We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Gretna Green Restaurants

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    6
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Nicely situated in the heart of the village. Food quality really poor :- hot food had been lying so long it looked burnt, sandwich was soggy & had to be returned, had to ask what a dish was - pizza - looked nothing like a pizza given the length of time it had been lying. Prices are too expensive for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your time in writing your review about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am sorry your were disappointed with your visit to the restaurant. Our sandwiches and hot food are all made fresh on the day. Sometimes as I am sure you will be aware if a sandwich filling has mayonnaise in with the filling it... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stopped here for lunch, and had a very tasty and meaty steak pie. Nice food, clean and comfortable surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The steak pie is very popular with everyone, and we get positive feed back with people who have tried it. We look forward to your next visit. Thank You again for your feed back. Bill... More 

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

we were bit disappointed as it closes at four pm on Saturday so not much left or choice and no where else to eat locally only the hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your visit to our Blacksmith Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt disappointed when you visit. Unfortunately the whole site closes down at 5.00pm in the winter months. The restaurant takes their hot offer off at 4.00pm as I am sure you will appreciate there is a lot to clean down... More 

Jarrow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Visited the Blacksmiths on a coach your and was impressed with the easy working layout, the cleanliness and the selection. I was initially surprised at the cost of the steak pie and chips that I chose for lunch, but cutting into the pie the price was more than justified. Succulent chunks of well cooked beef, trimmed to perfection, not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Blacksmiths Restaurant. hanks for the great review about our Galloway Steak Pie, it is the most popular main meal in the restaurant, and people come from all over to have the pie, it really is popular. I will pass your feed back to the kitchen and... More 

Bewdley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Through out this complex the prices are ridiculously high. Scottish beer priced at £3.99 available elsewhere between £1.99- £2.50. I got a coffee from machine and went to pay, after waiting for a few minutes no one had come to the till, someone who was also waiting found a member of staff who got someone to come to the till.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send me your review, I am very sorry you found that your over all visit was one of disappointment. We do our best to stay competitively priced with other retailers in our vicinity. My apology also for the seemingly lack of staff in the restaurant which I found somewhat alarming as there were plenty... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I cannot comment on the food because I purchased none. However I had a raging craving to feed the caffine addiction which was never achieved. They charge like wounded bulls for push-button, serve yourself, weak as hobbit pee, bland coffee-infused milk!!!! Which tasted like.......well, I give up. You got my money and was 1/2 way past Carlisle to do anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your coffee issue. Sorry it didn't hit the spot and give you the relief from your caffeine craving, trust me I know how you feel when you desperately need that shot. As I am sure you are aware coffee along with tea is a personal preference, and we try and... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Met my parents here as a sort of half way point on our Way home. My stepdad suggested it after looking on internet and it looked great. First appearance was dreadful, very clinical looking, with no one there to show us where seats were or anything. One food station open with very little choice. Food Luke warm, roast pots undercooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Blacksmiths Restaurant, when you visited. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received on your visit. I will look into the matter and rectify any problems that we experienced on the day. If you had commented at the time we could have rectified the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Have to concur with the previous reviewer. We had sandwiches for lunch on September 4th. They were reduced from 3.70 to 2.00 for no obvious reason, but they were inedible. Yes, we could have complained at the time, but just passing through we chose to write it off as a poor choice. The experience marred these Canadians one and only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant wasn't as a pleasant as you or I would have liked. We make our sandwiches fresh every day and we reduce them later in the day if we seem to have made too many or they are nearing their best before date. We are seriously looking at our options regarding... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The person who makes the sandwiches has lost there soul! These guys have been getting away with serving rubbish to grannies for too long! £3.70 is what you pay for a cheap supermarket bread sandwich.. That's only half the problem you need to try one to actually believe how bad a sandwich they are. Horrid on every occasion! Otherwise on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your disappointment with the sandwich you purchased, when you were last in our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm sorry you felt the sandwich was sub standard and over priced. I will pass on your comments to our sandwich makers and investigate the matter further and see what improvements we can make.... More 

cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When you fancy something to eat at Gretna Green you can visit the Blacksmiths Restaurant. Its buffet style in its appearance, you have a hot counter where you can choose carvery , pie and chips, chilli those kind of meals and also there are cakes and tea and sandwiches for those who don't wish to eat hot. I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant, I am please you seemed to have enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and enjoyed the Carvery, which is very popular with our visitors, I'm sorry the presentation of the food seemed to have let us down, (Aunty Bessie's) but I can assure... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmiths Restaurant

Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?