We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
18 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

Have to concur with the previous reviewer. We had sandwiches for lunch on September 4th. They were reduced from 3.70 to 2.00 for no obvious reason, but they were inedible. Yes, we could have complained at the time, but just passing through we chose to write it off as a poor choice. The experience marred these Canadians one and only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant wasn't as a pleasant as you or I would have liked. We make our sandwiches fresh every day and we reduce them later in the day if we seem to have made too many or they are nearing their best before date. We are seriously looking at our options regarding... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The person who makes the sandwiches has lost there soul! These guys have been getting away with serving rubbish to grannies for too long! £3.70 is what you pay for a cheap supermarket bread sandwich.. That's only half the problem you need to try one to actually believe how bad a sandwich they are. Horrid on every occasion! Otherwise on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your disappointment with the sandwich you purchased, when you were last in our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt the sandwich was sub standard and over priced. I will pass on your comments to our sandwich makers and investigate the matter further and see what improvements we can make.... More

cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When you fancy something to eat at Gretna Green you can visit the Blacksmiths Restaurant. Its buffet style in its appearance, you have a hot counter where you can choose carvery , pie and chips, chilli those kind of meals and also there are cakes and tea and sandwiches for those who don't wish to eat hot. I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, I am please you seemed to have enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and enjoyed the Carvery, which is very popular with our visitors, I'm sorry the presentation of the food seemed to have let us down, (Aunty Bessie's) but I can assure... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

called in for a look around & something to eat, as its the summer holidays the place was swarming with people. we did manage to get served but service could have been a little faster as by the time we got served, paid for it, collected cutlery & condiments, then found a table our food was warm not hot! the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your trip into our Blacksmiths Restaurant. August is a pretty intense month, the busiest month in the tourist industry calendar. I'm sorry the speed of service was not as quick as you would have liked. A lot of people think we know how many coaches/ visitors we are going to... More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to have a short snack after looking round Gretna Green. After spending two days in Scotland and having spent at least £2 for every cup of tea, the £1.60 charged here was very good value especially as we almost got two cups out of each pot. The strawberry tarts at £1.95 each were delicious so for quality and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit, We try very hard to be competitive with our pricing. I will pass on your comments to Christine regarding your enjoyment of her Strawberry Tarts, she will be pleased to hear of your enjoyment... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had arranged to meet family here as a halfway point and had planned to stop for a meal. We have often stopped off here but have always been late so everything was closed. Although a lovely quaint little place it doesn't look like we were missing much. Due to traffic we arrived at 2pm and headed straight for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to inform me of your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm very sorry that you had a disappointing visit. We pride ourselves on giving the best service possible, however we seemed to have let not only you and your family down but ourselves also. At 2.00pm the Carvery and WOK stations close down... More

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a short coffe stop here to day good coffee nice staff all round good place to stop off will recommend to friends and family going this way

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Blacksmiths Restaurant. It was good to hear, that you enjoyed your experience when you visited us and that you will recommending us to your family and friends. I will share your comments with our catering team, and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks Bill Hudson. More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had our wedding breakfast & night do here and couldn't fault anything. BIll Hudson, the restaurant manager couldn't have been more helpful and answered my queries promptly, nothing was too much trouble. We opted for the hog roast, highly recommended. Bill's team during our day were excellent and very friendly. Many thanks for a great day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It was great to hear that we did you proud on your special day, and that you and your guests had a great day. The Hog Roast is a fairly new choice on our menu's but is proving to be more and more popular, I will pass on your comments to... More

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here today on the way down from Fife to Cumbria, a very frequent trip for us, but due to time of day hadn't ever broken our journey here before. Had been anticipating a tourist friendly, twee scottish type pub meal, was horribly disapppointed. Outside seemed nice enough and was straight pff the M6; but then we went into the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

I apologise for your seemingly disappointed visit to our Restaurant 22/06/14, but thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problems you observed. There are obviously things that I need to investigate further and find out what happened that day. We do our best to offer a friendly, professional service and I am sorry you felt... More

Gretna, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Held our wedding reception here last Saturday and it was FAN-TAS-TIC!! Bill and his team were helpful from the minute we made the booking and we were more than satisfied with everything on the night. With the biggest dance floor in the area, we were all ready to boogie. The food was excellent, everything was clearly labelled and laid out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen and Lesley for your comments regarding your special day. I am so pleased that my team and I were able to help make your day special. Its always good to hear that we have got things right and I will share your comments with the rest of the team. Wishing you both the very best for your... More

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blacksmiths Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing