We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Website
Add hours for Blacksmiths Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 53 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Nice Setting

Nicely situated in the heart of the village. Food quality really poor :- hot food had been lying so long it looked burnt, sandwich was soggy & had to be returned, had to ask what a dish was - pizza - looked nothing like a pizza given the length of time it had been lying. Prices are too expensive... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 9, 2014
Magz1
,
ayrshire
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Looking for a nice place to have lunch we tried this place. Probably because it was off season there was little choice in food and the place looked cold and desolate. We decided to leave. Maybe it's not fair to judge a restaurant without having eaten there, but the rating reflects our feelings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for letting me know about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am genuinely sorry you didn't try any of the food as I am sure you would have enjoyed it. Yes you are correct in the fact that in the winter months we reduce our offerings on the hot food especially, however we do offer 8 different... More 

Durham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

(Coach)Stopped here on the way to Oban and again on the way home at the end of our holiday.Had soup and a bun both ways, and it was really nice...Winter vegetable...Noticed it was very popular too and didn't hear any complaints from our party.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Pippa for taking the time to write your review. Its always good to hear we have got something right and our customers enjoyed their visit to our Restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed our Homemade soup on both occasions, We only use fresh produce locally sourced and our soups are cooked fresh on the day, thank you once... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We popped in for Sunday Lunch. Choices were very poor, international cuisine and the cavery section were closed. Other options were things with chips or the soup section. We had the soup which was supposed to Scotch broth but was tasteless. The place looked OK but choices were limited and quality questionable. Given that it was self-service it was overpriced.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I apologise that you felt that there was very poor selection on your visit. In the quieter months due to the drop in tourists the Carvery and the World Cuisine counters are not in use as the signage explains. However there was available 8... More 

Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We stopped here for lunch as part of our New Year Coach Trip. There was a lovely chap playing the bagpipes in his kilt in the courtyard, which made us really feel that we were finally in Scotland (after zig sagging across the country picking up folks). The whole place is a souvenir hunter's nightmare - very expensive whiskies and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. My apologies that you didn't seem to enjoy any aspect of your visit to Gretna Green. The day you visited was an exceptionally busy day for us, with over 20 coaches visiting the site all at once, that is well over 1000... More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute disgrace, feel so soo ashamed this is what my country is serving up & charging visitors for you should be ashamed of yourselves

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send us your review Angela. I'm sorry you felt that we are overpriced in our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We do on a regular basis check our prices with other similar catering establishments in the area and we find that we are competitively priced. We have price lists and menu's at every food /beverage area so... More 

ayrshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Nicely situated in the heart of the village. Food quality really poor :- hot food had been lying so long it looked burnt, sandwich was soggy & had to be returned, had to ask what a dish was - pizza - looked nothing like a pizza given the length of time it had been lying. Prices are too expensive for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your time in writing your review about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am sorry your were disappointed with your visit to the restaurant. Our sandwiches and hot food are all made fresh on the day. Sometimes as I am sure you will be aware if a sandwich filling has mayonnaise in with the filling it... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stopped here for lunch, and had a very tasty and meaty steak pie. Nice food, clean and comfortable surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The steak pie is very popular with everyone, and we get positive feed back with people who have tried it. We look forward to your next visit. Thank You again for your feed back. Bill... More 

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

we were bit disappointed as it closes at four pm on Saturday so not much left or choice and no where else to eat locally only the hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your visit to our Blacksmith Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt disappointed when you visit. Unfortunately the whole site closes down at 5.00pm in the winter months. The restaurant takes their hot offer off at 4.00pm as I am sure you will appreciate there is a lot to clean down... More 

Jarrow
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Visited the Blacksmiths on a coach your and was impressed with the easy working layout, the cleanliness and the selection. I was initially surprised at the cost of the steak pie and chips that I chose for lunch, but cutting into the pie the price was more than justified. Succulent chunks of well cooked beef, trimmed to perfection, not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Blacksmiths Restaurant. hanks for the great review about our Galloway Steak Pie, it is the most popular main meal in the restaurant, and people come from all over to have the pie, it really is popular. I will pass your feed back to the kitchen and... More 

Bewdley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

Through out this complex the prices are ridiculously high. Scottish beer priced at £3.99 available elsewhere between £1.99- £2.50. I got a coffee from machine and went to pay, after waiting for a few minutes no one had come to the till, someone who was also waiting found a member of staff who got someone to come to the till.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send me your review, I am very sorry you found that your over all visit was one of disappointment. We do our best to stay competitively priced with other retailers in our vicinity. My apology also for the seemingly lack of staff in the restaurant which I found somewhat alarming as there were plenty... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?