We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grill House

St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 470500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 108 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 am
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
25 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    115
    41
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

The first time I was here was part of a staff Christmas party in January 2012 and we have gone back every January since, and will be going back in 2015. The staff are incredible at their job, and it's clear that they have strong management in place as the service remained perfect when I was in for lunch with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit here, first time I came with a voucher and low expectations. I was blown away and decided to return for the full evening meal. First of all: free nachos and frozen margaritas?! Erm awesome!! I ordered the potato skins to start and a nice cocktail. Cocktail was delicious! Potato skin was proper homemade potato, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Wow! Reviews don't come much better than this! Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, our chefs work really hard preparing everything in house and it's lovely to know that their hard work is appreciated. I very much hope to welcome you back soon for some more margaritas.... More

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The great thing about this place is that it offers a really cheap lunch menu which can be a welcome addition to a day spent wandering around St Andrews. The base menu is pretty good but the options are limited. It's hard to avoid paying a supplement for something on the list, but you don't have to go mad. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, our lunch menu changes often and there are always a couple of supplemented items on the menu such as our rump steak and a fish dish, the supplements are there because they cost chef more to buy in, we are always striving to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I visited the Grill House with my partner and some friends for a spot of early lunch. I wish we hadn't. Don't get me wrong the food was good but the service was terrible. We initially waited 20 minutes for someone to come and take a drinks order. When the server did come to take the order she was grumpy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

I have privately messaged Stacey in hopes of getting more details from her to investigate what happened more thoroughly. We strive for high levels of customer service in a fun and friendly atmosphere and we certainly did not deliver that on this occasion, and for that we apologise. I have printed this review and have shown all members of staff... More

Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the offerings of this restaurant. The menu was Mexican and had very interesting items. The service was mediocre and I'm afraid the atmosphere was beyond casual. There was a very long table with a huge family and a screaming toddler (at 9pm). I know the restaurant could not be blamed for the behavior of those... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your food, we have a talented and hard working team in the kitchen who make that possible. The Grill House is known for being a very family friendly establishment and have no policy on restricting when children are allowed to dine, this... More

Fife
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

myself and my husband visited the grill house today and was very disappointed we had the set lunch menu and I must say the food was not up to the standard I expected my husband had the soup with a small portion of bread I had lamb koffta we both had the burger the roll was dry and the burger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to the Grill House. We aim to provide great, freshly prepared food at affordable prices and it seems like this time we failed to deliver and I am truly sorry for that. I have shown your review to all the staff who were working that day... More

England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had an early evening family meal, which was quite good value off the set 9.95 two-course menu available from 4 to 6pm. The food arrived sizzling hot and was enjoyed by all. Good service from friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We aim to offer the best value we possibly can and our £5.95 lunch and £9.95 early evening menus are always popular. They change often so there is always something new to try. Thanks again! More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Had a fantastic lunch with family one busy Saturday afternoon. Food was delicious and good value and was served quickly yet we did not feel rushed. Service was faultless. We were made to feel very welcome and when we asked to change a fish dish (entirely our fault ) it was replaced without hesitation and quickly exchanged allowing us all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. After asking around I realised that it was Aga who served you on Saturday. She is a highly valued member of the team and her customer service is second to none. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in town.... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A group of 12 of us came here following a short ceremony elsewhere in memory of friends and relatives. We were given a long table in a room by ourselves. The fixed lunch menu was interesting and excellent value and the staff were friendly and welcoming, from booking on the phone through to the end of the meal. Perhaps the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, your table were a pleasure to serve and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends back again soon. Thanks again. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have been going to the grill house for a long time and have to say although the food is still great, and the value for money is amazing, the service is getting worse. My self and my 8 year old went for lunch and although given a table quite promptly we waited 20 minutes for our order to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Assistant Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is feedback such as yours which really helps us to improve as a team. I recognise that the amount of time you waited was unacceptable and I would like to reassure you that it is not the norm, We pride ourselves on offering great customer service and it seems... More

Travelers who viewed Grill House also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing