We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tron

$$
Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Website
Today
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Large 3 level pub in the centre of Edinburgh. We have some of the cheapest...
Large 3 level pub in the centre of Edinburgh. We have some of the cheapest drink selections in town so we are very popular with students and backpackers. Traditional pub food served at brilliantly low prices. We are not affiliated with the venue known as the Tron Kirk.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 127 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 46
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average

was looking for something quick and simple which it was but the food was cold!!! Decent prices and fast service but I would still expect the food to be hot

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2015
Emma s
,
Llandudno, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

was looking for something quick and simple which it was but the food was cold!!! Decent prices and fast service but I would still expect the food to be hot

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Good food at great prices. Staff were very friendly and gave great advice on nightclubs to visit (and ones to avoid ha ha)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Cheap drinks the cheapest pub we found in the area, prices differed everywhere. Very friendly staff, so helpful Did not eat here, but the food looked good and ample portions for a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were unimpressed. The draught selection was OK. For such a large pub, the kitchen should be able to provide food within 45min. The Mac and Cheese with Bacon was the best meal and I would highly recommend it. The burger seemed homemade, which was good. The soup appetizer was straight out of a jar or can and served with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. I am glad to hear that you thought the quality of the food was generally good. Unfortunately at peak times because we are such a central and popular bar we can experience considerable waits on food like you experienced but we always ensure that customers are aware of this before they order... More 

cardiff, wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

We ordered food and was told they had no salmon, so ordered the curry, but they didn't have rice, so finally ordered pie. 2 meals come out together but we finished food before the 3rd meal arrived. This ruined the meal and lucky the first 2 didn't wait for the 3rd meal. Nice food but appalling service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Firstly I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your food but I can only apologise for the wait inbetween meals. When customers order food individualy rather than at the same time, if we are busy this can mean that the food does not all arrive at the same time... More 

Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Waited well over an hour for a 'medium rare' steak and scampi. When it finally arrived the steak was the most well done steak I have ever eaten and was incredibly dry. The peas with the scampi were stone cold. We were not alone with being unhappy about the wait. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this feedback. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience here and can only apologise for this. Because we are a very central and popular bar we can sometimes experience a considerable wait on food times but on these occassions we always endevour to make... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

food very well priced but not very well cooked, staff very good close to Radisson blu Good for sports tv

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear you found the staff very good however I am sorry to hear that on this occassion you did not find the food was up to scratch and can only apologise for this but I hope you will give us a second chance the... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Good pub prices & friendly staff. Even managed to charge our phones, Close to Ibis hotel we were staying at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, its good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that the staff were happy to help. The amount of customers phones we charge in a night I think we should start charging for electricity! Regards Adam More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Went on New Years Eve before the street party. Was great, cheap drinks and 5 pound for beer and burger. Obviously typical pub food but we had quite a few drinks at great prices. Good music played and had a great time overall. Will go back next time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave this great review. Happy to hear you had a great night and hope you enjoyed the rest of your new year celebration. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards Adam More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

A typical pub with a good hamburguer. Especially nice because you can choose the ingredients in your sandwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a good review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our burgers. We like to think our range of burgers has something for everyone. Hopefully next time you visit Edinburgh you will come back and try a different combination. Regards Adam More 

Travelers who viewed The Tron also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Tron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 18
  • Cuisine: Scottish

Description

Large 3 level pub in the centre of Edinburgh. We have some of the cheapest drink selections in town so we are very popular with students and backpackers. Traditional pub food served at brilliantly low prices. We are not affiliated with the venue known as the Tron Kirk.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tron staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?