We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

97-99 Candleriggs St. | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland (City Centre)
0141-553-1577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 1,730 restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    215
    110
    40
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Simple unpretentious restaurant in middle of merchant city area. Long standing and will last the pace when other trendy dives have hit the buffers. What do they do well? Service. Lovely friendly staff with a nice relaxed manner. Food. Fish in its many guises. I hade the fish cake and the bream while mrs c had the soup and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

What a find this place was. The most amazing, wonderfully fresh food, lovely wine and great service. We were looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening but didn't fancy a bowl of pasta or a gastro pub and stumbled upon this place - I would heartily recommend it to anyone in Glasgow!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I actually started out the night wanting to go to a different restaurant that was well reviewed, but when they were booked they directed me here. So glad they did! I wanted to try some authentic Scottish food, and some seafood. I started the night with oysters which were fresh, and just FANTASTIC. My main course was a steak and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited the restaurant on a Saturday evening, noticed a "specials" menu displayed in the window and decided to give it a try. Server seated us and brought a' la carte menus only. Enquired about specials menu from a young lad, he didn't know about it and would have to ask. A female then brought it, she stank of cigarettes. Slowwwwww... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Thank you for you review regarding our Restaurant. Firstly we have a menu board outside displaying all available menus. The Saturday Special menu is a pre booked menu that we provide and advertise outside ( it clearly states this on the bottom) however when you asked one of our Runners about it, he did the correct thing by going to... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We popped in for a pre-theatre meal here, and found the experience very good. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the menu (even for the limited pre-theatre) was excellent. Mostly fish choices, and presentation and taste of the offerings was great. Good wine available at reasonable prices added to the ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review. Good to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to City Merchant. The pre theatre menu offers great value for money and the Chef always ensures the menu offers great choice and quality. Hope you'll dine with us again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Got to try the Oysters Diablo, what a dish. Also great for a great range of food, I have eaten there many times. Service is always sharp and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Great review, thanks very much. Oysters always go down well with our customers especially with a shot of vodka! Look forward to your next visit More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Dined here with work colleagues and really enjoyed it. Loved my seafood bouillabaisse and had total meal envy when my colleague's steak arrived- gorgeous fillet served with onion rings and chunky chips. Only complaint is food service very slow - despite the restaurant being very quiet. Worth the wait though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the Bouillabaisse, it is a very popular dish and is amazing, even if I say so myself!! Hope to see you again soon. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had steak , my fault should have been fish , over priced , left a large tip , not even a thank you , also , managment talking to staff , quiet nite just go up the road, so they come to work get a half shift, then get told to go home early , not my way of treating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent meal at City Merchant. We strive to provide a high standard of food and service, unfortunately we don't seem to have delivered on this occasion. As part of our customer service, we endeavour to say good bye and thank you to all our customers, whether they have left gratuity or not.... More

glasgow
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

On entering we were taken immediately to a table, I would add that the place was extremely quiet. Ordered some wine which was swiftly brought to table, very nice selection (rioja). We were told specials of the day. We picked from a la carte,, haggis and a starter of scallops, unlike a previous reviewer I found the haggis to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leander, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Best haggis, neeps, and tattles I've had is Scotland! The Cullen skink was also great! Really enjoyed the whole experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your fantastic review, a great endorsement for our Haggis! Hope to see you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing