We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khublai Khans

#312 of 1,840 Restaurants in Glasgow
#340 of 1,986 Places to Eat in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
$$
City Centre
Mongolian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland
+44 141 552 5646
Website
Add hours for Khublai Khans and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 422 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 191
    Excellent
  • 119
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Enjoyable and filling

All you can eat Mongolian, was good fun making up sauces for your meat ofr fish to be stir fried with. very good service. Didnt like the mandatory service charge so no tip was left. (the tip would have been more than the service charge?

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 15, 2015
Kevanya
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Went with 3 friends and had a ball. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. The great selection of ingredients meant we could be as wacky or as safe as we dared. I had Kangaroo Haggis for a starter - yum! We were a small group but it would also be a great place to go with a whole bunch or friends.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

This will be the 4th time we have visited now and we have never been disappointed. The food is always fresh and cooked fantastically. It was extremely busy last night but all the staff coped well and were as friendly & kind as our first visit when it it was quiet. Introduced my father and his partner and I'm sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Vada Thanks very much for your glowing recommendation. It sounds like we need to put you on commission! Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Andrew More 

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

All you can eat Mongolian, was good fun making up sauces for your meat ofr fish to be stir fried with. very good service. Didnt like the mandatory service charge so no tip was left. (the tip would have been more than the service charge?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Kevanya Thanks very much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal. As regards the Service Charge, it is entirely discretionary, as printed on the menu and the bill itself and we never have a problem if a table decides, for whatever reason, they don't wish to pay it. I fully understand that some people don't... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Great meal, friendly staff and a wonderful experience. If you're looking for something out of the ordinary this place ticks all the boxes. Staff are both friendly and approachable without being over bearing, happy to provide suggestions and attentive to customers needs. The real gem is the food. Being able to pick your ingredients and try different flavours you create... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Greetings your Lordship To say we were excited to receive such high praise from someone of your stature would be an understatement akin to saying that Messi is a fair footballer! We look forward to being graced by your presence again in the not too distant future. Yours in abject servitude Andrew More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Went out to the restaurant with boyfriend and Nephew. As usual fantastic experience, we went for The Full Mongolian Feast with starter, visit the buffet as many times as you want and a desert. Had a great selection of unique meats to choose from (especially enjoyed the Kangaroo, Monkfish and wild Boar). The food is cooked on a hot plate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your recent review, we are obviously delighted you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you back at KKs in the near future. KInd regards Andrew More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

amazing good food, make your own, good fun, great atmosphere. recommend it as a must, a return visit is on the cards

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Debs Thanks ver ymuch for your kind words. We are all delighted you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I had dinner with 4 friends at the restaurant yesterday evening. I found the restaurant too expensive for what you get. Starter and dessert were fine, standard quality. The quality of the ingredients at the buffet was quite poor. I tried both meat and fish and it is my opinion they were not fresh. I was sick all night. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Lisa Firstly I'm very sorry to hear that you have been unwell. However, unless you have had a stool sample analysed, you cannot presume that you were suffering from food poisoning let alone that the restaurant was at fault. There are numerous causes of upset stomachs. You don't mention that any of your dining companions were unwell, if you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

I hadn't visited in a long time and wanted to introduce my friends to the buffet style of eating. The waiter was lovely and brought our drinks quickly. After explaining the menu we ordered or starters. We all choose something diffrent so we could sample each other's. My friend had the mussels but the sauce was very bland with not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Dear Aggie Thank you for bringing your experience to my attention and allowing me the right of reply. Firstly your starters. I'm sorry your companion didn't enjoy their mussels. The sauce is always made freshly, to order, by our chefs and is normally very piquant, can't think what can have gone wrong. We cut our large spring-rolls in half for... More 

Beith, Ayrshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Delicious meal at Kublai Khan's. Really enjoyed the BBQ and would upgrade for another visit next time. Liked the choice of unusual meats and veg. We were using a Groupon voucher and the waiting staff were very pleasant and helpful. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again at KKs. Kind regards Andrew More 

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I took my Explorer Scouts to a meal to get them used to eating unusual and exotic meats. They absolutely loved it. I had been before and knew what their reaction would be. A fantastic meal, great value for money, attentive staff and a brilliant evening. The selection of meats was great and getting to create your own individual dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Anthea Thanks very much for your glowing review. We are delighted you all enjoyed the experience and sampling our unusual meats. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighborhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 552 5646

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 38
  • Cuisine: Mongolian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Special occasions

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Khublai Khans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?