We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillhead Bookclub

$$
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
17 Vinicombe Street, Glasgow G12, Scotland
+44 141 576 1700
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A venue where left and right handers can exist in harmony without fear of...
A venue where left and right handers can exist in harmony without fear of persecution. A licensed land of milk & honey where the ping-pong is plentiful the computer games are retro, the cocktails arrive in gramophones and the strawberry mojitos cost nought but 3 pounds. Vintage fairs on Sundays, sewing clubs on Tuesdays, bingo on Wednesdays plus a host of other relatively interesting tit-bits. Happy days. If you're into this kind of thing..
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 364 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 131
    Excellent
  • 123
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 35
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Veggie pleasure

Plenty of choice for veggies and meat eaters reasonable price popular with students relaxed atmosphere low lighting and felt anything goes! Good service loved Etonian mess

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 13, 2015
Michelle G
,
Cromer, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Special occasions
Add Photo

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW via mobile

We had the 5pm set menu. Staff were friendly and attentive but the main course (a potato and spinach curry) was so bland and almost stale tasting. There was no soap in the toilets - made me wonder about the hygiene behind the scenes. My 2 points are for the soup we had to start and the nice staff. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi Dominothecat, Thank you for leaving a review, however we are very disappointed that we were not able to deliver a great experience for you. We will pass your feedback onto chef RE the curry seasoning- and we can assure you that all of our back of house hygiene standards are rigorously adhered to at all times. Similarly we will... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

I used to love this place, but keep giving it chances and leave disappointed. Understaffed on a really busy night, booked in for 7.30pm no one came to take our drinks or food order, at at 7.55 i went to the bar to order and waited another 10 mins to be served by a nice girl on her fist shift.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi 939nic, We are very sorry to hear of the repeated let down in the service you have recieved while dining at the Bookclub, we are gathering together a new team and are working hard on training to ensure we are always delivering to the customer. We hope you can come back and see the improvements soon. Thanks {hb} More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

I'm no stranger to the Bookclub, I often suggest it for dinner and drinks with friends and usually we have a great time but after my most recent visit I won't be so quick to return. Booked a table via the booking form on the website for 8.45pm for my friend and I on a Wednesday as we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi Karen F, Sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the BookClub- The bingo is getting really popular each month and we had quite a high number of bookings as well as walk in business on the night- more than we had anticipated so the team were under some pressure. Had you alerted a member of staff to your problems... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Been here a couple of time for food. Cool place, very trendy. Staff are really friendly and attentive. Limited menu but the food is good. Its more of a bar than a restaurant I would say. The music was pretty loud so it was hard to hear what people sat next to me/opposite me were saying but all in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi Pedro G, Thanks for coming in and leaving a review. We will definitely be keeping an eye on the volume in the future, and if it ever is too loud, please let one of our staff know and we can adjust it for you! Our menu changes very frequently with a range of specials running every day- so we... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Nice interesting place for drinks but not a place for a chat with friends as very loud. Has some games upstairs but all in a terrible state so act mostly as junk....

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi Jjam85! Thanks for your review and valuable feedback. We will keep a handle on the volume upstairs as sometimes its get v loud on the ground floor and we crank it up, and forget about the upstairs- damned physics! We are delighted to tell you that we have a whole stack of new video games consoles and board games... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I've been here for lunch and dinner, and whilst the food was enjoyable, it's not the best I've ever had. It's my absolute favourite place to go for drinks though - the strawberry vodka mojitos are delicious and cheap, and every time I enter the bar I'm newly impressed by some aspect of the decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hillheadbookclub, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the lovely review - I'm fond of a strawberry mojito or two myself... see you again soon! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Cocktails are more ice than anything else, and the waiters could do with cracking a smile once and a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi MemberA003 Sorry to learn you didn't enjoy your recent time at The Bookclub. We can assure you each cocktail has a lot more in that ice, if you would have let us know at the time, we could even have provided you one with a strained one with no ice if you had preferred. We will pass on your... More 

Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Plenty of choice for veggies and meat eaters reasonable price popular with students relaxed atmosphere low lighting and felt anything goes! Good service loved Etonian mess

Was this review helpful? Yes
hillheadbookclub, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our veggie menu, we're quite proud of it round here... Our annual veggie banquet is coming up in june, keep an eye on the facebook page for more on that. See you soon! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I have visited the Hillhead Bookclub a handful of times and haven't had a bad experience yet. There's a great selection of food (especially for veggies like myself) and all at a great price too. The 5pm deals are an absolute bargain! Always a lovely atmosphere and very friendly and attentive staff. If you haven't been to the Hillhead Bookclub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hillheadbookclub, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review! I'me very happy to hear that you like the place. We're not only good value on 5pm - lunch is always under a fiver and dinner under a tenner, plus our famous strawberry mojitos are only three quid... See you again soon! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

No dinner more than a tenner ever, yummy drinks promos all through the week, great tasting food and really funky staff. This place is full of character and good food& drink at completely great prices and its family, dog & cat friendly! What's not to love?!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hillheadbookclub, General Manager at Hillhead Bookclub, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your lovely review! There's always lots of nonsense going on, keep an eye on our facebook and twitter pages. See you again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Hillhead Bookclub also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Hillhead Bookclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 17 Vinicombe Street, Glasgow G12, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 576 1700

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 23
  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions

Description

A venue where left and right handers can exist in harmony without fear of persecution. A licensed land of milk & honey where the ping-pong is plentiful the computer games are retro, the cocktails arrive in gramophones and the strawberry mojitos cost nought but 3 pounds. Vintage fairs on Sundays, sewing clubs on Tuesdays, bingo on Wednesdays plus a host of other relatively interesting tit-bits. Happy days. If you're into this kind of thing..
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hillhead Bookclub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?