We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

21212 Restaurant

#119 of 1,976 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Neighborhood:
Broughton & Calton
British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
+44 (0)131 523 1030
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Good for: Special occasions
Description: Only Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms in Edinburgh

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 631 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 429
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 71
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great location, stunning food, lovely complete Edinburgh New Town house

This was a one night stay over with dinner. The room was very modern and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent. The only downside was the breakfast at a shared table with people who didn't speak at all, preferring to chat on facebook. Maybe this is the modern world but simple good manners go... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
David R
,
Fife, Scotland
Add Photo Write a Review

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a one night stay over with dinner. The room was very modern and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent. The only downside was the breakfast at a shared table with people who didn't speak at all, preferring to chat on facebook. Maybe this is the modern world but simple good manners go a very long way.

Helpful?
Thank David R
Lancaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had an absolutely stunning room looking out over the city - huge bed, sitting area, amazing bathroom. Complimentary tea, water, ice, brought for us whenever we wanted. We then had the 5 course menu in the restaurant and it was incredible, so many layers of taste all combining beautifully. I'm a very fussy eater but I ate everything, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for coming to stay at 21212 and I'm most happy to hear you enjoyed your meal so much especially as you are as you say a ; picky eater' ! You have mentioned a couple of things that possible go hand in hand. You mention how wonderful the service is but you had reservations over our breakfast,... More 

Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights here and had a fantastic stay. The rooms are excellent quality and a good size, with great furnishings! Their aims to to please where they can and they deliver to their promise. The restaurant is comfortable and suited to foodies, with a kitchen table right in front of the Pass. The food is well cooked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and I'm very glad you enjoyed, staying with us, we do indeed aim to please! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was not prepared for the excellence of 21212. I thought the 5 course dinner with matched wine pairings was simply stunning. From the complex amuse bouche, through the scallops and soup the fillet beef BBC and the cheese and dessert everything was sans pareil. Congratulations to the brigade and the whole team Id like to visit again

Helpful?
Thank Harry H
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

How nice to read, you put a smile on my face, thank you! More 

MARYPORT CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Treated hubby to lunch over new year visit to Edinburgh.. Fantastic food service and will definitely go back again.. Every mouthful of food was a revelation and didn't want the day to end

Helpful?
1 Thank TRACE_JANE_BATES
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Hopefully, you will get treated next time then! More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was disappointing. I've been to several Michelin-starred restaurants. I guess there is a reason why the 5-course lunch was so cheap: Food: - the complimentary olives at the beginning were the best part of the meal - their 'specialty house bread' is, I am afraid, nothing to shout about VERY salty - both the appetizer and main course... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank u03ekw
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear u03ekw Thank you for your recent visit to 21212 and the feedback that you have shared. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the occasion. We have tried to price our menu’s sensibly as is the need for any small business in a very competitive market but would argue that our five course Michelin starred lunch is good... More 

Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brill, we went here for lunch. We don't often eat in Michelin restaurants (only our second), but wow!!! The service from when you walk in the door is fantastic! The food tastes and presentation are exquisite. The staff explain everything in great detail, they clearly love what they do, they are a credit to the owner. We also now know... More 

Helpful?
Thank m4xwl
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Indeed, they are a credit, thanks! And thanks for such an appreciative review. More 

Kelty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for lunch for the first time. We were aware that chef was a little quirky but we liked the idea and had heard good things about this restaurant. Shown to our table when we arrived and sat in lovely restaurant close to the kitchen. Offered water and given some gigantic olives and pickles to munch on whilst choosing... More 

Helpful?
Thank fifefoodie k
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your balance review, it is appreciated. We do try and do things our own way which may be a bit different from others but we are not trying to compare ourselves or emulate others , just offering the best we can and we generally fine people who do ' get it' really get it and we are the... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love how you can decide how many courses you cab have which puts michelin starred food 7n the range of many. It is a 10 minute walk from waveley station in a lovely town house. The service is very friendly and it is one of the rare places where every member of staff were excellent. The food was amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank leedsutdskin
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for such a nice review, We do think it important for everyone to have a price level they feel comfortable with so try and do something for all. We do hope to see you again More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The dining room is cosy and not a place to be having a very private conversation so eat, enjoy and save the conversation for later! The food was divine with lovely service from the staff.

Helpful?
Thank lovestravel65
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review

Yes, I'm one for concentrating on my food too, don't stop.... More 

Travelers who viewed 21212 Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to 21212 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Broughton & Calton
  • Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)131 523 1030

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 29 - 99
  • Cuisine: British, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

Only Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms in Edinburgh
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 21212 Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood