We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Gaelic Lane, Aberdeen AB10 1JF, Scotland
+44 1224 478621
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:30 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 6:00 pm
Mon - Thu 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Fri 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating
Good for: Families with children
Description: We are an independent lunchtime destination serving well priced freshly...
We are an independent lunchtime destination serving well priced freshly made soup and sandwiches from same day baked organic bread using local ingredients and quality ingredients where the filling is not local. Our soups are made on the premises same day as are all our cakes. Our coffee is roasted locally (one street away) and we don't use preservatives. We aim to provide quality and taste with a smile. Do come try us. We look forward to seeing you. The Coffee House Team.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 242 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 104
    Excellent
  • 71
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Yummy food, service could be improved

I come here a lot, as demonstrated by the fact that today I actually got my lunch free from my loyalty card (purchase 9 and get the 10th free is the regular offer) and the food is always of a very high standard. I had leek, potato and rosemary soup which was a very interesting fusion as well as a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 22, 2015
AberdeenLassAlways
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went in here for a light lunch while visiting my daughter. Had soup and sandwich. Soup was home made and delicious, and the sandwich was well filled with tasty ham, cheese and mustard and was obviously made to order. Clean and pleasant surroundings, friendly staff and a good cuppa made the experience complete.

Helpful?
Thank ShadowRDR1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely and lively little place. Really great cakes and coffee. Equally good for soup and a sandwich. Nice place to chill out in. I would definitely recommend this place. Regular meet friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank C180184
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The food here is incredible, huge portions of sandwiches, have been twice now and will definitely be returning. Its a very busy little cafe, we arrived for lunch at 11:50am on Saturday and by the time we ordered the place was full. Really lovely atmosphere with sweet treats for all requirements. Would recommend the salmon, creme fresh & dill sandwich,... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicola2720
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service in The Coffee House needs improving. I have previously rated this establishment as Excellent but I have visited The Coffee House twice in the past fortnight and the service has been poor. On my last visit, I ordered soup. When it arrived it was stone cold. I asked 3 times for my soup to be reheated. Each time... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScottishSho
TheCoffeeHouseABZ, Manager at The Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear valued customer, The Coffee House team are always sad to receive a review that does not praise the performance of our staff. It is understood that you asked twice however we did have a problem on the day you visited the Coffee House with one of the soup kettles overheating and switching off and that has been rectified. With... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great chunks of cake for very little with decent coffee and chai latte. Really nice relaxed little coffee shop.

Helpful?
Thank IGeraghty
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

I have used this coffee house before and decided to get out of the christmas mad shoppers for a coffee and snack and a chance to rest my weary feet. The christmas sandwich was stuffed with fresh real turkey and cranberry and tasted really fresh I asked for an extra hot Latte and it arrived piping hot. I only realised... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank the Aberdeen Plumber
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

I come here a lot, as demonstrated by the fact that today I actually got my lunch free from my loyalty card (purchase 9 and get the 10th free is the regular offer) and the food is always of a very high standard. I had leek, potato and rosemary soup which was a very interesting fusion as well as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank AberdeenLassAlways
Limoges, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Couldn't be happier i found a quiet little oasis to enjoy an amazing lunch!! The coffees were also brilliant, all of them having beautiful designs and a great flavour. Will surely return more often!!!

Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

I am a regular at The Coffee House and always keep coming back to it because there is no other place in town which can match the warm atmosphere excellent coffees and super food that is prepared there. Many of the staff have changed recently but they remain friendly and helpful especially Andy and of course George :-). The tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valita A
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Visited here recently. My second visit after coming across it by accident. Placed order at the till, server did not tell us to have a seat, she then looked to go to the kitchen to make our sandwiches, we thought we had to wait at the counter, as was not told. Eventually got another staff members attention to be told,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HonestScot21
TheCoffeeHouseABZ, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Grubby Customer, We really don't appreciate your level of dishonesty. I mean really it was your second visit and you didn't know to take a seat - unfortunately that gives your stories away - all your comments are just a touch far fetched to say the least. Might we suggest you go and pick on some other establishment when... More 

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Gaelic Lane, Aberdeen AB10 1JF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 478621

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 9
  • Cuisine: Cafe, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

We are an independent lunchtime destination serving well priced freshly made soup and sandwiches from same day baked organic bread using local ingredients and quality ingredients where the filling is not local. Our soups are made on the premises same day as are all our cakes. Our coffee is roasted locally (one street away) and we don't use preservatives. We aim to provide quality and taste with a smile. Do come try us. We look forward to seeing you. The Coffee House Team.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 6:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coffee House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?