We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 470500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 111 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    121
    45
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stranraer
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 NEW

We ate here for lunch on a very cold Saturday. Place was mobbed lucky to get a table which we thought a good sign. Pens /quizzes for the kids always go down well. Starter and main meal combined very reasonably priced , all in 4 meals plus 2 starters and 4 drinks only 32 pounds. My steak was good as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Popped through to one of our favourite eateries just before Christmas one Sunday afternoon. Cold day, warm restaurant, good start. I can never see by my favourite bowl of chilli stew. Not like others I've tried this is made with chunks of steak instead of mince & you have the option of it being served in a tortilla basket which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

Beautiful chicken salad and then to follow I had the best Enchiladas I have ever had! Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Date Of Visit: 26/1/15 - £6.95p Lunchtime 2 Course Menu. Cost Of Lunch: £13.90p. I Visited This Place With My Sister For The First Time Whilst Visiting St. Andrews For The 2 Course Lunchtime Menu. For Starters We Had The Cheese In Breadcrumbs And The Cajun Chicken Wings. My Sister Liked The Cheese In Breadcrumbs However My Cajun Chicken Was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittenweem, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I have been a regular customer for a few years and have always been very pleased with the service and especially the food. Went couple of weeks ago ordered my food. Food came out and noticed they have changed the children's chicken fillets they aren't real chicken they're processed chicken but still advertising them as chicken fillets. Hair also in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Attended with my wife and daughter on a Saturday night at 6.20 pm, they do specials menu 2 courses for £9.95 every day 4-6.30pm and also a similar lunch menu at £5.95 from 12-4. We've been numerous times before and at times the menu is not to our liking but that's a personal choice, theirs always something you can order,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent visit to The Grill House. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, however, I would like to apologise for the minor errors that you encountered. I have mentioned the issue you had with the batter to the chef as we don't have a hot plate in our kitchen.... More 

South Yorkshire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

There are now masses of Americans going to school in St. Andrews, and this place reflects that fact. Normally, I don't give in to eating what's familiar, but every once in a while I just crave BBQ ribs and other indulgences from the homeland. Even if you aren't American, this place is fun, has a large menu, and tasty food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to The Grill House. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Lizzie Marr More 

Monifieth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Headed here tonight with the family after reading some of the previous review on trip advisor. High expectations however sadly the core product - the food - let it down badly. We all went for Mexican apart from my daughter who had wings. Summary - steak fajitas - where was the steak. The dish cost £10.95 me then an extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Good evening WoodsideHouse. It's very disappointing to hear your first experience at The Grill House wasn't a positive one. Let me assure you this isn't the norm. As you mention, we have a very positive reputation in St Andrews and I'm sorry that you felt our food wasn't value for money. I have spoken to the Kitchen Team regarding the... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The Grill House has always been our family's favourite restaurant in St Andrews. We took our daughter for dinner tonight and we were very disappointed. The service was poor . Her sweet potato chips were not cooked. The menu was much more limited. There were no specials as previously.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Good afternoon JudithB. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on our TripAdvisor page. I'm disappointed to hear your most recent visit to The Grill House wasn't the greatest. We always aim to provide excellent service and food so to hear that the service was poor and the sweet potato wedges were undercooked isn't acceptable. As you mention,... More 

Colombo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This was my first visit to The Grill House and I intend being back. It is situated in an old house and the decor is reminiscent of a Mexican cantina and, given that the rooms are small and intimate, it works well. The staff were very friendly and attentive without being 'in your face'. The complimentary frozen margueritas were lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizzieMarr, Manager at Grill House, responded to this review

Hello Jinty, Thanks for leaving a review on our TripAdvisor page. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our frozen cocktails and tasty food, and found our food great value for money. Please visit us again next time your in St Andrews. Kind regards, Lizzie Marr More 

Travelers who viewed Grill House also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill House

Address: St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1334 470500
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grill House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?