We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Website
Add hours for Blacksmiths Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 51 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Looked OK but poor food and limited choice.

We popped in for Sunday Lunch. Choices were very poor, international cuisine and the cavery section were closed. Other options were things with chips or the soup section. We had the soup which was supposed to Scotch broth but was tasteless. The place looked OK but choices were limited and... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
FOODIE51_13
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We popped in for Sunday Lunch. Choices were very poor, international cuisine and the cavery section were closed. Other options were things with chips or the soup section. We had the soup which was supposed to Scotch broth but was tasteless. The place looked OK but choices were limited and quality questionable. Given that it was self-service it was overpriced.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I apologise that you felt that there was very poor selection on your visit. In the quieter months due to the drop in tourists the Carvery and the World Cuisine counters are not in use as the signage explains. However there was available 8... More 

Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We stopped here for lunch as part of our New Year Coach Trip. There was a lovely chap playing the bagpipes in his kilt in the courtyard, which made us really feel that we were finally in Scotland (after zig sagging across the country picking up folks). The whole place is a souvenir hunter's nightmare - very expensive whiskies and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. My apologies that you didn't seem to enjoy any aspect of your visit to Gretna Green. The day you visited was an exceptionally busy day for us, with over 20 coaches visiting the site all at once, that is well over 1000... More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

What an absolute disgrace, feel so soo ashamed this is what my country is serving up & charging visitors for you should be ashamed of yourselves

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send us your review Angela. I'm sorry you felt that we are overpriced in our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We do on a regular basis check our prices with other similar catering establishments in the area and we find that we are competitively priced. We have price lists and menu's at every food /beverage area so... More 

ayrshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Nicely situated in the heart of the village. Food quality really poor :- hot food had been lying so long it looked burnt, sandwich was soggy & had to be returned, had to ask what a dish was - pizza - looked nothing like a pizza given the length of time it had been lying. Prices are too expensive for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your time in writing your review about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am sorry your were disappointed with your visit to the restaurant. Our sandwiches and hot food are all made fresh on the day. Sometimes as I am sure you will be aware if a sandwich filling has mayonnaise in with the filling it... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stopped here for lunch, and had a very tasty and meaty steak pie. Nice food, clean and comfortable surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The steak pie is very popular with everyone, and we get positive feed back with people who have tried it. We look forward to your next visit. Thank You again for your feed back. Bill... More 

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

we were bit disappointed as it closes at four pm on Saturday so not much left or choice and no where else to eat locally only the hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your visit to our Blacksmith Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt disappointed when you visit. Unfortunately the whole site closes down at 5.00pm in the winter months. The restaurant takes their hot offer off at 4.00pm as I am sure you will appreciate there is a lot to clean down... More 

Jarrow
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Visited the Blacksmiths on a coach your and was impressed with the easy working layout, the cleanliness and the selection. I was initially surprised at the cost of the steak pie and chips that I chose for lunch, but cutting into the pie the price was more than justified. Succulent chunks of well cooked beef, trimmed to perfection, not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Blacksmiths Restaurant. hanks for the great review about our Galloway Steak Pie, it is the most popular main meal in the restaurant, and people come from all over to have the pie, it really is popular. I will pass your feed back to the kitchen and... More 

Bewdley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Through out this complex the prices are ridiculously high. Scottish beer priced at £3.99 available elsewhere between £1.99- £2.50. I got a coffee from machine and went to pay, after waiting for a few minutes no one had come to the till, someone who was also waiting found a member of staff who got someone to come to the till.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send me your review, I am very sorry you found that your over all visit was one of disappointment. We do our best to stay competitively priced with other retailers in our vicinity. My apology also for the seemingly lack of staff in the restaurant which I found somewhat alarming as there were plenty... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I cannot comment on the food because I purchased none. However I had a raging craving to feed the caffine addiction which was never achieved. They charge like wounded bulls for push-button, serve yourself, weak as hobbit pee, bland coffee-infused milk!!!! Which tasted like.......well, I give up. You got my money and was 1/2 way past Carlisle to do anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your coffee issue. Sorry it didn't hit the spot and give you the relief from your caffeine craving, trust me I know how you feel when you desperately need that shot. As I am sure you are aware coffee along with tea is a personal preference, and we try and... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Met my parents here as a sort of half way point on our Way home. My stepdad suggested it after looking on internet and it looked great. First appearance was dreadful, very clinical looking, with no one there to show us where seats were or anything. One food station open with very little choice. Food Luke warm, roast pots undercooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Blacksmiths Restaurant, when you visited. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received on your visit. I will look into the matter and rectify any problems that we experienced on the day. If you had commented at the time we could have rectified the... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?