We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 470500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 107 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    119
    42
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We celebrated my daughter's 21'st birthday here, and what a fine choice it was. The food was excellent, and the service was courteous and friendly. It was also very good value for money. I would highly recommend the Grill House, and whilst it was our first visit, I'm confident that it won't be our last.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma H, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! and I hope your daughter enjoyed all of her birthday celebrations! We try out best to offer great value for money while serving freshly prepared food made to order by our fantastic kitchen team. We hope to see you and your family again very... More

Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I have visited the Grill House many times over the last number of years. It's a lovely restaurant where you wouldn't feel out of place if you were dressed casually, but you could visit for a nice evening out too. In October I ate here twice a couple of weeks apart. The first time everything was perfect. The waiter was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am so pleased you have taken the time to write such a great review! I remember your table exactly (I was the lady that fixed the lettuce confusion!) Chloe is getting on great with us and I believe she will become a real asset to the team, thank you again for your patience with her while she... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Overall was quite impressed with the food. Pull pork was very well seasoned and good quality, although we were slightly disapointed with the sweet potato fries. However service was somewhat lacking, The chips we ordered initially were forgotten and we had to ask for them again after the mains had been served. Luckily company was great as the wait left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your food so much! The chefs cook pulled pork daily, slow cooked for hours until tender, the smell in the mornings is always amazing! I am sorry to hear that you felt the standard of service did not meet your expectations on the night. We strive to give every customer... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Four of us ate here last evening. Were cold and hungry on arrival, left fully satisfied after tasty food, enjoyed in pleasant surroundings, with friendly, attentive service. The early evening menu is excellent value for money. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review! I have passed on your comments to the staff working that night and given them all a pat on the back! Hope to see you again, Emma Hodson Restaurant manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Came here the other night with 2 kids and my husband and had a wonderful time. The manageress lizzie made such an effort with the little ones (even stopped my 2 yr old crying! Can she live with us?!) Chicken fajitas went down well as did the sticky toffee pudding. Wish we lived locally. Mary x

Was this review helpful? Yes
LMcCallum75, General Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for choosing to dine with us at The Grill House. It's lovely to hear your kind comments within your 5* review. Lizzie is an absolute treat and a top hit with the children (or even more so the parents!) I'll make sure your nice words are passed on to Lizzie and the kitchen team alike. Kind... More

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I had 5 days in St Andrews and chose 2 good restaurants for the first 2 nights then got to the Grill House on the 3rd...then never went anywhere else. Had the Early Evening menu twice then indulged myself from the main menu on the 3rd. First impressions count...not only supplied with large portion of taco and salsa but a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! I remember you well and I'm very happy you enjoyed everything so much. We value all our guests, whether you're on your own or in a party of 35! I've passed on your nice comments to the team and I look forward to seeing you next year. More

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This was part of a group, in St Andrews, of 3 restaurants, and another one that I know of in Stirling.Seems to have been sold recently to a Glasgow based firm who now own around 5 in St Andrews, and around 50 in total. It still seems to be much the same, and was fine. Stated in a local paper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit to the Grill House but worry not! We have simply run out of our loyalty cards and are waiting for them to be printed. The next time you're in please tell us that you didn't receive a loyalty card on your previous visit and we will... More

Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Two course lunch for £ 6.95 is very affordable. Cosy interior with simple decor. Service-oriented staff who did not think we were awkward when we wanted another table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a good review! We value all feedback and am very happy to hear that the staff were so welcoming and accommodating. kind regards Emma Hodson Restaurant manager More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Worst steak meal and service we have ever had. Three of four of us ordered steaks none of which was right first time round. In fact a total of seven steaks were served (one of them twice, warmed up!) before the order was even remotely right, though even then, one of the sauces was wrong. The meat was of very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, General Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. The quality of the cut of meat you were served is not typical of our suppliers and therefore unknown at the point of serving by either the kitchen team or the assistant manager that dealt with your table. This is an issue that the chef has... More

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

A great meal and a really nice evening. Lizzie and the rest of the staff made us feel like no request was a burden and nothing was too much trouble. The free shot of frozen margarita didn't hurt either. Have been before and will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent experience dining with us. My assistant manager Lizzie is always happy to help and does a great job! So she was thrilled to hear your feedback and I have given her a wee reward for her hard work! See you again soon, kind regards Emma Hodson Restaurant manager More

Travelers who viewed Grill House also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill House

Address: St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1334 470500
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 10:00 am

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing