We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hullabaloo

Certificate of Excellence
International, British, Vegetarian, Vegan, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Robert Burns Centre Mill Road, Dumfries DG2 7BE, Scotland
+44 1387 259679
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tue - Sat 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are passionate about food and endeavour to give our customers a...
We are passionate about food and endeavour to give our customers a satisfying and unforgettable experience by creating innovative and eclectic seasonal menus with premium fresh produce locally sourced whenever possible.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 180 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 111
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Excellent lunch, very pleasant staff. Good value

My wife and I had a single course lunch at Hulabaloo and it was excellent. The staff were polite and welcoming and there was no delay with ordering or the serving of drinks and food. Lunch was excellent. The coffee too.

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 22, 2015
Wickhamhenboy
,
Lockerbie
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

My wife and I had a single course lunch at Hulabaloo and it was excellent. The staff were polite and welcoming and there was no delay with ordering or the serving of drinks and food. Lunch was excellent. The coffee too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Visited today for lunch with mum and as usual didn't disappoint. Staff attentive and orders taken quickly. Two lovely chilled glasses of wine ,a mixed mezze -the only thing would prefer a more Greek/Turkish style mezze rather than the tortilla/pastry.But that's just a personal preference ,everything was lovely especially the fig and ham salad. Lamb skewer and new potatoes lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

I was in the hullabaloo on saturday after it being recomended. I wasent really bothered about the tatty piece of paper we recieved as the menu but i think for an upmarket venue it really should not be happening. I ordered pork belly, when it arrived it was half a cabata with very soft fat for the pork belly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

My friends and I went out for the early bird special priced £12.95 for two course. Don't add a coffee because you will then be charged £19.10! We had also been promised a drink on arrival. Gave up on that. The menu could have been better thought out as items were repeated from starter menu to main course e.g. ciabatta.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

We had a mid week-family gathering in this small restaurant in Dumfries. There was a wide range of dishes featuring excellent local produce, and all our various choices turned out to be inventive, well-cooked, and beautifully presented plates of food. There was an wide range of restaurant prepared puddings too - nothing bought in here! There was also a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We arrived without a booking and were welcomed in after an errant map on trip advisor meant we had to cancel a booking elsewhere. A good number of other folk were already eating but it wasnt packed. It was a Wednesday evening so maybe not too much of a surprise but... We had the Thali platter and I can honestly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I visited here for my mother's birthday and the food was beautiful - I had a fantastic seafood platter. You definitely need to book in advance and it's worth specifically booking a window table if there's one available so you can overlook the Nith.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend have visited Hullabaloo on 3 different occasions and have never left feeling dissatisfied. There is always something different to choose from, with there menu changing on a monthly basis we have yet to have the same thing twice! The quality of the ingredients is undeniable and the two young girls who work there always provide top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We took my Mother here whilst visiting her in Dumfries based on her views of the restaurant and TA ratings. We weren't disappointed. The atmosphere was good as was the service. We were equally happy with the quality of the food and we'll certainly return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The service we received was below average with two girls serving and not much idea. The food was okay my starter of sun dried tomatoes, olives, artichokes, etc, come in a cup not much bigger than an egg cup, with one and half pieces of tomato, the main course was Iberian Pork three slices of this, one of which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Claire D, Owner at Hullabaloo, responded to this review

I am absolutely gutted that you had this sort of experience at Hullabaloo. This is 100% against our ethos and commitment to great locally sourced food and service. We have always strived to make people feel welcome in our establishment and the fact that you were made to feel like this means in this instance we have completely failed. The... More 

Travelers who viewed Hullabaloo also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Hullabaloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Robert Burns Centre Mill Road, Dumfries DG2 7BE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Dumfries
  • Phone Number: +44 1387 259679

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: International, British, Vegetarian, Vegan, Scottish

Description

We are passionate about food and endeavour to give our customers a satisfying and unforgettable experience by creating innovative and eclectic seasonal menus with premium fresh produce locally sourced whenever possible.
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
11:00 am - 8:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hullabaloo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?