We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amber Regent

#172 of 1,986 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Merchant City
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
50 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 2RA, Scotland
+44 141 331 1655
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Fri 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 359 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 211
    Excellent
  • 86
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
An Institution

This place has been here for years and, with my tendency to like a bargain, I was once again drawn to their half price main courses at certain times. That said their pricing outside the offer is most definitely at the higher end of the market. Sunday evening (open at 5) is one of their half price... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
sleep007
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Food ok nothing great staff not the friendliest been once and a will leave it at that we were looking forward to our night out that was it what I said ok .probably been better if staff would have took a minute to ask if all was ok and if we were enjoying our meal they just did not speak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lgjl
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
906 reviews
545 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has been here for years and, with my tendency to like a bargain, I was once again drawn to their half price main courses at certain times. That said their pricing outside the offer is most definitely at the higher end of the market. Sunday evening (open at 5) is one of their half price mains all night... More 

Helpful?
Thank sleep007
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have dined at the Amber Regent for more than 20 years. I have to say that we have never had a bad meal. The staff are very attentive. My only criticism is that in our opinion you are not given much time between courses and feel quite rushed. However, I suppose the nice decor and food keeps bringing us... More 

Helpful?
Thank NormanFamily85
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for being a valued customer for so long, it's nice to hear such good remarks about the service and food. I'm sorry you feel you were rushed, just let us know if you would like some time between courses next time and we will be more than happy to oblige. Hope to see you soon! More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I ate here a lot many years ago and returned for dinner recently with friends. Service was great and our old favourite dishes from the 90s were still on the menu and tasted exactly the same. Overall it still appears to be the high quality Chinese that it always was

Helpful?
Thank UncleBuncle
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that your return visit was just as you remembered it 20 years ago and our standards are the same! Thank you for your kind words. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never been more bitterly disappointed than I currently am having just endured a take away from amber regent. £40 for 2 chicken dishes that look like they were fresh out of a microwavable meal. When it arrived the sauce and contents were spilled into the bag, which was probably why the delivery girl got away so quickly. Containers... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonnyW94
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt that you had to write a review after speaking to you last night. You ordered through Deliveroo who are responsible for delivery of the order, we are not involved in this. When the order left us it was well packed as I had checked the order myself, it was only in transit that spillages must... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Come here at least once a month amazing Chinese have never had a bad meal and always try new things and could not fault anything I have had on the menu 😁😁

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

Always happy to hear from a regular like yourself. Look forward to seeing you again soon :) More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Amber is hands down mine and my family's favourite restaurant and has been for years. We spend every big occasion here, my 18th, my mum's 50th! Honestly never a let down. Staff so kind and friendly. A real Glasgow institution in my opinion, been coming here since I was very small. Look forward to every meal here.

Helpful?
Thank ScottishLass27
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are happy we can be a part of your big occasions and hope to see you for many more! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and partner are always looking for a good Chinese instead of the usual world buffets. Was told by a colleague to try here. Meal was excellent. Everything we got was really nice. Lovely restaurant inside as well. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank DebsM333
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your first visit with us and hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I had been holding off about leaving a review as I thought my initial reaction of becoming extremely angry and upset would diminish but unfortunately not. I had a wonderful experience at Amber regent, as I have had before with my family, right up till the end of the night. We had finished our meal and were comfortably full so... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Cdavers
amberregent1, Manager at Amber Regent, responded to this review

I am actually appalled at what you have written and your version of events seems to be very distorted. Yes the young man with Down' Syndrome did choke on his food and we did in fact offer our help but he was in some distress and his father declined any help from us and said that he was taking care... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Family meal just after Christmas to a restaurant I have never been to but came highly recommend. A huge selection of food and very tasty. The best Chinese I have been to in a long time but thought items a bit pricey.

Helpful?
Thank Gerryu2

Travelers who viewed Amber Regent also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Amber Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 50 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 2RA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > Merchant City
  • Neighborhood: Merchant City
  • Phone Number: +44 141 331 1655

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese, Asian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Amber Regent and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Amber Regent staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?