We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

Certificate of Excellence
$$
International, British, Contemporary, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thu - Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is...
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 239 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 119
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
2 for 1 burgers is a great deal

Although we never visit for full priced burgers, the 2 for 1 deal is really good. Standard does vary considerably visit to visit. We used to really enjoy the whitebait as a starter, shame it went off the menu. Sometimes the other menu items seem a little uninspired.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 20, 2015
Alice D
,
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

i have been in here many times for drinks and only a couple of times for food and have always found the food to be okay until my last visit the wait on my food was around 25 minutes for two burgers and it was very quiet at the time burgers were slightly overcooked i would have complained at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Came here for a few drinks, great bar really liked the set up. Was quite quirky and rustic. Good music, nice atmosphere and good quality drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Cheers for writing up such an awesome review, Arun! It's great that you're really diggin' our vibes and what we're all about. We always have lots of amazing events happening at night time so make sure you keep posted on our Facebook page. Can't wait to see you again! V x More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Although we never visit for full priced burgers, the 2 for 1 deal is really good. Standard does vary considerably visit to visit. We used to really enjoy the whitebait as a starter, shame it went off the menu. Sometimes the other menu items seem a little uninspired.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing us a review, Alice. We love that you enjoy our 2-4-1 deal on our gourmet burgers and hot dogs and hope you hurry back to see us again soon :) V x More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Was at the Vic before a while back and all was good, gave a good review. But this time we went was very disappointed. Food was very poor, couldn't even take more than 2 mouthfuls🙊. Was so disappointed as the food was so good last time! Dont know if they have new chef or what but will not be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us a review. We're obviously very upset to read that you were disappointed with your burgers, especially since our burgers are one of the most popular options on our menu and one of the many things we're known for. It would be much appreciated if you could drop us an email over at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk so we can... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Came in for burgers with friends yesterday. Have been to the VIC a few times but will be reluctant to come back based on the service of one particular member of staff who was so surly and unhelpful I was speechless. She has a heart on her cheek, so I will try and avoid being served by her from now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us a review, Christopher. We're extremely sorry that you were disappointed with the service as this is not to our usual standard. If you wish to discuss this further, drop us an email at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk and we can show you that this not the norm. We look forward to seeing you again soon! V x More 

Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Vic has great food and the restaurant looks really cool. We had 30 students enter the restaurant at the same time, and that was a bit annoying. The facilities are very poor, no toilet paper. Great food, but stay away from the facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us a review, Ellen! We are a popular hang-out for students so it's not unusual for big groups to come in at once but we're sorry that you found this annoying and hope that it doesn't discourage you from returning. We can only apologize for the lack of toilet paper in the... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We were a party in on a Monday Market night the staff were really poor and even dishonest on buying a round of drinks totalling £14 I handed over a £50 note were one of my party jokingly said to the barman keep the change unfortunately I had handed him a £50 note after attracting his attention 5 minutes later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Danny. We can only offer our sincerest apologies in regard to the mix-up and we'll be carrying out an investigation with the team on shift that night. This is not reflective of our usual standard but please feel free to email us at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk if you wish to discuss this further. We hope that you'll give... More 

Ceres, Fife
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

I find that when I read reviews they are very positive or negative, but not often both. My 4 star rating is genuine. This place is great, it just needs a keener eye for attention The decor, atmosphere and staff were wonderful. I would come back solely for that part of my experience. The burger I ordered was great, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us a review, Kevin! We love that you appreciated our quirky decor, our vibes and our amazing team but disappointed to learn that you left unhappy with the quality of our food. We always strive for perfection so we're terribly sorry that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Our team are always on... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

On Saturday 1st August I visited St. Andrews with a large group of girls for my friends hen weekend. We ate dinner at Forgans followed by some dancing at their ceilidh at 10pm then around 12ish headed to The Vic to experience the nightlife of St. Andrews (which was only 2 minutes walk away from Forgans restaurant) As soon as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write us such an awesome review! It's great to read that your group enjoyed their weekend out and that you were able to have a good old boogie on the dance floor! If you drop us a message next time, we can book you into one of our booths in the Social Club... More 

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

We stopped here for dinner while in St Andrews. Decor is kinda funky and the staff were friendly and helpful. Kids enjoyed their food. I had fajitas loads of veg and very little chicken. Wouldn't hurry back for food but good to sit and have a drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
venue_support, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We're really happy to hear the kids enjoyed their meal but of course we are sad to hear your fajitas had not been to your satisfaction. Our floor staff and management are always really happy to know at the time if there is anything at all they can do to... More 

Travelers who viewed Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 St Mary's Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St. Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 23
  • Cuisine: International, British, Contemporary, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget

Description

The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?