We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Gretna Green Restaurants

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

we were bit disappointed as it closes at four pm on Saturday so not much left or choice and no where else to eat locally only the hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jarrow
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 NEW

Visited the Blacksmiths on a coach your and was impressed with the easy working layout, the cleanliness and the selection. I was initially surprised at the cost of the steak pie and chips that I chose for lunch, but cutting into the pie the price was more than justified. Succulent chunks of well cooked beef, trimmed to perfection, not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bewdley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Through out this complex the prices are ridiculously high. Scottish beer priced at £3.99 available elsewhere between £1.99- £2.50. I got a coffee from machine and went to pay, after waiting for a few minutes no one had come to the till, someone who was also waiting found a member of staff who got someone to come to the till.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send me your review, I am very sorry you found that your over all visit was one of disappointment. We do our best to stay competitively priced with other retailers in our vicinity. My apology also for the seemingly lack of staff in the restaurant which I found somewhat alarming as there were plenty... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I cannot comment on the food because I purchased none. However I had a raging craving to feed the caffine addiction which was never achieved. They charge like wounded bulls for push-button, serve yourself, weak as hobbit pee, bland coffee-infused milk!!!! Which tasted like.......well, I give up. You got my money and was 1/2 way past Carlisle to do anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your coffee issue. Sorry it didn't hit the spot and give you the relief from your caffeine craving, trust me I know how you feel when you desperately need that shot. As I am sure you are aware coffee along with tea is a personal preference, and we try and... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Met my parents here as a sort of half way point on our Way home. My stepdad suggested it after looking on internet and it looked great. First appearance was dreadful, very clinical looking, with no one there to show us where seats were or anything. One food station open with very little choice. Food Luke warm, roast pots undercooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Blacksmiths Restaurant, when you visited. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received on your visit. I will look into the matter and rectify any problems that we experienced on the day. If you had commented at the time we could have rectified the... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Have to concur with the previous reviewer. We had sandwiches for lunch on September 4th. They were reduced from 3.70 to 2.00 for no obvious reason, but they were inedible. Yes, we could have complained at the time, but just passing through we chose to write it off as a poor choice. The experience marred these Canadians one and only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant wasn't as a pleasant as you or I would have liked. We make our sandwiches fresh every day and we reduce them later in the day if we seem to have made too many or they are nearing their best before date. We are seriously looking at our options regarding... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The person who makes the sandwiches has lost there soul! These guys have been getting away with serving rubbish to grannies for too long! £3.70 is what you pay for a cheap supermarket bread sandwich.. That's only half the problem you need to try one to actually believe how bad a sandwich they are. Horrid on every occasion! Otherwise on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your disappointment with the sandwich you purchased, when you were last in our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt the sandwich was sub standard and over priced. I will pass on your comments to our sandwich makers and investigate the matter further and see what improvements we can make.... More

cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When you fancy something to eat at Gretna Green you can visit the Blacksmiths Restaurant. Its buffet style in its appearance, you have a hot counter where you can choose carvery , pie and chips, chilli those kind of meals and also there are cakes and tea and sandwiches for those who don't wish to eat hot. I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, I am please you seemed to have enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and enjoyed the Carvery, which is very popular with our visitors, I'm sorry the presentation of the food seemed to have let us down, (Aunty Bessie's) but I can assure... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

called in for a look around & something to eat, as its the summer holidays the place was swarming with people. we did manage to get served but service could have been a little faster as by the time we got served, paid for it, collected cutlery & condiments, then found a table our food was warm not hot! the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your trip into our Blacksmiths Restaurant. August is a pretty intense month, the busiest month in the tourist industry calendar. I'm sorry the speed of service was not as quick as you would have liked. A lot of people think we know how many coaches/ visitors we are going to... More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to have a short snack after looking round Gretna Green. After spending two days in Scotland and having spent at least £2 for every cup of tea, the £1.60 charged here was very good value especially as we almost got two cups out of each pot. The strawberry tarts at £1.95 each were delicious so for quality and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit, We try very hard to be competitive with our pricing. I will pass on your comments to Christine regarding your enjoyment of her Strawberry Tarts, she will be pleased to hear of your enjoyment... More

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmiths Restaurant

Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing