We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
30 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JU, Scotland (Grassmarket)
0-131 225 6464
Improve this listing
Ranked #733 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Grassmarket
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    74
    36
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We have now visited mammas on a few occasions and have not been disappointed! My mother in law is coeliac and she found the gluten free pizzas to be one of the best she has ever had! Keep up the good work we will definetly be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Jamie I am delighted that you and your mother in law enjoy our gluten free pizza. Thank you so much for your feedback. There will be some new Gluten Free dishes on the menu early in the New Year! Paul More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The pizza is very poor, doughy and they skimp on toppings. They do not even cover with cheese and most just has tomato sauce on it, so skimpy are they with toppings. I know times are tough and maybe they need to use less dough or cook it properly and they must give fair toppings for what people pay for.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. The wings are cooked to order and I am sorry that you found them greasy. Our pizza's are all freshly hand made, there can be some variances in product due to the handmade nature. We do not count each piece of pepperoni etc like the chains but leave the aesthetics to the chef,... More 

United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Visited this Mamma's last night along with my partner. We ordered the nachos each to start then followed by a a veggie pizza for myself and a Matador for the lady. Both enjoyed it very much, hit the spot. The only downside was the seats are very tightly compacted together so a bit of a squeeze. Overall though it's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Davey, thank you so much for your feedback. space is definately a premium at weekends! Sorry if your space was invaded, glad you enjoyed the food. Kind regards Paul More 

Peterborough
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We've been eating here for more years than I want to count and the place never changes. Paul, who owns the restaurant, set out his standards and way of doing things right at the beginning and has trained his staff not to vary from them. As a result, no matter when you eat there the quality is always superb, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Guys, thank so much for the feedback, I am delighted to hear the staff deliver the goods when I am not here! Sorry I missed you. Kind regards Paul More 

Kidlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Visited last week with my ten-year-old daughter. A decent range on the menu to keep us both happy, with good gluten-free options too (I have coeliac disease), including on the dessert menu. Friendly staff, and very child-friendly: crayons and activity sheets while they wait for food, and a small free gift when they leave. We went in the early evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Micheal glad you enjoyed your visit, we have some new Gluten Free dishes due to hit the menu soon! Sorry about the draft we will need to find a solution. Kind regards Paul More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The service we received at Mamma's was one of the most pleasant restaurant experiences I have had. It really was excellent. I think the food needs a little more flavor, be a little more adventurous. Even the spicy tomato sauce I ordered to make my pizza more zingy, wasn't spicy enough - and I eat a lot of spicy food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Lucia, thank you so much for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed Mamma's experience. Sorry the pizza didn't have enough punch, the chefs cannot of mixed the spice through prpoerly. Kind regards Paul More 

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

This place has been here for years & I remember it well from my younger days. The service was great & we even got moved to a better table as our waitress realised we were getting bashed every time people passed by. We shared a large pizza, plenty for two but the chicken was very dry & there was way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Lesley, I am sorry your latest visit was not as good as previous ones. I am also sorry your pizza had too much cheese. We have spoken to the chef concerned on that evening. The chicken is cooked freshly each day instead of being of the processed pre sliced variety. It appears it must have been over cooked. Kind... More 

Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Two of my colleagues and I ate here before watching a play as part of the Festival. We had elected to eat somewhere in the Grassmarket and walked up and down indecisively a few times before settling on Mamma's, even though I'm not sure any of us were really that up for pizza. We chose to sit outside, reasoning that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi I have decided to start responding to all our reviews.i I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Mamma's during the fringe festival. We do try to ensure that everyone leaves happy. We check back on each table during the meal to see if the customers are enjoying the food and provide a pre paid customer... More 

Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Found ourselves here on sat night. Looking for good food before a gig in Liquid rooms but hadn't booked anything. First impressions restaurant was small,cosy and clean. Service was excellent and the food was very good. I had the tuna steak with sweet potato fries. Superb!! Others had spicy meatballs and chicken burger which were all delicious. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul d, Owner at Mamma's, responded to this review

Hi Guys thans for you feedback much appreciated! I hope you had a good night in the liquid rooms also! Kind regards Paul More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Always have greast food here and love to sit outside people watching in the summer and cosy in the winter. Excellent pizzas nice wine and just great meal

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Mamma's also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mamma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamma's

Address: 30 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JU, Scotland
Phone Number: 0-131 225 6464
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Grassmarket
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mamma's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?