We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bar Milano

#157 of 1,988 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Mains Avenue | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QZ, Scotland
0141 621 2288
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Bar Milano and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 429 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 306
    Excellent
  • 52
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Dinner

Good to be back at the best restaurant in East Renfrewshire another great meal with fantastic friendly service

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Callum H
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The food in Bar Milano was mixed. Prawn cocktail not good. Garlic pizza uninspired. Chicken risotto wonderful, bruschetta very nice. That's just some of the meals we had. However if you go here make sure you book a table just inside the area you arrive into. If you are seated through the curtain to the back of this former bank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice building and meet and greet but down-hill thereafter. In fairness, apologies were made by management and reductions made to the final bill.

Helpful?
Thank RetiredExpat2015
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience of Milano. Unfortunately due to the vagueness of your post I can't provide you with a detailed response. If it is possible to contact us via email and explain to us in full the situation of how things went "down-hill" i would much... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Being new to the area we decided to try a new restaurant out with family and friends who were visiting for the weekend! But unfortunately it was not as great. Firstly we waited over 35 minutes for cocktails (which we ended up not get charged for as my sister complained). They also did not have the wine we wanted! Then... More 

Helpful?
Thank eils66
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

First of all thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Milano. As we did on the night, I would like to take this opportunity again to apologise that you felt you didn't enjoy yourself. As you have mentioned amendments were made to your bill and over £60 was removed. After speaking to your server on the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very very disappointing!! Food was Awful ,Really awful. We were 8 people,pre-booked for Hogmany, Dinner & music @£75.00PP Quite pricey even by city centre standards**** but the price was not the issue here, we had been before without complaint !! The usual high quality was not available.. Cold food, Cold pasta ,cold soup Sloppy desserts WHAT HAPPENED WAS THAT WE... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lindyloo21827
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Silver, We've tried, but we can't recall a time when you haven't complained, although you stated otherwise. Every time you visit you're looking for something for free. To be quite honest with you nobody wants to serve you anymore, and as you were told on the phone you will be refused service should you try return. Happy New... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good to be back at the best restaurant in East Renfrewshire another great meal with fantastic friendly service

Helpful?
Thank Callum H
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

Hi Callum, First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review of you dining experience, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Here at Milano we try to make every visit better than the last, so we a glad that you have enjoyed yourself. Once again Callum, I thank you for your kind... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here for dinner on Christmas day and we were thoroughly impressed with the quality of the food and the staff. We all had a very enjoyable evening and will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, First of all thank you for choosing Milano for your Christmas Day festivities, we are incredibly happy to hear you enjoyed it. We take pride in training all of our staff to the highest ability to make the customers dining experience the best it can be. We hope see you again throughout the year. Kind Regards, Milano Management More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

Nice and warm place !! And really one of the best carbonara I ever eat !! Original Italian restorant with original Italian hospitality had the best time!!!

Helpful?
Thank Stelios M
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

Hi Stelios M, First of all I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you on leaving such a lovely review! Here at Milano we take pride on being welcoming to all our customers and we are glad you have noticed this. We also believe we have the best chefs in town, and I definitely agree with you in regards... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

A party of 12 for a pretheatre. Menu extremely limited. Rice with the Gorgonzola chicken was solid. Some main courses cold or lukewarm. Waited ages for main course and some were still eating when we had to leave. It could have been good but it was not.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

HI Mary, First of all I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your meal. I'd also like to take this opportunity to apologise on your experience. Here at Milano we take ownership of our faults and do our best to learn and grow from them, this being said we do ask that the customer work with... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Thought id try this restaurant as ive drove passed on numerous occasions. Lovely Decor, Large wait for both Starter and Main course. Food acceptable.Entertainment (singer) was very good. Big disappointment when bill arrived and a Phantom bottle of wine had been included onto bill. When this was queried, no Explanation given. Dinner beware. possible scam on unsuspecting Dinners

Helpful?
3 Thank mrcss832
Bar_Milano, Manager at Bar Milano, responded to this review

Dear mrcss832 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Milano. The festive period is very busy for many restaurants and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the live entertainment on the evening! I found it hard to believe that there was no explanation given as to why there was a bottle of wine on... More 

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Went here for a Christmas meal with a friend as we had really enjoyed our visit last year at this time. Had the spicy tomato soup which was lovely. Bit disappointed that the Turkey dinner was off the menu due to a delivery problem but had a steak instead. The waiter was very good and we got petit fours with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet S

Travelers who viewed Bar Milano also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bar Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 Mains Avenue | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QZ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: 0141 621 2288

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pizza, Mediterranean, Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bar Milano staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?