We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Museum Brasserie

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
National Museum of Scotland | Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland
0131 247 4084
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Museum Brasserie and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 49 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 7
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Ice Cream Sundaes were fab

Took the kids here for lunch. Kids meals are reasonably priced but the quality is questionable. Child 1 had macaroni cheese which he didn't eat and was rather bland when I tasted it. Child 2 had a chicken wrap which he ate it was accompanied by some burned French fries which he never ate. I had the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
gizmo1690
,
England
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Took the kids here for lunch. Kids meals are reasonably priced but the quality is questionable. Child 1 had macaroni cheese which he didn't eat and was rather bland when I tasted it. Child 2 had a chicken wrap which he ate it was accompanied by some burned French fries which he never ate. I had the Cullen skink (creamy... More 

Helpful?
Thank gizmo1690
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here while visiting the museum for a cream tea and coffee.The scones with jam and clotted cream were very good indeed,and the tea and coffee were also very good.Much better than expected for a museum eatery.All of the food looked good,and will try the lunch on the next visit.

Helpful?
Thank WindsorP
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi WindsorP, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you had a nice time and enjoyed our home made scones. We look forward to seeing you when you return for lunch. Kind regards, Claire More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

14 of us visited the brasserie for lunch on Saturday. As we booked in advance the restaurant were great in sending out menus beforehand so our orders could be ready for our arrival. Food was really tasty, service was prompt and the staff were friendly! Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Ally I
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Ally, Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you all had a great time! We hope you had a good Christmas and New Year and that we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Claire More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

I guess I got lucky because I did not wait for a table, and my order was taken and served quite quickly. I did notice that the waitresses were hustling so maybe these reviews have made an impact. All in all I had a fabulous salad (and soup) for what I thought was less then I would have paid in... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelwithyourmeans
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Travelwithyourmeans, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good experience within the Museum Brasserie. We do take all feedback we receive on board and I am glad this was reflected in your visit. We hope that you will be back to see us again soon. Kind regards, Claire More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

Had a super lunch here between visiting the galleries, had my first taste of haggis, but with a new twist and it was delicious. Two patties of haggis served on a potato rosti, with a swede and bacon relish, highly recommended and very reasonable prices. Loved the setting in a vaulted chamber, staff very good and helpful too. Great day... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessybobs
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Jessybobs, Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your day at the museum. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first taste of Haggis, the chefs have tried hard to modernise the traditional dish. Our menu is changing this week, don't worry we are still keeping a haggis dish on the menu. We hope you... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Visit this brasserie with four friends for cake and coffee. The food was lovely but the staff were poor as very inattentive. Worse still was the attitude and tone of the manager who spoilt our visit, as after taking a seat and ordering, she returned to tell us that our table was too small and we would have to move.... More 

Helpful?
Thank yp22
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear YP22, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that the staff were inattentive. The manager apologies if she came across in an unfriendly manner, she was trying to be helpful and accommodate you on a larger table for your comfort and did not meant o give you the wrong impression. I'm glad that... More 

Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We were disappointed with our lunch at the National Museum's Brasserie. The main problem was the slow service. We queued for nearly ten minutes at the 'wait here to be seated' sign. The staff didn't even acknowledge our presence - an 'I'll be with you in a minute' would have been nice. I saw plenty of diners after us experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Craig H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that there was a delay in being seated and that you were disappointed with your meal. We pride ourselves on cooking our dishes fresh to order so their can be a delay when we are busier but this does not excuse your wait. However, I... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

We came as a family of 8 (3 children) for lunch. The restaurant was full & it seemed like the staff were struggling as we sat down. When the food arrived 50mins after we ordered it - everyone was famished. It was tasty but I would not come back if I saw it full again. I also got the impression... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polwarthpics
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Polwarthpics, Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry that the service was slow on the day you visited. This is not our usual standard of service. I will be talking to the team about what happened. I am glad that when the food came you found it enjoyable. If you wouldn't mind taking the time could email the brasserie... More 

Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Cute little restaurant on level "0" of the Scottish Museum. large stone support pillars and arched stone ceiling create a nice ambiance. Clean, good service & friendly. We ordered the soup of the day (a generous amount of split pea soup) with a thick slice of multi-grain bread. the only negative, it echos and there were some loud customers but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Jack M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you had a good experience and enjoyed the soup, we have a new menu coming out soon with soup and half a sandwich on it. I hope you and your wife will be back soon to try it out. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch as it was convenient whilst we visited the museum. The food was freshly prepared and very tasty. Would recommend the meatballs focaccia or the haddock. Pleasant waitress. Not overly expensive considering its in the middle of a city and there's no entry fee for museum.

Helpful?
Thank Midhill
CMcH29, General Manager at The Museum Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Midhill, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a good experience at the Museum Brasserie and enjoyed the service and the food. We have a new menu coming out soon. I hope you will be back soon to try it. Kind regards, Claire More 

Travelers who viewed The Museum Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The Museum Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: National Museum of Scotland | Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: 0131 247 4084

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, French, European

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Museum Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?