We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bothy Restaurant

11 Ruthven Lane, Hillhead, Glasgow G12 9BG, Scotland (West End)
+44 141 334 4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 1,732 restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $84
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: West End
Description: The Bothy is a unique Scottish restaurant located just off Byres Road in the West End of Glasgow. Experience a return to Scottish home cooking, the traditional way with the likes of haggis, neeps and tatties, grilled Scottish salmon and steak pie amongst others. No matter how stuffed you are you'll not want to miss dessert with dishes such as pistachio creme brulee or mango and raspberry iced parfait to name but a few.The combination of friendly service and a delicious, hearty menu make The Bothy the perfect location for family and friends to enjoy dinner in welcoming, Scottish surroundings. If you are in a group it won't cost a penny more to hire one of the private rooms just for yourselves.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    245
    127
    30
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

The bothy is a nice place right in the middle of the west end. However the rude unhelpful management staff really let it down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Siobhan W, I am disappointed to read your review, customer service is out utmost priority her at The Bothy and we strive to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience with us. As previously stated, should you wish to discuss the matter further, please feel free to contact me at bothy@g1group.com. Kind regards, Calum More

Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW credit card Amex Card Member Review

Taken to this tucked away and surprising place by friends. Good food, nicely presented and not too noisy. Worth seeking out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, Front Office Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear autoester, Thank you for your recent review, glad to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and I hope it your first of many! Kind regards, Calum More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Could have been a bit cheesy with the waiters in kilts but really the food and service far surpassed our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear QuincyYork, Ha, some people like the kilts, others think it's too much but I'm glad you could see past and enjoy the food and service with us! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again... Kind regards, Calum More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My first thought was, this is bigger than I thought. Staff are very welcoming. First downside - only two beers on draught (both crap). Second downside - there isn't one. The food was excellent. We had for mains 1. Moules Marinieres. 2. Aubergine & chickpea tagine. 3. Ayrshire lamb & 4. Rib-eye steak. I forgot, the haggis pakora for starters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear APMurray71, Thank you for your recent review, I'm glad you enjoyed your first visit to us and we hope it won't be your last... A warm welcome and good grub is what we are all about here! Kind regards, Calum More

Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The beautiful cobalt blue windows and country inn feeling were relaxing. Haggis was excellent as was the lamb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Marjorie L, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed the food and ambience. Please be sure to drop in again the next time you are this side of the pond! Kind regards, Calum More

South
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Always reliable and good. Good food but it's really the staff that make this place. I always have a great time when eating here. Maybe it's something to do with me :) keep up the good work staff you all deserve a wage increase

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear burnsm, Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, especially our repeat ones! Loving that you have enjoyed our service and food and we hope to continue to see you in The Bothy. Kind regards, Calum More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Slow overall between courses but individual waiting service good Fabulous food! Fantastic atmosphere and reflects Scotland well. The waiting outfits are also awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Heather E, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and the service provided. All our dishes are prepared from fresh which can occasionally lead to a delay between courses, however if future if you wish for the service speed to be increased please... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Came for dinner with 2 family members. The Cullen Skink to start was good and the overall service was great. Unfortunately the main courses were far below the par we'd come to expect from the bothy. Sea Bass and ghnocchi - Sea bass was good, but the ghnochci tasted like a pieces of overcooked rubber. There was no particular sauce... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Neil M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, while I am happy to read that you found the service and atmosphere enjoyable it is a great shame you did not feel the same way with regards to your main courses. I have brought this to the attention of our head chef and will look to... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Dined out with friends last night. The food was fine, however come 11pm the live music stopped, with no other music being played, the air conditioning came on, the staff started tidying round us and by 1130 the bill had been put on the table without us asking for it. This is a central west end restaurant on a Saturday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CazNatScot, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review, honest customer feedback is a vital tool in the development of our business and I wish to assure you your points have been taken on board. Billing guests without request is firmly against our policy and I intend to reiterate this to the team as at no... More

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The atmosphere the Staff the service and the food were all 1st class. A very welcoming place the service was very quick but you did not feel rushed. The food was superb starter and main course.and all for a very reasonable price. This was my first visit to this Restruant but definatley not my last.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear RJ Grant, Thank you for your recent kind review, I'm happy to read that your first visit with us was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you again soon... Kind regards, Calum More

Travelers who viewed Bothy Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bothy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bothy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing