We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant

1 The Railway Pier, Oban PA34 4LW, Scotland
+44 (0)1631 563110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 72 restaurants in Oban
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list. Luxurious delicacies are served from the Waterfront oyster bar, as well as nautical-themed cocktails and international beers from the bar.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    482
    194
    52
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

This is a well-managed and good-value fish restaurant on the seafront in Oban (albeit it's on the first floor of a building beside the ferry terminal). The staff in particular make you feel welcome and the evening flows smoothly, with a variety of customers from families to couples. The menu offers a satisfying mix of sea food as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

The food here was superb as well! We had oysters baked and fried in batter baked were amazing found the battered to over powering for the oysters but I suppose personal taste. The smoked trout with black pudding and duck egg was cooked perfectly. Only complaint the restaurant was too hot and could do with better ventilation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avegno, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

Got there thanks by a local taxi driver suggestion, the restaurant was fully booked (it was Saturday): if we had the patience to wait for a table would be free. Luckily we decided to wait. The environment is modern and warm, the service was very friendly and despite the restaurant was full, it was also a quick service. As starter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Visited on Saturday evening and we were delighted to get the requested window seat even although the weather had closed in. No matter - we had received a warm welcome and were served by a lovely smiling young waitress. We took a wee while to decide what we were eating as the menu had so much fabulous food on offer.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

Love this restaurant! Had the most amazing halibut on a salmon risotto with deep fried mussels. Might actually be the best main course I've ever tasted! All seven of us raved about the food and service. Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
denny stirlingshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

had dinner in this restaurant with friends and the food and service was only surpassed by the most breathtaking sunset that you could view out their windows

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant. Im glad you enjoyed both your meal and our service. We are very lucky were we are situated to have such breath taking views and on such an evening as you would have experienced yourself it would surpass anything! We hope to see you again soon in the near future. More

Forres, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

We went for early evening meal and at £11.99 for two courses was really good value. We had a seat by the window looking over Oban bay which was lovely although rather warm. Most of us had fish and chips which was really lovely although we were defeated by the amount of chips as we had all had a starter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, Our lunch and early evening is a very enjoyable menu at fantastic value. Our panoramic windows offer a wonderful view over Oban Bay for all our customers to enjoy. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us and hope you will return next time you are in... More

Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

Others had told me that it was good and we were not disappointed. Good food, although not cheap. Efficient friendly service and it was noticeable that the staff all got on well together.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed both our menu and service. We hope next time you chose our restaurant and visit again. More

Onich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 NEW

On a very rainy Scottish day, we found refuge in the Waterfront Fishouse. We had a lovely lunch with very nice service, good food, with a great view. A diverse menu, we went for the wee haggis pot and the stramash and the fish and chips. A restaurant we can recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant. Our Haggis Pot, haggis topped with mashed potato and mature cheddar is a fabulous dish on our lunch and early evening menu, 2 courses for £11.99. Next time you should try our Fishouse Fishcake, our homemade hake fillet and salmon fishouse with wild... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Another corker. On the railway pier by the ferry terminal, up a floor so a great view of the harbour (NB only 3 tables by the windows, so specify on booking). Informal, bustly, and a menu that reads really well in its own right, and then you have the specials of the day... We had cold/hot smoked salmon rilettes with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on the Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, our staff also enjoyed reading your blog about our restaurant! I'm glad you found our menu such a joy! Our customers really enjoy our oysters however they may wish them to be served we offer natural oysters, grilled oysters and deep fried oysters. Our oysters also can be chosen... More

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing