We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

97-99 Candleriggs St. | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland (City Centre)
0141-553-1577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 1,763 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Hours:
Sun 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    117
    40
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

For some strange reason that I just can't pinpoint I had never gotten round to visiting this place before - I'd often thought about it, even talked about it, but just never got round to it. So when I eventually did, I ended kicking myself that I'd never done it sooner! Started with the oysters - and oh my sweet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I recently visited this place for lunch with a friend. The £9.95 menu had a wide selection and represented great value. I had a fish soup then a venison casserole. The main was especially tasty. Will defo be back. Hopefully Cullin Skink will be on the menu next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Pedro del Pinatar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Lovely place, nice décor, staff very pleasant and attentive. My friend's meal was lovely but I was a bit disappointed in my chicken main course - the greens were chewy. My dessert and soup were ok but a bit bland. Everything was nicely presented. Good reading on the back of the menu about the history of the Merchant City area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

It's been a while since I visited City Merchant and my experience last week left me wondering why It had been so long. My friend and I had the lunch menu which had more choices than I have ever experienced in a set menu. Steven, our sever, was able to assist with excellent knowledge of each dish resulting in one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A friend and I chose to try City merchant for lunch after looking for somewhere inviting. The two course lunch for £9.95 attracted us and I can honestly say my main dish was one of the best meals I have had in ages. We both had mussels to start with and then a smoked haddock and leek risotto with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Gave it a second chance ,also complained about the meal ,makes no difference to this place,the manager does nothing ,you spend your hard earned cash,and get nothing of your meal ,to the owner please check your feed back and do something or your place will close due to complaints ,get chef Ramsay to sort u out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

I found your review to be quite offensive, as you can see we have had a number of great reviews and we certainly don't need Gordon Ramsay's help!! I have not been aware on any complaints recently, you didn't mention when you visited , so I would be keen to discuss further person to person any issues that you may... More

Johnstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a 5pm deal of 2 courses and a wee glass of wine for £9.95. Greeted with a warm welcome and shown to a good table. The service was first class, prompt, informed and mannerly. Starters and mains were fantastic in quality and taste, We enjoyed some well priced drinks and felt under no pressure to give back the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, hope you'll visit us again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My friend and I went to this restaurant as it was supposedly one of the best places to have seafood and haggis in Glasgow. Unfortunately, neither the food, the portion size, the service, nor the atmosphere lived up to the high price we had to pay for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. I would say that this is not the norm as you can see from the great reviews we have received recently, unfortunately we don't seem to have delivered on this occasion. It would be preferred if our customers mentioned at the time any issues they may have with their... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Been going there for about 15 years, but not been there in a while but so glad we went back today. The varied menu was fantastic, so many choices. We settled on the mussels with a scallop cream sauce for starters, I had smoked haddock fishcakes with an anchovy sea food butter sauce, and my friend had the smoked haddock... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great comments. Will pass your kind comments on to Steven, always nice when the staff get a special mention. See you for lunch next week! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend's mum and gran were up from Oldham and I took them for lunch. They were very accommodating, we were late due to the various events in glasgow that day that I stupidly didn't check the times on, and they held the table for 20 minutes until we arrived and then a further 20 while my boyfriend's mum parked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer A, General Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review, glad to hear you all enjoyed your meal with us. We aim to offer choices for everyone and hopefully we can accommodate even the fussiest palates. Hope you'll dine with us again soon. More

Travelers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing