We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coffee House

1 Gaelic Lane, Aberdeen AB10 1JF, Scotland
1224 478621
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #120 of 484 restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Tel : 07587 242642 theres work number on there website
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Tel : 07587 242642 theres work number on there website
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    60
    34
    16
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

Another busy hotspot for lunch/brunch or afternoon tea. The cafe has a nice friendly feel with different groups sharing the trestle tables. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere to take a book, catch up with your study group or read the paper. There is a great selection of cakes and sandwiches. It is a little on the expensive side, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very basic restaurant but with a relaxed atmosphere. However, very disappointed with the cake which I requested - it was dry and very tasteless.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Hello Customer, We are really sorry your cake was dry and tasteless. Did you say anything at the time? We have a no quibble replacement policy for food and drink not to satisfaction so we would have simply replaced with any other cake or refunded the purchase cost. If you visit again and you are not happy please say something.... More

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great place to come with friends and family (including children) to enjoy a healthy lunch. Relaxed dining with soups, sandwiches, cakes and coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are always grateful for receiving reviews that are positive. Thank you again and all the best, Calum (co-owner) More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

booked our afternoon tea by phone to reserve our table but when we got there no table available . was told just to find a space on one of the benches. was not happy at this is it was extremely busy. we were then given a table upstairs . when the cake stand arrived selection on it was very poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer (Marymac), Thank you for your review and assisting us in improving our customer service by replying to my questions. Firstly we'd like to apologise for what happened. We do feel: 'don't bother' is a little bit harsh but we're still sorry. We have identified the member of staff who looked after you; I think you said in your... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I visited the Coffee House last weekend with my mum for afternoon tea with a glass of prosecco. I've have had afternoon tea at six other places in Aberdeen and always wanted to try the Coffee House. It was busy and most of the tables were occupied but we managed to get a table. The prosecco arrived within five minutes.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are really sorry you had a bad experience with us. 20 minutes to receive two cups of tea is totally unacceptable ; as is 6 members of staff appearing busy but delivering a slow service - infuriating. So we are sorry. In a step to prevent this happening again we have identified the principal member of staff... More

Montrose, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited The Coffee House, Aberdeen for an Afternoon Tea for 2 with Prosecco deal from ITISON yesterday, it was quite busy on the ground floor and were taken upstairs to another large room, we had to share a large table with another couple and the server told us they were planning to use tables for 2 for the Afternoon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry we did not serve you enough sandwiches or cakes today. I only wish you had said something to one of the staff members at the time. I realise that this should not be necessary and our staff should ask you if you are happy with your afternoon tea so I must apologise for that. However... More

Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Thank you for a lovely afternoon Tea at 2pm, my husband and myself had the window seat just beside the door and I thought the seat was heated, until I noticed the heater was in the wall (nice and cosy) We did come on a Saturday to use a voucher, it was very busy. The waiter and waitress, who we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your kind review. It's always encouraging when we provide hospitality which is appreciated and reviewed in such a positive way. So a big heart-felt thank you. Best Regards and we hope to see you back with us very soon. Calum (co-owner) PS can we offer you complimentary cake and coffee for two? Do let me... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have been here a few times and really liked it, but now the way of serving coffee has changed and it is no longer the place it used to be. Now-you order coffee, then sit at your table and WAIT a very long time for coffee to be delivered. Today we waited nearly 20 minutes , and had eaten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry you waited 20 minutes for your coffee and that we had run out of scones. We are constantly trying to improve. Just so I understand are you suggesting you wait standing for your coffee and cake as happens in say Starbucks? I think we have done this in the past with mixed success. I will... More

Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had an afternoon tea here a couple of Saturdays ago with a half price voucher I bought from Itison. I had pre-booked a table for two but upon arriving at the Coffee House we were told that they would just go and set up a table for us and switch the heating on upstairs! We were told that it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry you had a bad experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food including the cakes and scones - thank you. But putting you in an unheated room with no other customers was a mistake on our part. We would like you to revisit as we can do better. Accordingly I'd like to offer... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lovely atmosphere and a great location for lunch. 3 of us visited. I had a lovely homemade soup and the 2 others and sandwiches which looked amazing and i was told very tasty. Large selection of cakes and biscuits too. I tried the lemon drizzle cake which was nice. I am told the chocolate brownies here are amazing but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calum230, Owner at Coffee House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your kind review. We are always trying to improve and really appreciate your words. Best Regards, Calum (co-owner) More

Travelers who viewed Coffee House also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing