We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolls House Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
European, British, Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
+44 1334 477422
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat...
The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 809 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 402
    Excellent
  • 249
    Very good
  • 87
    Average
  • 47
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Fabulous food, great service

My husband and I went to this restaurant for our wedding anniversary and it was fabulous! The restaurant has recently been refurbished and looks great, there is a warm and relaxing atmosphere and the staff looked after us very well. The food was amazing, beautifully presented and there was plenty... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
sotlandshoequeen
,
scotland
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

My husband and I went to this restaurant for our wedding anniversary and it was fabulous! The restaurant has recently been refurbished and looks great, there is a warm and relaxing atmosphere and the staff looked after us very well. The food was amazing, beautifully presented and there was plenty of it! We both had the steak which was cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Had heard a lot of good reviews about this restaurant and was really looking forward to it but was nothing special. There were 4 of us and 3 meals arrived together and we had to wait at least 5 minutes for the 4th meal to arrive. This may have been why my veg burger was on the cool side. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Cathirene, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your recent trip to The Doll's House and that you thought the service was not up to our usual high standards. Can you please email me at info@dollshousestandrews.co.uk so that I can investigate this with our team? I look forward to hearing from... More 

Spittal of Glenshee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 NEW

We dropped in at lunchtime today expecting the previous good quality and value for money for the lunch-time menu and were very disappointed. The price of the set menu had increased by £3 and the food was not great. Been customers for a number of years, It was sold to a chain late last year and it's like chalk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi IainPerthshire, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent trip to The Doll's House and were disappointed in the new menu. We do hope that you will return in the future. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

SCOTLAND
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 NEW via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch with fussy daughter. Staff couldn't be more helpful and catered for all requests. Great service and good value food. The battered fish and chips in particular were very good. Lots of customers turned away at door so maybe book in advance or avoid peak times. Will be returning again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi FraserM01, Thank you for your kind review! I am glad that you enjoyed your meal at The Doll's House and that you thought our team were helpful in catering for all of your requests. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Having visited this restaurant on several occasions in the past, we booked a table for a recent visit to St andrews. The table we were given was in a tight corner and despite empty tables for four our request for a bigger table was refused. However later when a couple came in with no booking they were given a table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Mostly, I am sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable in The Doll's House and were disappointed with your table as well as your meal. Can you please email me at info@dollshousestandrews.co.uk so that I can investigate these issues with our team? I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I did enjoy my food for presentation and taste. I was hoping to have the Sunday Roast but ended-up with the Beef Shin. I felt the place was overcrowded and despite a heater being above the door being next to the door was an awkward place to sit and was cold when the door was politely left open for multiple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi IMM12197612, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your beef shin and thought that it was presented well. However I am sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable throughout your meal and that you were disappointed with your liquid dessert. I would appreciate if you could email me at info@dollshousestandrews.co.uk so... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

My family and I have been to the Dolls House many times over the last four years, however I felt that the recent take-over has only had negative effects on the restaurants. My first impression was that the tables were far too small - we were a party of 6 and were squeezed onto a table that would tightly fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Michaelsh93, Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that you thought the food was exceptionally well cooked and was tender and tasty. However, I am sorry to hear that you did not like our new decor and thought that the tables were not big enough for your party and that you did not think that... More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Popped in on a busy Friday and was lucky to get a table for two. They do a set lunch (2 or 3 courses) which was great value. Mr TravellingScot is a meat eater and I'm vegetarian and we were both very pleased with the menu choices and service. It's been a while since I've dined here, they've had an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi TravellingScot, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to The Doll's House and were pleased with the menu and service. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Called here whilst visiting Saint Andrews, light well decorated and clean, Service was excellent very proffessional. Food was delish. I had pan fried scallops with bacon and salad as a starter the rest of our party had the pate everyone enjoyed it. Main course we all had the signiture fish and chips with peas the fish was excallent the batter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi 720suzy58, Thank you for your recent 5* review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Doll's House and thought that the service was excellent and very professional as well as enjoying the food. We hope to welcome you back again during your next visit to St Andrews. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I was slightly concerned by the most recent review but was happy to give the benefit of the doubt and we tried The Dolls House for lunch today. So glad we did. Food was really tasty, service was friendly and attentive and at £10.95 for 2 courses, excellent value. Lovely setting and relaxing decor, would recommend to friends visiting the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Susan M, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing lunch in The Doll's House and thought that the food was tasty as well as receiving friendly and attentive service. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Dolls House Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Dolls House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 477422

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 104
  • Cuisine: European, British, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolls House Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dolls House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?