We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kitchen Garden

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
14 George Street, Oban, Scotland
01631 566332
Website
Add hours for Kitchen Garden and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Kitchen Garden is a busy delicatessen and coffee shop. Our licensed...
The Kitchen Garden is a busy delicatessen and coffee shop. Our licensed coffee shop is located on a mezzanine floor which overlooks the delicatessen below. We offer freshly prepared, local, simple meals and can be busy during peak times. With regret we do not have lift access to the coffee shop but wheelchairs and buggies can be left in the deli, where the staff will keep an eye. Our deli is well stocked with several thousand lines from Scotland and beyond, with an emphasis on Scottish cheeses and whiskies.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 92 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Fantastic Home made shortbread.

Well Scotland is known for its SHORTBREAD but until we visited here we had felt let down. This is a lovely friendly.comfortable cafe sited upstairs from a deli and we stopped by for coffee which was excellent but the shortbread fantastic. Downstairs the deli is worth visiting but only boxed... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 18, 2015
kevin d
,
Pickering, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Well Scotland is known for its SHORTBREAD but until we visited here we had felt let down. This is a lovely friendly.comfortable cafe sited upstairs from a deli and we stopped by for coffee which was excellent but the shortbread fantastic. Downstairs the deli is worth visiting but only boxed commercial shortbread available..pity they are missing a chance for upselling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Small café upstairs from deli but really worth it... Fab fresh food at a very reasonable price.. Worth a second visit. Hint, you can pick up free wifi from Waterstones😇

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigan
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Attractive deli downstairs and busy little cafe upstairs on George Street in Oban. We called in at lunchtime and struggled to find a table and whilst the coffee was great the service was pretty indifferent and the sandwiches were over priced and small for what we got - not what we were expecting and we left still feeling hungry I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We just stopped here for lunch on a quick trip through oban. Picked the kitchen garden because it looked nice and well priced and good for a lunch. We both had the sandwiches which were really nice, good bread and tasty fillings. All the sweet treats in the cabinets also looked lovely but we didn't try them. I'd go here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I go into the Kitchen Garden as it is conveniently situated on the main shopping street and I love looking around the deli! However, the service is indifferent and I'm not really convinced that the cakes are homemade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We just fancied a savory snack such as a toastie before traveling home but we we're greeted with a sign at the foot of the stairs saying hot food was no longer available. At 15.45hrs this seems an unacceptable standard of customer service if a business wants to attract visitors to Oban.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KitchenGarden, Manager at Kitchen Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do however consider it unfair. Many of the coffee shops close completely for the month of January, such is the demand for our services. We do stay Open, on a skeleton staff to keep our costs down, but we cannot stay open after certain times, hoping someone might come through the door as it... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Tearoom is upstairs and Deli downstairs. Service was rather slow and scones weren't the best. Bought some Stornoway Black Pudding which was much cheaper than that sold at The Oyster Bar at Loch Fyne

Was this review helpful? Yes
oban
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

One of Oban's top eating places of its kind ...always consistently good .........friendly efficient staff ....very busy in Summer at lunch times..... unusual but always tasty soups a speciality Free coffee refill!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Decent cakes, decent coffee, and the staff do know how to smile. Also a great selection in the deli downstairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Could be a lovely tea-room, but badly let down by two very sullen staff, who seem unable to smile or make eye contact. Filter coffee was less than hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KitchenGarden, Manager at Kitchen Garden, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our coffee shop and delicatessen. It would seem you didn't have the best experience and I am sorry for that. We are a small business, with a friendly team that have been with us for many years. Unfortunately when something has happend in the personal life of a... More 

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Garden also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kitchen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 14 George Street, Oban, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Oban
  • Phone Number: 01631 566332

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Coffee Shop

Description

The Kitchen Garden is a busy delicatessen and coffee shop. Our licensed coffee shop is located on a mezzanine floor which overlooks the delicatessen below. We offer freshly prepared, local, simple meals and can be busy during peak times. With regret we do not have lift access to the coffee shop but wheelchairs and buggies can be left in the deli, where the staff will keep an eye. Our deli is well stocked with several thousand lines from Scotland and beyond, with an emphasis on Scottish cheeses and whiskies.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kitchen Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?