We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khublai Khans

#305 of 1,887 Restaurants in Glasgow
#331 of 2,045 Places to Eat in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
$$
City Centre
Asian, Mongolian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland
+44 141 552 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Khublai Khans and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 449 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 206
    Excellent
  • 127
    Very good
  • 61
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good food.

Excellent food, and very friendly service, however, it does tend towards the expensive side and I'm not entirely sure of the value for money. The bar is quite expensive for what you are getting.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 20, 2015
Chirsphoter H
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Just had one of the best nights out with my friends at this restaurant, the food was lovely such a great idea, the menu was a delight to read and funny, the staff were brilliant and made us very welcome and once they found out that we all came out for a pre wedding dinner they made the special touch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Excellent food, and very friendly service, however, it does tend towards the expensive side and I'm not entirely sure of the value for money. The bar is quite expensive for what you are getting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Christopher Thanks very much for your comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed the food. We feel that both our food and drink prices are very reasonable and are, in general, cheaper than other similar restaurants in the Merchant City. Kind regards Andrew More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

The food was good but service was poor and slow. There was only four tables in eating and the service was that slow you would have thought it was packed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Allie Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, we value all constructive feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that our service was not up to scratch. No excuses especially as we were obviously quiet that evening. I just hope it has not put you off returning and giving us a second chance. Kind regards Andrew More 

Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Once we read about this place we just had to try it, and we were not disappointed. What an excellent idea for a restaurant. Arrived and were seated and chose our starter and wine.After the starter, you take the numbered coin on your table and go up to the buffet. Grab you metal bowl and then go to each of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Hoops Thanks very much for your great review. We're all delighted you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Glasgow. Kind regards Andrew More 

Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Absolutely love this place have been coming here for a few years and the service is always great and the food is amazing. They have a great variety of meats and fish from ur standard chicken to horse and wild boar. Never disappointed! Highly recommended the horse too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Les Thank you very much for kind comments and continued support - much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

It's a set-up which can't go wrong! Choosing your own base, veggies and meat, and making your own sauce - then having it cooked for you. And doing this as many times as you like! And getting to experience unusual meats too! I took work colleagues here this week and they were raving about it - they thought it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Ally Thanks for your kind comments, we're delighted you and your work colleagues enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Andrew PS the malteser ice cream will be making a come-back very soon, possibly on the Christmas menu. Keep your eye on our website and FB pages! More 

berkhamsted
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Visited on a Friday night as a party of 6. The restaurant was only 20% full at 730pm and never got any busier. For a Friday night this is very poor. No atmosphere and indifferent service. Food on offer was average with prawns offered really pre-cooked shrimps. I would not hurry back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback, we value all constructive comments. I'm very sorry you didn't particularly enjoy your meal with us. I'm not sure about the lack of atmosphere as, having checked our records, we had 86 diners in that evening which, for us, is a pretty busy evening! Thanks again. Kind regards Andrew More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Really enjoyed our experience.. Our 3 course meal was lovely.. We had the kangaroo and buffalo meats and they both were very tender..thank you to the lovely waitress who personalised our desserts for us... Our only regret was we didn't have any actual money for a tip...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Lai Thanks for taking the time to review the restaurant and we're really pleased you enjoyed the experience having chosen to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary with us. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Dumfries in Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We were advised by a friend to come because we wanted to entertain our close family members who are not local to the area, they had eaten in a few places in glasgow during their stay so we wanted this night to be different, and it really was! two of our table were kids under 13, and the other 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Kay Thanks very much for your kind comments we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the experience, especially the children. We firmly believe that KKs offers youngsters the opportunity to eat healthily and because they select their own ingredients there is a feeling of "ownership" of their meal which makes them much more likely to eat it!... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Tried this as I had been meaning to eat here for a while, it's an interesting set up and quite an interactive way of eating, food and variety is decent service is good but I did find it a wee bit pricey at 22 for the full feast . Well worth a visit once to experience the different meats

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Jonny Thanks for taking the time to review KKs, we appreciate the feedback. We are also delighted you enjoyed your meal. On the subject of price, we have not put our prices up for over 4 years despite our costs continuing to rise and we feel that we offer excellent value for money considering the variety of exotic meats... More 

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighborhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 552 5646

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 38
  • Price Range: $ $
  • Cuisine: Asian, Mongolian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Large groups

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Khublai Khans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?