We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ecco Vino

19 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BP, Scotland
+44 (0)131 225 1441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 1,842 restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    83
    77
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 NEW via mobile

We ate twice and better then thought. Great food and wine. The antipasti is well worth it!! Chef is on point he takes great pride in food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

We didn’t book this place, we just happened to be walking past around midday last Saturday. We were starting to feel hungry but as soon as we smelt the gorgeous smells drifting out of this restaurant we knew that we had to eat here. It was only just midday though and the waitress told us that the kitchen was running... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I can't review the food as we left before it arrived because of the extremely slow service. We arrived at around six o'clock and ordered our drinks and three relatively easy starters. Over thirty minutes later the food has still not arrived and enquiring when it would be ready was told that it would be another ten to fifteen minutes.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a really cosy place in a well situated location. Wine menu is good although I an a bit sad they do not offer some of my favourite wines per glass. The small mixed platter is ideal for two people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We first went to Ecco Vino based on the specials advertised for dinner on our first night in Edinburgh. We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of food, wine list, and service. At the end of our visit to Edinburgh, we decided to repeat our first choice and we weren't disappointed. The first time, we ordered specials and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was so annoyed at myself for not managing to find this place today when i tried to as we had food elsewhere and were somewhat disappointed. When heading home we found it again and stepped inside for some refreshments. Cappuccino and chocolate and walnut brownie for me and wine for hubby. The coffee and cake were out of this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Ate here with several business colleagues during conference. Managed to grab a seat outdoors to enjoy the long light of the summer. The menu is pretty simple with several pasta dishes and few daily specials. We had a nice cheese platter, some olives and I ordered the chicken lentil stew. All of us were happy with our choices, including the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Accommodating food allergies, vegetarians, and carnivours. A get together with the family on a jet lag evening. The antipasto was very good, shared by 5 people. Me being the carnivore, had the chorizo pasta dish, absolutely lovely. Everyone else was well satisfied with their choices. The wine list was great as well ( I don't drink beer or liquor, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eccovino, Manager at Ecco Vino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to here that you enjoyed your meal with us! We hope that you can visit us again. More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

4 kinds of spaghetti offered tonight, 3 on the main and 1 on the special. The main menu had about 8 mains and the others were risotto a couple of salads and something else nondescript. No chicken or beef, only chorizo, mushroom, prosciutto, salmon and vegi. Thrown out at 10.30 as it was closing!! This Restaurant is off one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eccovino, Manager at Ecco Vino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor, we are disappointed that the menu wasn’t suited to your tastes. Mid week we call last orders early to give all our customers plenty of time to finish their drinks rather than being served a drink and rushed out the door just 20 minutes later (policy... More

Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Cheese platter wasn't the best, minimal cheese with very random assortment of savouries. Blue, cheddar, Brie with celery, red onion, oatcakes, bread and grapes??? Weird. Large platter was great. Everything tasted great and was worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eccovino, Manager at Ecco Vino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your cheeseboard, we will take your comments on board. I am very pleased however, to hear that you thought the food tasted great. We hope that you can come back and visit us soon! More

Travelers who viewed Ecco Vino also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland

Been to Ecco Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecco Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing