We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,886 Glasgow Restaurants

Bothy Restaurant

11 Ruthven Lane, Hillhead | West End, Glasgow G12 9BG, Scotland
+44 141 334 4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,886 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $45
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: The Bothy is a unique Scottish restaurant located just off Byres Road in the West End of Glasgow. Experience a return to Scottish home cooking, the traditional way with the likes of haggis, neeps and tatties, grilled Scottish salmon and steak pie amongst others. No matter how stuffed you are you'll not want to miss dessert with dishes such as pistachio creme brulee or mango and raspberry iced parfait to name but a few.The combination of friendly service and a delicious, hearty menu make The Bothy the perfect location for family and friends to enjoy dinner in welcoming, Scottish surroundings. If you are in a group it won't cost a penny more to hire one of the private rooms just for yourselves.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    156
    34
    32
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 NEW

A great, unexpected find at the end of an afternoon walk. Warmly greeted at the door and with no booking at a busy time a table was quickly found. Advised right away there was another booking a couple of hours later and the table would be required. Food and service excellent. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Liz A, Many thanks for your kind review, delighted to read that you enjoyed the service, food and atmosphere of our wee restaurant. Always a pleasure and we'll be sure to keep the hard work up for your next visit! Kind regards, The Bothy More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 NEW

Only two cheap beers on tap. We were the only ones in there at the time and so I expected the food to be nice. The bread with balsamic vinger was stale and was basically a white loaf. My risotto was overcooked, the prawns were like balls of chewing gum. Small portion, for £14. I left hungry and disappointed. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ant M, It is with great disappointment I read your review, we strive to deliver the highest standards to all our guests however on this occasion it would appear this wasn't the case. One point perplexes me slightly, we do not serve prawns on our menu...? If you would be so kind to contact me directly on bothy@g1group.com as... More 

glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 NEW

Visited the bothy with friends for a special birthday meal. Hadn't been before so wasn't sure what to expect. Restaurant had a lovely ambience and staff were really friendly and helpful. Some of us ate off the set menu, others off the main menu, lots of choice and everyone was pleased with what they had. Reasonably good value and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear suze_85, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you chose to host such a special occasion here with us and hope that this will be the first of many visits... Kind regards, Calum More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We've been regular visitors for 3 years now, usually we try to visit fortnightly. Now many would say 'That's too much, you'll sicken yourself' but we love this place as much now as we did on our first visit. Standards are consistently high - enjoyable food, friendly, efficient service, great atmosphere and good value for money. We've never had cause... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Stuart K, I would like to thank you for your kind review and continued support over the years. Our regular guests are immensely important to our business and your feedback is valued greatly as a barometer for consistency. Look forward to seeing you again in a couple of weeks! Kind regards, Calum More 

Glasgow
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015 via mobile

18 of us had our Xmas night out in the private dining room upstairs in January. Although we had to choose from a limited menu, the choice was very good and everyone really enjoyed the food. The smoked salmon starter was delicious, as was the black pudding stuffed chicken. The service was excellent, thanks to Melissa. I come here every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear fmck49, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review! The private dining room is a lovely space for a large party, we're glad that you enjoyed your time there. I'll be sure to pass on your thanks & appreciation to Melissa also! It's lovely to read that you dine with us regularly and we... More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

I visited The Bothy for my first time on Saturday shortly after the New Year celebrations and found the ambience fabulous. Not too busy after the holiday session made the setting and service A++++. A friendly welcome by the waiters and waitresses wearing the national kilt, with great mood lighting and stone walling. A great setting. The menu selection was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Danny783, Many thanks for your kind review, delighted to read that you enjoyed the service, food and atmosphere of our wee restaurant. Always a pleasure and we'll be sure to keep the hard work up for your next visit! Kind regards, Calum More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Visited here on the 23rd of December before going to the concert hall, and had an excellent meal. The whole party thoroughly enjoyed their meals - no complaints at all. Very tasty food, and really lovely atmosphere. Service was a little slow and waiters seemed to be few and far between, but they were very busy so it was understandable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear rsa1009, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, I am happy to read that it was an enjoyable one and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards, Calum More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I enjoyed a wonderful afternoon in the private dining room at the Bothy. Great location, room was brill with seating for 22 and just right for my party celebration. Choice of menus was spot on and the food and service perfect. we enjoyed the services of Beth who looked after me and my guests with great attention, care and good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear JohnMacAskill, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your kind words, delighted to read that such a special occasion was a success and I will be sure to let Beth know of your thanks. We look forward to welcoming you again soon... Kind regards, Calum More 

Glasgow
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Another lovely night at The Bothy! Our waiter was brilliant, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was, as usual, really good. It's such a nice, friendly atmosphere, it's almost like going to an old friend's for a blether!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 198 FionaG, Thank you for such a fantastic review, very kind of you and greatly appreciated. We strive to create a relaxed area within which our guests can enjoy their meals and it's always great to hear back from you all. Hopefully see you again soon! Kind regards, Calum More 

Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We were in Glasgow for the weekend and were looking to have a nice Scottish lunch. Food was excellent, really nice decorations but service could be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid B, Thank you for your recent review, I'm glad to read in the most part you enjoyed your time at The Bothy however it is concerning to read that our service did not meet your expectations... Should you wish, feel free to contact me directly at bothy@g1group.com to discuss further. Many thanks and kind regards, Calum More 

Travelers who viewed Bothy Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bothy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Restaurant

Address: 11 Ruthven Lane, Hillhead | West End, Glasgow G12 9BG, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 141 334 4040
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 23 - 45
Cuisine: Scottish, British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bothy Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?