We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blacksmiths Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
01461-33-83-65
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Blacksmiths Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 64 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Perfectly acceptable

We had good snacks and drinks but couldn't find a table outside to sit out. We would maybe try somewhere different if we visited again.

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 21, 2015
Maxim123153
,
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

food good the place is clean and the staff very friendly we had a good visit and would go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Katy for taking the time to write your review, regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. Myself and the catering team are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your comments to kitchen staff regarding the good food comment and to the rest of the team on how friendly you found them. Thanks Again... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Came here in may for a meal with the family before a wedding, highly recommended. Caters for larger groups. Food cooked perfect. Great customer service. Reasonable prices Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Arthur J for letting us know about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. Myself and the team thank you for your great review. We always strive to do our best, but sometimes it isn't quite good enough, but we are really pleased to see we got things right for you. Hope you had one of the rare... More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

We had good snacks and drinks but couldn't find a table outside to sit out. We would maybe try somewhere different if we visited again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Maxim for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant.. I am pleased you found our food offer acceptable, and you enjoyed what you had. I am sorry you couldn't find anywhere outside to sit, we did extend the outside area a couple of years ago but on nice days everyone... More 

Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Fantastic service, lovely atmosphere, highly recommended. Very clean, didn't feel rushed, enjoyed our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Debra C for taking the time to write your review of your experience at our Blacksmiths Restaurant on your last visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the recommendation, it is greatly appreciated by myself and the team. Thanks once again and look forward to your next visit. Thanks Bill Hudson Catering... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Usual foods on offer. The soup choice was Lentil or Pea and Ham, very hot and tasty. self-service, coffee not very hot. Prices were okay for location. Alcohol available if wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and enjoyed our homemade soup, my apologies that your coffee wasn't as hot as it should have been, if you had told one of the staff we would have been happy to... More 

cardiff uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

very nice food, good service, it was the only place open on a Sunday night that was open, very good value worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, regarding your last visit to our Restaurant. I am glad we managed to feed you and that you enjoyed your meal, and that you received good service Its always nice to get feedback from our customers, especially when they are good comments. I will pass on your comments to the... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Romantic place had a lovely meal here good menu lovely friendly staff spacious and comfortable. Really good coffee to .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your time, in writing a review about your experience when you visited our Blacksmiths Restaurant on your recent visit. Its always good to hear our customers feed back. Myself and the catering team, were very pleased to hear your comments, about the good food and that you found them to be friendly, and thank you for sharing this.... More 

St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Ate there June 15th, 2015 We purposely came to Gretna Green for the Blacksmith's Shop. The food was a bonus! Ate at the Cafe after visiting the museum and having pictures taken. I had the Gluten free soup (which was delicious) and a baked potato with lots of toppings. And because I'm not supposed to be eating wheat products I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you thought we sold a good selection of Gluten Free products. Its always good to hear we got thing right for our customers. I will share your comments with the Restaurant... More 

Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Visited as a family whilst on a day out to visit my daughter who is at uni on Carlisle. Not a great selection of food, no one on the counters to serve, hard to find prices. £4 for a plain cheese sandwich and £5 for a tiny jacket potato. Big queue when waiting to pay and i thought some of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit, and I have investigated your comments. A plain cheese sandwich is £3.35 and I am puzzled as to why you should have been charged extra, unless it was a cheese savoury which would... More 

Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We stopped off here for Breakfast on Saturday 2nd May 2015 as we thought the food would be better than the motorway services. It was quite disappointing, whilst the food looked okay, it was served on a cold plate and even the addition of a cover did not help as the food was inevitably cold. It has put us off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time Jeanbb73 to let me know about your experience at our Blacksmiths Restaurant when you visited. I'm sorry we let you down on your breakfast. Unfortunately we had a problem on our servery counter, which had gone undetected until customers let us know. We did manage to get our customers sorted, but you must have slipped... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
  • Phone Number: 01461-33-83-65

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?