We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ketchup

$$
West End
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
44 Ashton Lane, Glasgow G12 8SJ, Scotland
+44 845 166 6011
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 1:00 am
Good for:
Families with children
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 423 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 130
    Excellent
  • 126
    Very good
  • 75
    Average
  • 48
    Poor
  • 44
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great food

First visit to ketchup, food was great, staff well very friendly and service was excellent. Will be back soon.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2015
Catherine M
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

First visit to ketchup, food was great, staff well very friendly and service was excellent. Will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW via mobile

The burgers are delicious and the milkshakes are awesome so tasty and served in old school glass milk bottles cool touch. staff are pleasant enough and its nice too see them singing happy birthday and making peoples visit that wee bit extra special. Theres also a cool burger challenge you can try if your guttsy enough ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile

Went in for a meal before a gig at the Oran Mor down the road. Burgers were nice - no complaints there. But upon finishing our main we were asked if we'd like dessert - we said we were ok for now as we'd like to finish the round of drinks we had. About 5-10 minutes later a waitress walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi Kerry N Thanks for dropping by Ketchup for a pre gig burger at the weekend, and we are very glad you enjoyed the food. We are very sorry you felt rushed out the door by the end of your visit which ended things on a sour note for you, we are recruiting and training a lot of new staff... More 

Irish in Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We loved the ambience of Ketchup. As you step through the doors, you are immediately transported back in time and era,. There was something interesting to see everywhere you looked. The tables and high stools felt vert unstable and wobbled but we won't let that spoil the review. It would simply take a handy person with a bunch of nails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi Ganny Gab! Thank you for awarding us 4 stars! We are delighted that you enjoyed our ambience, customer service and most importantly The BURGERS! If you are back in again and find your table unsatisfactory please ask one of our lovely staff who will do their best to move you and party onto a more suitable table! Further to... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Been there a number of times over the last few years. This place has been under management change I think, they have now brought back the old menu... But it still isn't as good as it was a couple of years back... People are OK, but the service is not great... It's kind of a hang out for university students... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi WalkKD Thanks for your review and your numerous visits to Ketchup over the past few years. We do indeed have a new management team in place, and have relaunched our original 2008 menu, which has been very well received by customers, we are working very hard to bring the old ketchup standards back, and we are sorry this has... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

For what you get I feel that it didn't pay for itself.drinks were good. The burger tasted like it was boiled! 🙈😳

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi Viinfluential We are very saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your recent ketchup experience, we can assure all our burgers are cooked fresh to order on our grill! We are glad to learn you enjoyed the drinks, but would be interested to learn more about your visit, what you ordered and the date of your visit- this... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

I wasn't blown away by my experience at ketchup, my burger was smaller than I expected. The service was good, very quick. The menu has a wide range of burgers however, very expensive. I would recommend coming here for a sundae or milkshake. I think ketchup is in a lovely location, maybe abit too pricey for the standard of food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi CatGiv, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, though we are a restaurant the serves burgers, that's where we feel the comparison with McDonald's ends, even if a posh one. All our burgers are prepared fresh, by our chefs and use the best quality meat sourced from Simon Howie Award winning butchers.While our pricing is more expensive... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Arrived late to meet friends who had already ordered and this was not a problem and the girl took my order immediately. The prices were a little on the steep side and although we are students and got the 2 for 1 burger deal it was still a lot of money to pay for something so mediocre. The food arrived,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Public Relations Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi Eleanor, Thanks for visiting us, we are very sorry you were left feeling disappointed with your food. We can assure all Ketchup food is freshly prepared on site by our kitchen team, and we do work very hard to get your food out fast. We are currently working on a new menu which will prove to better value and... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Went here during mid week after hearing great reviews over social media on this place. When you walk in its got a great retro feel about it. No one wore name badges but the tall gentleman who sat us down was lovely and explained everything for me as I hadn't been there before. The food came very fast and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Public Relations Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi Meghan, Thank you for recent visit to us and taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed or service and the feel of our venue. We are very sorry to hear you weren't blown away by our burgers, due to lots of recent feedback from our customers, yourself included, we are launching a whole... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

New menu is awful. I went to Ketchup West End to try the new menu and was deeply disappointed. Ketchup was my favourite place to eat and would go pretty often but today I wished I had went to McDonalds instead. The choice on the menu wasn't great my SOs favourite burger, the black and blue, wasn't available so he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Public Relations Manager at Ketchup, responded to this review

Hi Catherine M, Thank you for your feedback with regards your visit to Ketchup. Although it makes for some unpleasant reading it is very much appreciated. Your feedback is taken incredibly serious and why you received such a poor standard of food is not acceptable, the issues raised have been addressed with the management team and kitchen. Had you made... More 

Travelers who viewed Ketchup also viewed

 

Been to Ketchup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 44 Ashton Lane, Glasgow G12 8SJ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > West End
  • Neighborhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 845 166 6011

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 21
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 1:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ketchup staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?