Khans', who ruled Mongolia, to cook their food on their up turned shields over a camp fire. In this way they would prepare slivers of meat cut with the sword edge, with a combination or vegetables, aromatic oils, herbs and spices.With these ancient traditions in mind, we bring you one of the world's least known, but most original dining experiences- The Mongolian Feast.Create your own dishes of food by filling your bowls from a selection of beautifully fresh vegetables on a base of rice, beansprouts, noodles or tofu. Add your choice of meats or seafood including such novelties as venison, wild boar, water buffalo, llama, zebra, kangaroo, octopus & camel.Finally, complement your selection with a combination of sauces, oils, herbs and spices before taking your bowl over to the huge open barbeque. You are then free to either return to your seat and have your creation served to your table, or to stay and watch the Grill Chefs do their thing.If you need some ideas, there are recipe suggestions on your placemats and at the cold cabinets. You may repeat the experience as often as any tight fitting clothing you may be wearing will allow.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    131
    86
    40
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Visited for my birthday meal whilst in Glasgow. 5 in our party no one had tried Mongolian before so we were all up for a challenge. Select starter off a menu (great good selections) Then take you seat counter with you and head to the various selections of food to be cooked fresh for you. Grab a bowl pick what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, we value all constructive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the dining experience and hope you were suitably embarrassed by the sparkler and cheesey song! Hope to see you next year if not before. Kind regards Andrew More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

Firstly we ventured to Khublai Khan's to celebrate together and try something that's simply not the regular found in the majority of Restaurants. Fantastic speedy service where attention and involvement where second to none, always felt warm and welcoming, taking as long as we wanted. The Gent of a Chef had time to help, assist and generally chat which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your kind comments, much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to KKs in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Owner PS Colin, the Grill Chef, is now asking for a pay increase! More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I tried Khublai Khans' lunch option quite a while ago and really enjoyed the fact that there were so many exotic meats, and that each person could literally create their own meal on site from all those different ingredients and spices. Some of the meats can be a bit dry, but it is understandable since they are not braised for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review the restaurant, much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed the dining experience and the variety of interesting meats we offer. As you say, we are constantly changing them and trying new things to keep our offer fresh and interesting. Hope to see you back in the restaurant soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My partner booked this restaurant for my birthday on July 3rd 2014 and I have to be honest at first I was a bit hesitant to say the least as I am not a very adventurist diner. We opted for the BBQ which I have to say was absolutely fantastic, although I did not opt for the exotic meats on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Michelle Thanks very much for your extremely kind comments - are we related in some way!? Everyone at KKs is delighted that you rate us above The Ivy! Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andrew Owner More

Bishopton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We booked our meal through 5pm for a Saturday afternoon. The restaurant was quiet so only one waiter on but he was fantastic!! Matthew I think his name was, so friendly and helpful and very welcoming. I struggled to choose my starter between chicken salad and wild boar dumplings, settled on the salad (second our waiter walked away regretted it)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking the time to review the restaurant, we appreciate the feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Mathew is also delighted and has asked for a substantial wage increase! Hope to see you again soon when you might leave room for one of our delicious homemade desserts! Kind regards Andrew Owner More

Corfu, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is my favourite restaurant in Glasgow. Something unique, and a chance to try something new and several dishes, choose your own ingredients or follow the suggested menus, the choice is yours. All cooked to perfection, with friendly staff, interesting starters such as kangaroo haggis and real horse burgers, make for an evening of culinary delight with lots to talk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Simon Thanks very much for your kind comments. I have passed them on to the troops. We are all delighted that KKs is your favourite restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Firstly I was quite surprised that we spent nearly 4 hours in this restaurant and we had only two drinks each. Unfortunately the service was very slow while the restaurant was half empty! The food was very tasty, although quite expensive (our bill was nearly £90 for two people, but that's not important). A decoration in the restaurant would deserve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for getting in touch. Firstly, I'm delighted you enjoyed the food. However, I'm not sure why the service was slow and for that I apologise. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Andrew Owner More

Central Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked a table for 6 on Saturday 21st June and as we had arrived in Glasgow a good bit earlier than the table booking we were lucky enough to get outside seating where we enjoyed a few drinks before entering the restaurant. On being seated the waitress took our drinks order and as nobody in the party had been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Claire Thanks for taking the time to relate your recent experience. We value all constructive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and am pleased that James, the Manager, dealt with the hiccup you experienced in a expeditious and satisfactory manner. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andrew Owner More

Inverness
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just back from a visit to this restaurant, this has been a favourite of ours whenever we are in Glasgow. Won't be going back . Service was excellent and the waitress could not have been nicer, that was the only good thing. The restaurant was not very busy, we took the full barbecue feast from the menu, this is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Dear Kimcats, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent dining experience. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy it on this ocassion. I have since been in contact with you regading the evening, for which I have apologised & resolved to your satisfaction. We very much look forward to welcoming you to Khublai Khan's... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Now I know things are jumping in price in our current climate and this needs to be reflected to us as consumers, but I have to say I feel that you are getting a smidgen greedy due to hosting such a lovely concept. The design your own concoction concept is wonderful for a society hell bent on being a culinary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Dear Douglas, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent dining experience. We genuinely appreciate it. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the experience. With regards the price I can assure you that we, in Glasgow, haven't increased our food prices for some five years despite increases in our own costs. In fact the price of the... More

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khublai Khans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing