We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 470500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 107 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    119
    45
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW via mobile

Having ordered our meals, the waitress forgets about our drinks and I have to call her over to ask for the drinks again. Food arrives-very plain and ordinary starter-nothing special. Within 2 minutes of our starter being taken, our main arrives!! Obviously not freshly cooked. My friend had the turkey and she couldn't even cut into the potatoes because they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Attended Grill House on 6th December. Show to our table promptly. Waitress served us with little savouries, nice touch. Unfortunately it took over an hour for the food to arrive. No explanation. The food however was first class. Unfortunately the restaurant is being let down by poor service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forfar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Been here before and never been disappointed but today's lunchtime experience was awful. Visited with my husband, son and 2 granddaughters (19 and 15). We had a long wait to be served. Drinks took a while to arrive then we waited for starters which took another good while - but they were very good. However, it was downhill after that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate all feedback whether it be positive or negative and reviews such as yours can only help us to improve. I can only apologise for the standard of food you were served and I can assure you that it is not the norm. I sincerely hope that you give... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We can wait to go back again. Would just point out our sat nav couldn't find the place, we had to call the Grill, sat nav thinks it's on Market Street. Well worth finding, couldn't fault a thing and cost is very reasonable for what we had - see you again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I remember you well, it was myself who gave you directions! Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, I'm so glad that you enjoyed everything. I hope to welcome you back again soon (now you know where we are!) Best wishes, Lizzie Marr More 

Leven, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Took my daughter for dinner before a movie. Once again The Grill House delivered. We had dined here for many, many years and have never had a bad meal! Service is good to with warm and friendly staff. All food is fresh, locally sourced and delicious. Any negative comments on here should have been brought up with staff at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! I'm so glad you and your daughter had a nice time. It really gives everyone a boost when we see reviews such as this. I hope that you continue to dine with us for many more years to come. Best wishes, Lizzie Marr More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Don't normally like to leave bad reviews, however thought I would hoping someone in charge reads this and hope it helps improve this place. Restaurant could be alot better as they have everything right apart from the food. Women who served us was really nice and the decor was really nice. However the food wasnt up the scratch. Went for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is reviews such as yours which really help us to improve. I'm glad you enjoyed the service and the décor however your comments regarding our food is quite concerning. Please be assured we do not use frozen burgers, we get them delivered fresh, daily from Simon... More 

Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We celebrated my daughter's 21'st birthday here, and what a fine choice it was. The food was excellent, and the service was courteous and friendly. It was also very good value for money. I would highly recommend the Grill House, and whilst it was our first visit, I'm confident that it won't be our last.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma H, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! and I hope your daughter enjoyed all of her birthday celebrations! We try out best to offer great value for money while serving freshly prepared food made to order by our fantastic kitchen team. We hope to see you and your family again very... More 

Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I have visited the Grill House many times over the last number of years. It's a lovely restaurant where you wouldn't feel out of place if you were dressed casually, but you could visit for a nice evening out too. In October I ate here twice a couple of weeks apart. The first time everything was perfect. The waiter was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am so pleased you have taken the time to write such a great review! I remember your table exactly (I was the lady that fixed the lettuce confusion!) Chloe is getting on great with us and I believe she will become a real asset to the team, thank you again for your patience with her while she... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Overall was quite impressed with the food. Pull pork was very well seasoned and good quality, although we were slightly disapointed with the sweet potato fries. However service was somewhat lacking, The chips we ordered initially were forgotten and we had to ask for them again after the mains had been served. Luckily company was great as the wait left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your food so much! The chefs cook pulled pork daily, slow cooked for hours until tender, the smell in the mornings is always amazing! I am sorry to hear that you felt the standard of service did not meet your expectations on the night. We strive to give every customer... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Four of us ate here last evening. Were cold and hungry on arrival, left fully satisfied after tasty food, enjoyed in pleasant surroundings, with friendly, attentive service. The early evening menu is excellent value for money. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review! I have passed on your comments to the staff working that night and given them all a pat on the back! Hope to see you again, Emma Hodson Restaurant manager More 

Travelers who viewed Grill House also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill House

Address: St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1334 470500
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grill House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?