We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grill House

$$
Steakhouse, Grill, Mexican, Barbecue
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 470500
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 438 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 176
    Excellent
  • 142
    Very good
  • 54
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 23
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
A great night!

We were a large party on a Saturday night and it turned out to be a great night. Good food (not excellent, hence the 4 not 5); nice selection; excellent value for money; helpful, friendly staff who really went the extra mile for us; stark room without any soft furnishing but still a really nice... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 27, 2015
girlsaroundtheworld
,
scotland
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

So sad to be writing this .... My family and I have been regulars at the 'house' restaurants for years and in particular The Grill House (previously La Posada). I had been told by others that since the G1 takeover they had really gone downhill in terms of food and service, but my daughter and I decided to try it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrillHouseStAndrews, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Good morning Jaci14. I'm very concerned and disappointed to hear about your recent experience at The Grill House. If you could contact me at info@grillhousestandrews.co.uk - I would like to discuss your visit further. More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Visited during the Open. No intention to return. Average. Average. Its part of a chain now and suffering for it. Average is the best I can say. Set menu , limited choice. Meals? Average and poor value for money. Long waits. Even the ice cream was awful. Service staff get a 10 for trying to recover but I won't return.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi CamillaGlasgow, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you would describe the food as average. We aim to serve the best quality food and it surprises me to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your visit. I am pleased that you felt the staff were very attentive and tried to... More 

scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We were a large party on a Saturday night and it turned out to be a great night. Good food (not excellent, hence the 4 not 5); nice selection; excellent value for money; helpful, friendly staff who really went the extra mile for us; stark room without any soft furnishing but still a really nice vibe. Everyone enjoyed themselves and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi girldaroundtheworld, Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased to hear that you had a great night and thought the staff were able to go the extra mile for your party. I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Mark Whiteside General Manager More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Came here with a large party on sat . We were given a set menu to choose from, with lots of nice choices. I had haggis fritter to start which was fantastic Followed by steak, which came with chips, grilled tomato, mushroom and pepercorn sauce. It was all delicious and came promptly. Staff were very attentive and friendly. The cocktails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi CEDerbyshire, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and accompanying cocktails. I am sorry that your party were split over two tables. We do try our very best to accommodate large parties together however sometimes this is just not possible with the space we have. I do hope that you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Went to the Grill House for a change as fed up with Ziggys. Booked easily online. Free frozen margarita on arrival. We both had the steaks that were cooked to perfection! Great staff and very efficient service on a busy Friday night. Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi Brianelsy, Thank you for your recent review. I am so happy to hear that you had a great meal and that your steaks were cooked to perfection. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Mark Whiteside General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Not the first time we've eaten here, and not much to complain about before, but the service has gone downhill in all aspects. 10 minutes after arriving (for a booked table) we had to ask for menus & for someone to take drinks orders. Our visit coincided with The Open in St Andrews, and the menu was restricted... Menu price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi Pam H, Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed to hear that you waited a long time for your meal. I can assure you that this is not our standard service and I will be discussing this with our team to highlight key areas for improvement. I do hope that you will return in the future. Kind... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Food is always fab! And great value for money! Staff are all fantastic, very friendly, and great with kids! Love the decor! And I LOVE the frozen margaritas!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi Lucy S, Thank you for your recent review. I am thrilled to hear that you think the staff are fantastic and the frozen margaritas are great! I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Mark Whiteside General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

It was just lovely! Staff are friendly, they were great with the kids. Food was delightful. Frozen margaritas were a treat! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi Katy L, Thank you for your recent review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thought the Margaritas were great! I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Mark Whiteside General Manager More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Great location for dinner during the week of the Open Championship. The margaritas were average at best, service slow - admittedly this their busiest week of the year - and fajitas ... Different. Not bad, good atmosphere. Overall, a decent choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi donc880, Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed to hear that you thought your meal was very average. We strive to serve only the highest quality food and I am sorry to hear that you did not feel this was this case throughout your visit. I do hope that we can welcome you back, should you return... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Poor selection of vegetarian dishes but had the usual suspects, Caesar salad, nachos, veg burger, mixed beans, it's a shame. However the meal was lovely when it arrived nothing exceptional but very nice. The service was fine no problems a little intrusive but helpful, lots of good well meaning kids. The atmosphere was ok just a nice meal out without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi cheriannad, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in The Grill House however I am sorry that you did not feel the vegetarian selection had enough variety. We do try to accommodate all dietary requests and I can only apologise that this was not to your satisfaction. I do hope... More 

Travelers who viewed Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill House

Address: St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1334 470500
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 11 - 31
Cuisine: Steakhouse, Grill, Mexican, Barbecue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 470500

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 31
  • Cuisine: Steakhouse, Grill, Mexican, Barbecue

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grill House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?