We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolls House Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
European, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
+44 1334 477422
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat...
The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 840 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 408
    Excellent
  • 256
    Very good
  • 95
    Average
  • 51
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Glass half full

Again one of my favourite restaurants in st andrews, we travel up 4 or 5 times a year and love this wee place. New owners.... New decor.... New menu.... Yes yes yes. It needed a change and i think they are going in the right direction! Give them time to find their feet and i am certain it will be... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 12, 2015
jamie o
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW

Possibly one of the most awful meals we have had. So sorry that we did not read reviews prior to heading for lunch. A family of 5 and we went on the basis of The Dolls House reputation, appears that since it has opened under new managment it has gone downhill. Recent reviews refer to the pasta starter and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 NEW

Having not been in St Andrews for a number of years, I wanted to return to what used to be a real hotspot. Unfortunately it was not a positive experience. On arrival the two of us were seated upstairs, completely alone. And we were not joined by any other diners the entire evening. This was completely lacking atmosphere. In addition,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

Visited this restaurant about a month ago as the menu displayed outside looked very attractive. What a mistake. I ordered mussels in what was described as a tomato chilli sauce. I have eaten mussels on many occasions and have never encountered anything quite as awful as the plate that was presented here. The sauce which appeared to have been just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Angela K, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tomato sauce which came with the mussels. We prepare fresh food every day in our kitchen and it is disappointing to hear that you did not think it was up to our usual high standards. We are currently in the... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

What on earth happened to the Dolls House restaurant? Eaten here many times before this visit and enjoyed the experience every time. However, first visit since it changed hands was awful, so much so, we won't be back. Menu limited, bringing it into the bracket of standard pub fare (yet prices would suggest it offers a better culinary experience). Sadly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Customer-review1, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your latest visit to The Doll's House. I will be discussing your comments with our kitchen team at our next managers meeting to ensure that we can maintain the high standards that we strive to achieve. We are currently reviewing our menu offerings and I appreciate your feedback... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Visited the Doll's House for the first time since G1 takeover. Food was bland , mediocre , pub like and nothing like the healthy variety and choice of the previous ownership. Will not be back again . Sorry you need to rethink your strategy here

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Roy M, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt the food was not up to the high standards that we try our best to maintain. We are currently reviewing our menu and I hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This is purely a critique on the food and not the decor or ambience or front of house staff. The market menu probably would represent good value for money IF the quality was in evidence. Not so unfortunately. The ravioli starter reminded me of Heinz 'ravioli in the tin' - you know, the stuff that is stodgy and presented in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi GlasgowBobScott, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your ravioli and thought that the Market Menu did not represent good value for money. We are currently in the process of review our menu offerings and appreciate all of your feedback as this will only help us to improve. I do hope... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

Again one of my favourite restaurants in st andrews, we travel up 4 or 5 times a year and love this wee place. New owners.... New decor.... New menu.... Yes yes yes. It needed a change and i think they are going in the right direction! Give them time to find their feet and i am certain it will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi jamie o, Thank you for your 5* review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the new decor and new menu. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to St Andrews. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Recently visited here for birthday lunch which was booked through 5pm.co on arrival we informed the waitress of our booking through 5pm.co which was a totally different menu from the one being offered,she handed us a menu and informed us this was only menu available(not 5pm) our drinks were only replenished when we attracted someones attention to order more (we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
venue_support, General Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Nancy b, Thank you for your review and for bringing these issues to my attention. I will contact 5pm to confirm our offering with them to ensure that this incident does not occur. I will be taking your comments to our weekly management meeting and discussing your feedback with our senior chefs and management team. We welcome all feedback... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Visited for the first time since the refurbishment/change of hands with family and was very disappointed! Nothing original or different about the place now, even the food has gone from something special and fresh to a 'no effort' menu you could find in any pub nationwide and it all tasted ( and I suspect was) bought in premade and reheated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
venue_support, General Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Jenn831, Thank you for your review, we welcome feedback from all our guests. I will pass your feedback regarding your food onto our kitchen team as we are always looking to improve. We are currently reviewing our menus and we hope to make some additions to our offering as we move into summer. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Visited this newly refurbished, now under new ownership, restaurant last night as one of a group of 5 for early evening menu. We were one of the first groups to arrive with table booked for 5.30pm. Our order for drinks/food was not taken until 6pm. We decided to order our drinks and food together to 'speed things up'. Drinks arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
venue_support, General Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Mary W, Thank you for your review and for bringing these issues to my attention. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your food, however disappointed to hear about the service you experienced. I will be taking you comments to our weekly managers meeting and discussing your review with our management team and senior chefs. We do hope you... More 

Travelers who viewed Dolls House Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Dolls House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 477422

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 106
  • Cuisine: European, British, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolls House Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dolls House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?