We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Gretna Green Restaurants

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I cannot comment on the food because I purchased none. However I had a raging craving to feed the caffine addiction which was never achieved. They charge like wounded bulls for push-button, serve yourself, weak as hobbit pee, bland coffee-infused milk!!!! Which tasted like.......well, I give up. You got my money and was 1/2 way past Carlisle to do anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your coffee issue. Sorry it didn't hit the spot and give you the relief from your caffeine craving, trust me I know how you feel when you desperately need that shot. As I am sure you are aware coffee along with tea is a personal preference, and we try and... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Met my parents here as a sort of half way point on our Way home. My stepdad suggested it after looking on internet and it looked great. First appearance was dreadful, very clinical looking, with no one there to show us where seats were or anything. One food station open with very little choice. Food Luke warm, roast pots undercooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Blacksmiths Restaurant, when you visited. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received on your visit. I will look into the matter and rectify any problems that we experienced on the day. If you had commented at the time we could have rectified the... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Have to concur with the previous reviewer. We had sandwiches for lunch on September 4th. They were reduced from 3.70 to 2.00 for no obvious reason, but they were inedible. Yes, we could have complained at the time, but just passing through we chose to write it off as a poor choice. The experience marred these Canadians one and only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant wasn't as a pleasant as you or I would have liked. We make our sandwiches fresh every day and we reduce them later in the day if we seem to have made too many or they are nearing their best before date. We are seriously looking at our options regarding... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The person who makes the sandwiches has lost there soul! These guys have been getting away with serving rubbish to grannies for too long! £3.70 is what you pay for a cheap supermarket bread sandwich.. That's only half the problem you need to try one to actually believe how bad a sandwich they are. Horrid on every occasion! Otherwise on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your disappointment with the sandwich you purchased, when you were last in our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt the sandwich was sub standard and over priced. I will pass on your comments to our sandwich makers and investigate the matter further and see what improvements we can make.... More

cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When you fancy something to eat at Gretna Green you can visit the Blacksmiths Restaurant. Its buffet style in its appearance, you have a hot counter where you can choose carvery , pie and chips, chilli those kind of meals and also there are cakes and tea and sandwiches for those who don't wish to eat hot. I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, I am please you seemed to have enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and enjoyed the Carvery, which is very popular with our visitors, I'm sorry the presentation of the food seemed to have let us down, (Aunty Bessie's) but I can assure... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

called in for a look around & something to eat, as its the summer holidays the place was swarming with people. we did manage to get served but service could have been a little faster as by the time we got served, paid for it, collected cutlery & condiments, then found a table our food was warm not hot! the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your trip into our Blacksmiths Restaurant. August is a pretty intense month, the busiest month in the tourist industry calendar. I'm sorry the speed of service was not as quick as you would have liked. A lot of people think we know how many coaches/ visitors we are going to... More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to have a short snack after looking round Gretna Green. After spending two days in Scotland and having spent at least £2 for every cup of tea, the £1.60 charged here was very good value especially as we almost got two cups out of each pot. The strawberry tarts at £1.95 each were delicious so for quality and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit, We try very hard to be competitive with our pricing. I will pass on your comments to Christine regarding your enjoyment of her Strawberry Tarts, she will be pleased to hear of your enjoyment... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had arranged to meet family here as a halfway point and had planned to stop for a meal. We have often stopped off here but have always been late so everything was closed. Although a lovely quaint little place it doesn't look like we were missing much. Due to traffic we arrived at 2pm and headed straight for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to inform me of your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm very sorry that you had a disappointing visit. We pride ourselves on giving the best service possible, however we seemed to have let not only you and your family down but ourselves also. At 2.00pm the Carvery and WOK stations close down... More

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a short coffe stop here to day good coffee nice staff all round good place to stop off will recommend to friends and family going this way

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Blacksmiths Restaurant. It was good to hear, that you enjoyed your experience when you visited us and that you will recommending us to your family and friends. I will share your comments with our catering team, and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks Bill Hudson. More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had our wedding breakfast & night do here and couldn't fault anything. BIll Hudson, the restaurant manager couldn't have been more helpful and answered my queries promptly, nothing was too much trouble. We opted for the hog roast, highly recommended. Bill's team during our day were excellent and very friendly. Many thanks for a great day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It was great to hear that we did you proud on your special day, and that you and your guests had a great day. The Hog Roast is a fairly new choice on our menu's but is proving to be more and more popular, I will pass on your comments to... More

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmiths Restaurant

Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing