We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

$$
International, British, Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thu - Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is...
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
read more
Good for:
Bar scene
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 210 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 111
    Excellent
  • 45
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Young and friendly with a great atmosphere

This had a clean and friendly atmosphere with board games and great beer. We were older than the usual clientelle but were made to feel very welcome.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2015
Unswortf
,
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW via mobile

I visited the VIC for lunch with a friend recently we came for few drinks and it was a terrible experience we had been 2 weeks previous & got terrible service sitting on splinters of smashed glass on seats, staff on there mobiles while tables were full with empty dirty plates and glasses , mops and buckets left around ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for bringing this issue to our attention, Amber. We're obviously extremely disappointed and upset to discover that this incident occurred but we can assure you that this definitely not reflective of our usual service. It would be greatly appreciated if you could drop us an email over at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk so we can investigate this further. Please accept our deepest... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

This had a clean and friendly atmosphere with board games and great beer. We were older than the usual clientelle but were made to feel very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for the amazing review! The VIC Pub/Kitchen welcomes everyone through the door so it's great to read that you guys enjoyed your visit. Come and visit us again when you're next in St Andrews! :) V x More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Have been here many times for cocktails which are always delicious, (the favourite being The Basil and Vanilla Berry). On our last visit we decided to try the burgers since there ws a great 2-for-1 deal. The burger topped with pulled pork was cooked to perfection and the flavours were lovely, whilst the burger with BBQ sauce and topped with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Your review brought a massive smile to our faces, Lisa! The Basil and Vanilla Berry is one of our favourite cocktails too, well, if we're being honest, they all are! The team are over the moon that you enjoyed them! Yep, our 2-4-1 burgers are amazing, aren't they? :) We can't wait for you to return so hurry back! V... More 

Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Me and my boyfriend had eaten here today for the first time and the atmosphere is great! The food is soo yummy and I recommend the sharing plate if there are two of you and the burgers too. There are also great deals and prices are very reasonable if on a budget ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for that amazing review, Naomi! We have to agree with your comments about our super yummy sharing platter and of course, our irresistible burgers! You guys will have to come back and work your way through the rest of our menu because we can assure you that it's just as tasty! Can't wait to see you again :) V... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I love this place! It's always my go to place in St. Andrews ... Food is always yummers and I have a set list of favourites I just always have to have! For a night out its fab! Great atmosphere and we always have a good time dancing the night away... Staff are super friendly and I just wouldn't change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank you for that incredible review, Katy! It really made our day :) Well, you've pretty much summed us up so we're delighted to read that you always enjoy yourself! Can't wait to see you again soon! V x More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I've come to the Vic many, many times for 2 for 1 burgers and it's always a great experience. I usually go for the Jumping Jack Flash, but this time I decided to get the Piggy in the Middle - I will definitely be getting it more often. Lots of pulled pork plus the usual tasty beef burger made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for that awesome review, Jason! We love that you enjoy our gourmet burgers as much as we do and totally agree that our pulled pork is delicious! It looks like you'll have to come back soon and work your way through the rest of them :) Can't wait to see you again soon! V x More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

My wife and I stopped by here for some cocktails, having read some good reviews on-line. Whilst the service was with a smile, unfortunately the cocktails tasted like they had no alcohol in them ( a cosmopolitan and a pineapple and black pepper margarita). This was in stark contrast to those we had in the West Port Bar & Kitchen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review. We're obviously very disappointed and upset to read that you didn't enjoy our cocktails, especially as they are something that we are known for and take extra pride in. All our cocktails are made with premium spirits and ingredients which, although high in alcoholic content, means they are easier... More 

dundee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

After booking a overnight stay for St Valentines Day, we were struggling to book somewhere to eat. But we managed to get a table at the Vic, which turned out to be a very good experience. The restaurant was very clean and well laid out. We found the staff very friendly and efficient, the food choices were excellent, and, were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review, Joe! We're glad that you had a special Valentines trip away and that we were apart of that :) You only live across the water in Dundee so you should venture over to us more often! We can't wait to see you again! V x More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

When heading for a night out in St Andrews the VIC is a place I would often go for a reliable night. This was not the case however when I visited last week. Despite the fact that there are two sets of female toilets in the establishment, for some unknown reason the staff refused to unlock the second set, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review. We love that you frequently choose the VIC as your go-to place on a night out but we're very upset to read about the issues regarding our toilets. Our Social Club toilets are unisex and are unfortunately out of order which is why our team were unable to open... More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

When looking for somewhere to eat in St.Andrews don't judge a book by its cover like we did. The venue is laid out quite nicely. Trendy décor gives it an almost hipster feel with board games on shelves, non matching chairs, even young staff in chequered shirts seems to be a staple of food serving pubs at this point. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review, Gerard! Firstly I'd like to apologize for the service given during your visit. This is certainly not reflective of our usual standard and it would be much appreciated if you could drop us an email over at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk so we could discuss this further. We really hope to hear... More 

Travelers who viewed Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 22
  • Cuisine: International, British, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget

Description

The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?