We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

$$
Contemporary, International, British
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
Website
Today
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thu - Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is...
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
read more
Good for:
Bar scene
Dining on a budget
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 204 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 106
    Excellent
  • 45
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Beautiful venue. Shocking service

I have visited the Vic during the day for food and in the evening for drinks. On Both occasions the service was disgraceful. The venue is really beautiful and has good atmosphere but the standard of customer service is shocking. Bar staff and servers are rude and don't seem to care. For a... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
JohnGillies
via mobile
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

I have visited the Vic during the day for food and in the evening for drinks. On Both occasions the service was disgraceful. The venue is really beautiful and has good atmosphere but the standard of customer service is shocking. Bar staff and servers are rude and don't seem to care. For a venue run by G1 I really expected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review, John. Our team work extremely hard at delivering an efficient service but we do take your comments seriously and will be carrying out an investigation. It would be greatly appreciated if you could drop us an email over at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk so we can discuss this further as this is... More 

dundee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

After booking a overnight stay for St Valentines Day, we were struggling to book somewhere to eat. But we managed to get a table at the Vic, which turned out to be a very good experience. The restaurant was very clean and well laid out. We found the staff very friendly and efficient, the food choices were excellent, and, were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review, Joe! We're glad that you had a special Valentines trip away and that we were apart of that :) You only live across the water in Dundee so you should venture over to us more often! We can't wait to see you again! V x More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

When heading for a night out in St Andrews the VIC is a place I would often go for a reliable night. This was not the case however when I visited last week. Despite the fact that there are two sets of female toilets in the establishment, for some unknown reason the staff refused to unlock the second set, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review. We love that you frequently choose the VIC as your go-to place on a night out but we're very upset to read about the issues regarding our toilets. Our Social Club toilets are unisex and are unfortunately out of order which is why our team were unable to open... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

When looking for somewhere to eat in St.Andrews don't judge a book by its cover like we did. The venue is laid out quite nicely. Trendy décor gives it an almost hipster feel with board games on shelves, non matching chairs, even young staff in chequered shirts seems to be a staple of food serving pubs at this point. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review, Gerard! Firstly I'd like to apologize for the service given during your visit. This is certainly not reflective of our usual standard and it would be much appreciated if you could drop us an email over at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk so we could discuss this further. We really hope to hear... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Throughly enjoyed the beer selection, was up-sold Heverlee and it was an excellent choice! My girlfriend had a mojitio then walked through the cocktail list at her full enjoyment! Atmosphere was pretty good for a Sunday afternoon/ evening too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us such an awesome review! We're so glad that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your drinks. We have plenty of cocktails on our menu so you'll have to return soon so you can continue to work your way through them! :) See you again soon! V x More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Popped in for a drink with friends . Lovely staff and great atmosphere. We tried the Cocktails which were fantasic and at £6 we thought good value. Actually enjoyed the Mango one so much we ordered a few more ..excellent !

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write us such an amazing review, Vincent! We are over the moon that you enjoyed our cocktails and we can't wait for you to return the next time that you're in St Andrews. See you very soon :) V x More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

We have had a lovely Christmas meal tonight. I would especially like to thank Head Chef Lucy and her team. I couldn't fault the food, it was a lovely meal. Especially the gravy. Also lovely bar staff very friendly. Only down side was the music was too loud for having a meal, I couldn't hear a lot of the conversations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank you for that amazing review! Lucy and the team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your meal and we have to agree with you - the food IS amazing! We love that you had a great Christmas night out and next time, if you find that the music is too loud, just let one of our team... More 

COLLIERVILLE
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Three of us went in on a Friday night at 5:00 pm. There was no sign saying to wait to be seated, so we chose a table and sat. And sat. And sat. In the meantime we saw two groups of people be seated and served. We were ready to go up and make ourselves known when a server came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us another review. Firstly we'd like to apologize for the service that you experienced as this certainly is not to our usual standards. It would be greatly appreciated if you could drop us an email over to hello@vicstandrews.co.uk so we can do an investigation and find out what exactly went wrong. I... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

staff at the vic were really friendly really welcoming and great to get along with had a few laughs with my waiter when I was there on Friday night! food fantastic I had the bbq chicken burger! would recommend to anyone wanted a relaxed, fun and really enjoyable evening! regards Sally

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi Ryan B! Thanks so much for excellent review! We are glad to read that our entire operation was to your satisfaction! We always recommend then Bourbon BBQ burger for this very reason, next time you are in give "Piggy in the Middle" a shot, you will not be let down! Thanks V x More 

Corbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We were visitng St Andrews for the weekend and looking for a family friendly place for dinner for 2 adults and a 4 yr old. Quick search on Goolgle and up came the Vic so we booked a table online. We really enjoyed our meal, fridneldy staff, relaxed enviroment and definitely child friendly with lots of books and games to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review, Nick! We love our miniature friends and always have plenty of activities to keep them occupied. We've got table tennis and Wii Sports through in our Social Club, arts and craft workshops on a Wednesday afternoon and on Saturday we do face-painting! You guys will have to come back... More 

Travelers who viewed Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 23
  • Cuisine: Contemporary, International, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget

Description

The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?