We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolls House Restaurant

$$$$
European, British, Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
+44 1334 477422
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat...
The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 905 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 423
    Excellent
  • 274
    Very good
  • 104
    Average
  • 63
    Poor
  • 41
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great food, little underwhelmed.

We went on Saturday night to celebrate a birthday- food was great, really delicious. recommend pumpkin ravioli, haggis neeps and tatties and the lamb dish, really stunning food. There was something just not right though and we cant put our fingers on it. service was friendly and efficient... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 28, 2015
Sue B
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Doing business
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Our first visit to the Dolls House since it's new ownership. The service was appalling - we were ignored for a few minutes on arrival, table was pointed out to us across the room, we had to remind the waitress about one of the starters ( no apologies and no sense of haste to then get it out to us).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi moletravels, Thank you for sharing your recent feedback. I am very concerned and sorry to hear that you did not feel that the service and food were up to our usual high standards during your visit. I can assure you that this is not our standard service and food quality and I would like to discuss this with you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

Having visited the Doll's House on many occasions in the past whilst holidaying in St Andrews and enjoyed excellent food in the unique surroundings, it was such a disappointment to dine here today amidst the all too familiar bland feeling of a chain-owned restaurant. The menu was limited and uninspired - if I'd wanted fish and chips I would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Elizabeth G, Thank you for your recent feedback. I am very concerned to hear that you experienced poor service throughout your visit. We aim to provide only the best possible service and I am sorry that you did not feel that this was the case during your recent visit. Our chefs use fresh ingredients and it surprises me that... More 

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Dolls House before it changed hands was my very favourite place place to eat . We visited for the first time since the change for sunday roast which was very disappointing. Roast pork was on the menu which 2 of us ordered {Sunday at 5 pm}. The waitress came back a few minutes later to say there was a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Lindsay F, Thank you for your recent feedback. I am sorry to hear that you felt the Sunday roast was not up to the high standards we aim to achieve. I will be discussing your comments with our kitchen team to ensure that our food is always served to the best quality possible. I do hope that you will... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

We went on Saturday night to celebrate a birthday- food was great, really delicious. recommend pumpkin ravioli, haggis neeps and tatties and the lamb dish, really stunning food. There was something just not right though and we cant put our fingers on it. service was friendly and efficient. unfortunatley our table was right in the draught of the door, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Sue B, thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you thought the food was delicious and service was friendly and efficient. I am however concerned that you would not be likely to return. We are aware of a slight issue with a draught at the door and we are doing everything we can to... More 

Leven, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

since its recent makeover unfortunately the service and quality of food has deteriorated. Our party of four today was served below average food and worst of all the service was apathetic. to say the least. Four empty glasses and one empty bottle were left on the table the entire time we were there, with no attempt to clear them from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi mamoo844, Thank you for sharing your recent feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the food was below average and that the service was not up to our usual high standards. Our team undergo continuous training and we are always looking to highlight any training needs and your feedback will only help us to do this.... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

The soup was lovely as was the main course of random fish. The dessert of Eton mess was excellent. The lunch menu did lack variety. If you love mushrooms, you are fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi mpredford, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal in The Doll's House and thought that the Eton Mess was excellent. I do hope that you will return in the future. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

Had early pre theatre dinner. Service was very good and friendly without being intrusive. Food was excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Loddy7, Thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thought that the service was friendly and the food was excellent. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Stopped here for lunch while wandering the sites and shops of St Andrews. Sat outside under the canopy - very nice. Quick service - huge and delicious sandwich. Could hear the bag pipers at the church. Definitely worth a stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi decase5, Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Doll's House and could take in the atmosphere of St Andrews whilst dining outdoors. I do hope that we can welcome you back during your next visit to St Andrews. Kind Regards, Jodie Shaw General Manager More 

Fifield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

First time back since changing hands, the quality of the food and service is the same as before. Booking on line is a good idea, but was disappointed with the web site, the early evening menu (is that the "Market menu"?), doesn't show what's on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Alan S, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in The Doll's House. Our Market Menu can change often and therefore is not uploaded to our site in order to avoid further confusion. If you would like to know in advance of making a booking I would suggest that you... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Booked 6 months ago and paid a deposit. On calling was advised we could bring our wine and after opening the bottle we were advised the corkage was £30 per bottle. What a friendly way to meet your guests, a rip off!. The average food and service could not make up for the poor attitude of the staff in enforcing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheDollsHouse, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi 173paul, Thank you for your recent feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in The Doll's House. You should have been advised of the corkage charge during the initial phone call and I can only apologise if you did not feel that this was communicated to you. If you would like to discuss... More 

Travelers who viewed Dolls House Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Dolls House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolls House Restaurant

Address: 3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1334 477422
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 109
Cuisine: European, British, Scottish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3 Church Square, St. Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 477422

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 109
  • Cuisine: European, British, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions

Description

The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolls House Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dolls House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?